We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, good food.”
Review of Oriental Garden - CLOSED

Oriental Garden
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service, good food.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We got take-out, using the family deal. It was delicious and affordable. Food was hot and enough for 2 meals for 2 people. The cashier was very nice and gave us tea bags to take back since we were soaked. He also did some fun magic tricks while we were waiting.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim45345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
harrisonburg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“unbelievably bad”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

There were two of us who ordered delivery from this restaurant. It was storming and we had done a very long hike that day and weren't expecting much. Honestly, how good can chinese be in a small coastal town in AK?

IT WAS AWFUL!

I am not a professional writer so I can not accurately describe how bad this was. The General Tso chicken was mush. There was no chicken but just this god awful mush with an awful aftertaste. The chicken dish my friend had was in this sugary sauce that tasted like it was purposely made to taste like a sugary , moldy shoe .

The other issue was that it was $32 for the two of us to get this delivered.

My recommendation is that if you want to laugh about a meal for weeks to come, go here. If you want edible , overpriced food go elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usatraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
230 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good value and great entertainment”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Lovely chinese and Japanese food
Great value and the waiter was superb, really funny, lots of little magic tricks - great evening

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UkGailJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Entertaining and tasty meal”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

An entertaining meal with a waiter who insisted on amusing us with magic tricks ! Meal tasty and good value. A Chinese restaurant is one of the few spots to find a few vegetarian options so it is recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rggibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Good food! Great value for money! And Mr.Q does some amazing magic tricks! He also entertains kids with Guinness Records and other astonishing facts!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank kaysov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Garden also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing