We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleanest, most comfortable and convenient place we've stayed at.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear's Den B&B and Lodging
Ranked #7 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cleanest, most comfortable and convenient place we've stayed at.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We had stayed in numerous hotels en-route to Seward and this was by far the best place. The 2 queen size beds were comfortable and the in-room breakfast basket was so much nicer than having a breakfast served. This allowed us to have breakfast whenever we wanted - even take it with us.

I would truly recommend this B&B to anybody.

PS the chocolate cookies on arrival were a treat. Thanks Richard we had a good time.
Maggie & Bev

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
61
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

When we first arrived here we were anxious to find a place to watch the Stanley Cup Final Game. Our host showed us our large room and informed us they had just added a brand new big flat screen TV, and we could watch the game in our own room in leather reclining chairs! The spacious, beautiful room includes a kitchen area with frig and microwave. The in-room continental breakfast was perfect for our busy schedule. We walked into town each day and we'd recommend the 7 hour whale watching boat cruise.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Bears Den B&B met our every expectation for our two night, three day stay in Seward. Advance planning and reservations were made easy by our hosts, the Adelmann's.
We arrived on May 23rd by Holland America Statendam and were able to walk to the "Train Wreck", a small shopping center where Exit Glacier Guides checked our bags and took us out to the Exit Glacier for a $10 round trip where we hiked on our own. When we came back, we ate at the small restaurant inside an old railroad car in the same location. By then, it was time to check in so we rolled our bags up the hill to Bears Den Inn, about 1/4 mile away. There was a pedestrian underpass beneath the Seward Hwy. Check in was easy. We loved our spacious mini suite on the second level and had a great view. Plenty of food was provided for a do-it-ourselves continental breakfast. We also got some big, tasty cookies homemade at the B&B. We walked to the small boat harbor the next day to take a fantastic tour of Kenai Fjords aboard Major Marine's Glacier Explorer. And, on our final day, we rolled out bags to the Alaska RR Station and checked them there. Then we went to the far end of town using Mike's Taxi at $5 a trip. We were on the train to Anchorage in a domed car at 6:00 PM and arrived there about 4.5 hours later. Seward was a highlight of our trip and Bears Den B&B made it top notch for us. If we get back to Seward (and we hope we will) this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two-For-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

This was a great place to stay! Comfortable queen beds, a living room area with TV, and a full kitchen. The hostess was also very nice, and they provided a "breakfast basket" the night before which lets you have breakfast whenever you choose.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenAndJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

The Bear's Den is a great place to stay. We stayed in Den 2--the bottom room for the first night. It was very nice, had a separate bedroom if you needed it. We slept on the bed in the living room. The next 2 nights we stayed in Den 1--the upper room. It has the better view with a deck. Both rooms were nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. Rich, our host, was great. He had helpful ideas and sent us to a great place to see salmon spawning. The kitchen was well stocked and the muffins and cookies were delicious. Bear's Den is within walking distance of the small boat harbor if you have good legs. The location was perfect for us since we didn't have a car we walked everywhere. The small boat harbor area has restaurants, shops and excursion opportunities. Kenai Fjords Tour is awesome--not to be missed. And the ride up to Exit Glacier is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blkjdntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

cozy and spacious accomodation, very good breakfast, very friendly and helpful owners!
We will come again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurora2452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billings
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

To begin with, Bears Den was easy to find. It was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed - from coffee, coffee cups, yummy cookies and breakfast pastries, milk, juice to bathroom amenities. Local menus and tourist information was provided as well. The only downside was no phone in the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolalou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
4.3 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Den B&B and Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Den B&B and Lodging

Property: Bear's Den B&B and Lodging
Address: 221 Bear Drive, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and relaxation await you at Bear's Den Bed and Breakfast and Lodging. With three “dens” to choose from, our goal is to provide you with the perfect lodging choice for your visit to Seward. Vacationers to Alaska, honeymooners, business travelers and families will find what they need at Bear’s Den. Ideally located one block from the small boat harbor, shops, train depot and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing