We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spacious, warm and friendly bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear's Den B&B and Lodging
Ranked #7 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A spacious, warm and friendly bed and breakfast”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We highly recommend the Bear's Den Bed & Breakfast in Seward, Alaska. The large room we were in had a great view of the mountains across Resurrection Bay. Rich, the innkeeper, was very friendly, interesting and informative, suggesting a couple of sights which we might not have visited if he hadn't mentioned them. The location, if you have a car, is very convenient (without a car, the dock area is easily walkable, downtown is more of a challenge).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKITEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
61
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed in den 1 and it was the best rest we had on our trip. My hubby, who does not sleep well in the best circumstances, was down for the count when he sunk into the "most comfortable bed" he's ever slept on :)! Big comfy furniture, roomy and very cozy with good views from the many windows and deck. The location and parking were very convenient. Yes, yummy warm cookies on arrival and enough breakfast food left to feed an army. I would not only highly recommend this B&B but will not hesitate to stay there again should our travels bring us this way again. So glad we found this place and decided to give it a go!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makawao mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge
Level Contributor
311 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Huge room with two Queen beds -- so cute and inviting. Huge couch and two recliners ........Rich met us when we arrived and brought a plate of warm cookies to us as we unpacked. He also brought a large basket full of breakfast pastries, muffins, etc. in addiiton to the milk and OJ in the fridge. Breakfast out on the huge deck was almost surreal with the snowcapped mountains jutting out of the inlet --just on the other side of the boat harbor -- what can I say -- it was really terrific. We didn't have a car so we walked to the harbor and downtown, but if you have a car, it would be even more perfect. Debbie/Skip

  • Liked — great view and so charming
  • Disliked — really nothing -- there are stairs to access but not a problem for us
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank trvel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

What a great place to stay. One of the highlights of our accommodations in Alaska. Within walking distance of the small boat harbor and many of the better restaurants.

My wife, son and I stayed for 3 nights in August 2008. The room was upstairs facing the harbor (also the back of a store across trhe street). The mountains to the east are clearly visible. It is a very spacious room, with 2 queen beds, a sofa, and two recliner armchairs. There is also a dining room table and 4 chairs, a microwave and small refrigerator. Kitchen supplies are provided. Cable tv and a dvd player were also provided.

We were provided with breakfast for the 3 days when we checked in. This included milk, coffee, tea, oj, fruit, English muffins, bagels, danish and muffins. In addition, there is breakfast cereal and instant oatmeal. All of this is in the room, so breakfast was at our leisure. Rich, the proprietor, even baked us very good butterscotch chip cookies. He was very personable and an interesting guy to talk with.

Check-in is between 5 and 8, so time your arrival accordingly.

We would unhesitatingly recommend this b and b.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

My wife and I stayed here in July 2008 as part of a tour of Alaska.

This was a great place to stay, we were in Den 1. Two queen beds, lounge, tv, kitchen area with fridge and microwave, shower/wc and large outside deck area.

A free continental breakfast is provided for the room (fruit, yoghurt, pastries), no communal breakfast and we had some great fresh baked cookies on arrival.

We actually booked for 6 nights to use the place as a base for our travels, there is plenty to see and do in around Seward and the Kenai peninsula.

Our hosts gave us plenty of info about the local area and were really very friendly.

We were left to our own devices which is just what we wanted.

Location is just as you come into Seward, near Safeway and the Shell gas station. The view from the deck is unfortunately is over the garage but beyond is the small boat harbour and of course the snow covered mountains. We had no problem at all.

The boat harbour, restaurants and bars are a ten munute walk away, downtown and sealife centre (a must see) 15 mins. Seward is a small place, easy to walk.

Thoroughly recommend this place, would stay again.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
4.3 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Den B&B and Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Den B&B and Lodging

Property: Bear's Den B&B and Lodging
Address: 221 Bear Drive, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and relaxation await you at Bear's Den Bed and Breakfast and Lodging. With three “dens” to choose from, our goal is to provide you with the perfect lodging choice for your visit to Seward. Vacationers to Alaska, honeymooners, business travelers and families will find what they need at Bear’s Den. Ideally located one block from the small boat harbor, shops, train depot and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing