We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Vacation Rental”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear's Den B&B and Lodging
Ranked #7 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful Vacation Rental”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Den #3 for three nights in May and were thrilled with our accommodations. While we did not need three bedrooms, the smaller units were booked, but we loved having all the space after spending four nights in very tight quarters! The "den" was spacious, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, and provided all the comforts of home. The kitchen was well appointed, although we did not use it much since we ate at Ray's Waterfront Restaurant all three nights; after all, we were on vacation! Our hosts were very warm and welcoming; Shari even greeted us with fresh baked banana bread and yummy cookies, a welcome treat after a long drive. Thanks for a relaxing three days in Seward!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apickytraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Friendly folks, great accomodations, lots of space. Warm cookies on arrival, and the breakfast basket is outstanding

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greyarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

My neice and I stayed upstairs in room 1. We enjoyed the privacy of this room, the large deck, comfy furniture. We were in Seward to go sea kayaking and found the Bears Den to be a warm cozy headquarters for our adventures. Although the B&B is at the far northeast end of town, we were able to walk everywhere. What made our stay so special was Sherry's genuinely warm welcome and very thoughtful services far and above our expectations. Out train left in the evening hours after checkout. Sherry called that morning to offer to keep our bags and bring them to the station at boarding time. When we walked up to the station about 20 minutes before boarding, there was Sherry waiting for us. She handed over our bags then gave us a box full of warm chocolate chip cookies and banana muffins! We sure felt special and trulybappreciated such a thoughtful gesture.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This B&B had everything a girl could want. A soft bed to get lost in after a day of adventures a kitchen to cook for my self and friends, and it was close enough to the stores and town I could walk where ever I had to go. I was looking for a hide away so that I could regroup for the next day and this place was perfict. Clean warm and very comfortable. felt like home only better. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We highly recommend this bed & breakfast! It is conveniently located with amazing views of the mountains. We stayed in Bear's Den 1 located on Floor 2 of the house. It was very comfortable, nicely furnished with a decently stocked kitchen. We absolutely felt at home. The breakfast was great and included a wide assortment of pastries and cereals! Safeway is at walking distance and there is a gas station a few minutes away. The hosts are really nice and sent us freshly baked cookies as soon as we arrived! All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pgpant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
214 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Meeting Rich for the first time is kinda ominous but he is a good guy. He's very big and has hands like a bear, he's very likable. Maybe the later check in time is due to the fact that they both work. Our suite had 2 beds. We chose the one in the main room and closed the door to the bedroom. The bed was good and the sleeping was fine. There's a sofa and coffee table plus the dining table and chairs. The bathroom has a small step up and could be a neck breaker but we managed to go without a fall. The water was hot and the shower was great. There was a good supply of foods & fruit or breakfast. Coffee and tea were available with the coffee maker. Seward's a small town and Bear's Den was a good find.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PATSYandSTAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This place has it all! Clean and comfortable and close to everything in Seward! We walked to Safeway and down to the docks several times. They have thought of everything and all the food was perfect for breakfast. We even cooked steaks on the grill twice to save money! Wish we could have taken this B&B to all the places we stayed at in our 2 weeks in Alaska!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GweninTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
932 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
222 reviews
3.6 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
5.1 mi away
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
#2 of 46 in Seward
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Den B&B and Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Den B&B and Lodging

Property: Bear's Den B&B and Lodging
Address: 221 Bear Drive, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and relaxation await you at Bear's Den Bed and Breakfast and Lodging. With three “dens” to choose from, our goal is to provide you with the perfect lodging choice for your visit to Seward. Vacationers to Alaska, honeymooners, business travelers and families will find what they need at Bear’s Den. Ideally located one block from the small boat harbor, shops, train depot and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing