We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alaska Saltwater Lodge Small Group Whale Watching, Wildlife & Glacier Tour
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small boat tour”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We saw some amazing wildlife and beautiful scenery pointed out by our tour guide and boat operator. Unfortunately, we were sent out on a boat with small children who were not well supervised by their parents and poorly behaved. The tour is very long for small children and when they got bored, they detracted from our experience greatly. We had a coupon from our Northern Lights book for another larger company that we regretted not using. Of course, we don't know whether or not we saw more wildlife on the small boat. Ask as you reserve whether or not you will be sharing a boat with younger children. When the boat only seats 12 people or so, your experience will certainly be affected.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank RAF077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    28
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, TX
Level Contributor
205 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great way to see wildlife if the weather cooperates”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I so wanted to give this trip five stars, but I could not because of the weather. The five star part was the amount of wildlife viewed close up and without people struggling to get good photos. Also, the crew was tremendous, and very concerned about the well-being of the 15 people on board. The food consisted of good sandwiches and snacks which was more than adequate for a small boat cruise. However, it was rainy and cold and only room for about seven people inside. The waves were so rough that 3 or 4, including two children, got seasick and were throwing up. Because of the waves and the seasickness, we had to turn back without getting to any of the tidewater glaciers. That was a disappointment, but we were doing the 26 glacier cruise later, so for us it was a minor setback. I don't know if the larger boats were able to get to the glaciers or not. We did get a small compensation for the shortened tour, and those who were going to be in town in two days were offered a free second tour, but that did not help us that much since we were only in town for two days. If the weather is good, I'm sure that this is still the best way to see Kenai. But for us, it was a little less than the highlight of our trip.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centraltexas
1 review
“Perfect day out. Highlight of stay in Alaska. Numerous whale and wildlife sightings.”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Great smaller group tour. Smaller group allwed for more flexibility. Went out on 6/17/11. T & K captain/first mate did great job locating whales and putting us in position to view. Numerous encounters with Orca and Humpbacks (one breaching and slapping) Weather was nearly perfect, can't always count on that, but felt like they would work to find whales. Closeup view of glacier. Much better than large group, which we did last year, although larger boats seemed to be in area with good viewing, they don't always have quite the flexibility as smaller group/ boat. Well worth small difference in price.

Helpful?
Thank 08horns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Alaska. There were only 15 of us which made the trip more personal and is the reason I choose this tour. There was plenty of room on the boat and Tonya and Kendra were great. We saw all the wildlife mentioned in other reviews - the girls knew just where to look - and ate lunch in front of a glacier. The boat trip was 9.5 hours so you have to be committed, but it was well worth it.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Richbutnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“absolutly wonderful wildlife and glacier tour”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I have to recommened the Saltwater Tour ! ! It was so nice to be on a small boat, we saw lots of wildlife and we could nearly touch the porpoise that were swimming with the boat ! It was fantastic ! The driver was excellent and we were out for 10 hrs , thank you very much !

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank HMargarete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Saltwater Lodge Small Group Whale Watching, Wildlife & Glacier Tour also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Saltwater Lodge Small Group Whale Watching, Wildlife & Glacier Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing