We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over the top service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Ranked #2 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a great experiance. Very clean rooms and a wonderful breakfast. Could have not asked for more. What a great time walking around the lake at night listing to all of the wild life.

I would say that if you are down in Seward and looking for a nice place stay give it a try and the cost is very nice. Better than paying $300.00 a night in a hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKFikeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 372 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in the Bear Lake Deck Suite, which was nicely carpeted and had an ensuite bathroom as well as a kid's room with a single bed in addition to the king-sized bed. Pat was a very gracious and welcoming hostess and was still up despite our late arrival at 10:30pm at night. We loved the B&B's policy of no-shoes past the front entrance, that really made it feel like home! Our room was huge and clean, not to mention toasty during the chilly evenings. The bathroom was a nice oversized bathroom with plenty of room for two or even a family of three. The view outside the window wasn't too shabby either. Ask about the salmon runs that practically happens right outside on the lake before you arrive - you might be able to catch a free-viewing of the salmon runs! Pat's breakfasts were delicious and the menu changes every day. We had pecan waffles with sausage on our first day and had a personal plate of reindeer sausage omelette (I had two cause it was so good, my girlfriend didn't eat much --- thankfully =). Be on the lookout for various wildlife that live and roam right around the B&B, just hopefully you don't run into a bear. If you have the opportunity to meet Dennis, ask him any questions you have on salmon, bears, or anything really. Definitely ask him about his (multiple) bear encounters, right in the backyard! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this home away from home, not to mention a picture with Dennis in his "I HEART New York" t-shirt. Don't hesitate to come here and enjoy the comfort of Pat and Dennis's hospitality! FYI, this is also only a 15 minute drive into Seward, where you go for the Kenai Fjords Glacier tours. Be sure to ask Pat to help you make the reservation for a better deal too!

Room Tip: Remember to take off your shoes at the entrance. Then kick-back and enjoy your home away from home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtsjyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

You definitely took advantage of some of the most interesting parts of Bear Lake Lodgings! The fish weir is a must see - a 15 minute walk from the house brings you to a salmon stream where you can see hundreds of red salmon being counted on the way back to the very same spot they were born. The people running the weir are also excellent at answering any questions you have about the life cycle of salmon or how the weir works. Our staff here at Bear Lake is also very knowledgeable on this topic - all you have to do is ask, and we would be happy to share whatever information we know! Dennis especially is a fountain of knowledge on Seward especially as well as Alaska in general: he has lived in Seward for over 20 years!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here. The 10 minute drive (3 miles) into Seward is a beautiful one - no stop lights, no traffic, and beautiful scenery the whole way there! We love our location, close to town but retaining the quiet calm of the lake and the surroundings of a beautiful Alaskan wilderness!

PS: We're glad the no-shoes indoors policy made you feel at home! The thick carpet in the Bear Lake Deck Suite is a treat for your feet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you are lucky enough to be at Bear Lake when Valerie is acting innkeeper, you will enjoy experiencing the wonderful world of Alaska through the stories she tells of growing up in this great state. From catching her quota of fish with her family in the summers, to reciting all kinds of statistics about Alaska and its resources, to singing every verse of the Alaska Flag Song in a voice pure and clear, Valerie's descriptive narratives bring Alaska culture to life in a very endearing way. We just loved our stay at Bear Lake. Owner Pat is fun and energetic and the opportunity to enjoy her ice cream treats was just an added bonus. Our room was clean, comfortable and featured a large private deck that held out the promise of spotting wildlife from a safe distance. Valerie's breakfasts both mornings we were there were prepared to perfection. We can't wait to stay again one day and, in the meantime, will recommend Bear Lake with gusto to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Mindy, we enjoyed your visit with us as well! Alaska has a rich history, and Seward especially is very interesting as one of Alaska's oldest towns. Valerie loved sharing some of those stories with you, too!
Many of our guests love the deck - wildlife or not, the view is fantastic! I'm glad you got to see the eagles that are nesting in a nearby tree. At the moment, we also see muskrats swimming alongside the dock and loons gliding on the lake! A beautiful and restful place to think or explore!
We await your next stay as well. Valerie was so happy to get to meet you-- she says the best part of this job is getting to know such a variety of people who are so eager to enjoy all Alaska has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just stayed one night, but we had a fabulous time. Dennis and Pat are wonderful hosts. They helped make discounted reservations for a Kenai Fjord tour, explained the history of the salmon runs and the lake, and pointed out an eagle's nest just outside the home. Breakfast was tasty, and the rooms were clean. The linens were is great shape and the bed wonderful. Would highly recommend to any traveler. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Mt. Tiehacker room was perfect for two singles travelling together. Bathroom is outside in the hall...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank PostCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The minute Ginny greeted us, it felt like we were walking into our home. She never hesitated to sit down and chat with guests in the sitting area--this was also while a scrumptious goodie was baking in the oven. We were in the Bear Suite so it was just down the hall from the sitting and dining areas Our room was well-furnished and clean.The special event was the hand-dipped chocolate ice cream every evening. We were glad to enjoy this treat during our two-night stay. All guests sat around the table eating their treats and having great conversation about their trips that day and their next adventure. What a pleasant way to have their guests socialize. Since we had to leave early for a photo excursion the next day, she accomodated us with an early breakfast waiting for us in the refrigerator--just like home. Would defintely make Bear Lake our lodging in Seward.

.

Room Tip: The Bear Suite is great since you don't need to climb steps once you're there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photofan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a wonderful B&B. We stayed here with our children and were delighted with everything. Ginny made us feel welcome and was very accommodating. She even held breakfast for us one morning when we were late coming back from an early AM kayak on the lake. The ice cream sauce was delicious and worth every calorie!!! This was a perfect spot to stay in Seward.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurlyQ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

So nice to hear from our guests that we met their expectations and more! Children can be tough to travel with at times, but we offer some good activities to enjoy outside on the property. The kayaks and canoe are a big family hit for lots of our guests. It's nice these guests gave the lake a morning paddle - I'm sure there were more birds too see early. The lake is so quiet and serene - usually throughout the day. If time permits and the weather too - we have croquet to enjoy on the lawn near the lakes edge.
Thank you for leaving us such good comments and happy to hear our hand dipped ice cream bars were a hit! The "sauce" is pure chocolate, a blend of half milk chocolate and half dark chocolate, which we dip vanilla ice cream bars into nightly for our guests. Chopped almonds or crushed Oreo cookies are the toppings the bars get rolled into for completion of the treat. Between 8:00-8:30 PM we have ice cream time for guests to enjoy our decadent treat and each others company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a great deal! A beautifully decorated, comfy, quiet room with a private bath in a lovely home; a back porch for sitting and enjoying the solitude of the lake and eagle watching; big, home-made hot breakfasts; the use of kayaks and canoes for the asking; and big hand-dipped ice cream bars before bed served up by the very social and personable hosts Pat and Dennis and Innkeeper Ginny. My sisters chose Bear Lake Lodgings for 3 of our Seward-area days on our recent trip and it was a great choice. We kayaked twice--once in the twilight and once in the early morning when the lake was like glass. I look forward to returning on our next trip.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the fact that the private bath is down the hall--it's just a few steps a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Kim - I too so enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the comments on the Lakeside Suite, our largest guest room, with the private bath down the hall. We have done our best to make the short walk to the bath as convenient as possible. Both with offering our signature bathrobes and labeling the bathroom for Lakeside guest use only. Many guests find your suite to be their favorite with the private entrance and secluded lower lakeside deck to enjoy. I look forward to your return to Alaska.... sure you don't want to come for some winter cross country skiing on our lakes groomed trails? We can surely chill you down from that warm San Diego weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
5.4 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,144 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
279 reviews
3 mi away
Steller Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Lake Lodgings B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Lake Lodgings B&B

Address: 33820 Bear Lake Rd, Seward, AK 99664-9623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range: $121 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a magnificent setting on the shores of a forested alpine lake, Bear Lake Lodgings offers hiking trails out the back door, glassy waters perfect for a morning kayak, and a deck that enjoys the late Alaskan summer sun. The ideal base for all your adventures, the lodge features four rooms, each with its own unique characteristics, including two suites with access to viewing decks and two upstairs rooms with tranquil views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bear Lake Lodgings B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing