We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very cozy stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Ranked #2 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very cozy stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

After 3 delays with United airlines and a long drive from Anchorage to Seward, it was time to get comfortable and relax. Driving into a very cute setting with the bed and breakfast and a small cabin in the back as it looks like. An outhouse right behind it.

Parked right outside of the B&B, which was incredibly convenient. Gathered all the luggage and bags, headed right into a very warm and comfy room! A television set, back door to see the lake behind the place, and a small table for a work space as eating is only allowed in the dining area upstairs. Just enough cushion for 5 people. I was lucky to have my own bed next to a window and the door. I slept like a baby.

Before bed is a shower of course and that exceeded my expectations... the shower head had enough pressure with nice hot water and an extension. That was the most amazing shower. If you forget anything they have shampoo/conditioner and body soap. Bathroom was spacious with a humungous mirror and a cushion to step onto for cold feet right outside the shower. There's also a heater so it won't be to discomforting when coming out of the shower.

For early risers there's cereal, milk, coffee and a few other things available for guests. My group consisted of my stepmom, father, sister, a friend, and myself. We left quite early and came back to a clean bathroom and a put together room. They have a housekeeper to keep everything in place, thank goodness.

That evening there was the ice cream that served every night from 8 to 8:30pm. The lovely lady served each of us with a choice of either vanilla or chocolate ice cream on a stick slowly dipped into a warm bowl of chocolate covering. Then there is a choice of oreo crums or granola? I forget, but I chosee the oreo crums of course on top the vanilla ice cream. That was delicious!

We enjoyed our ice cream that evening upstairs in the beautiful dining area. We talked to the daughter I believe of the owner of this place. She was the one who served us and answered all of our questions about seward and their place. Next to the dining area is the living room with pictures and a giant screen tv with comfortable furnishings complimented with a gorgeous view of the lake bordering a great line of tall trees. If you'd like, you can go on the small kayaks outside and go out on to the lake where you can see bears and moose if your lucky of course.

The mother explained different coupons and places to visit that consists of hikes, kayaking, site seeing, eating, etc. She was extremely helpful and very friendly. Her husband was there as well, but left early. Quite a busy man I assume he is.

There are a few other guest rooms around, each with it's own bathroom and a post labeled with a name.

The next morning we woke up a little later and had breakfast in the dining area this time instead of taking it quickly and leaving. The same woman serving us ice cream made everyone waffles and sausages! It was a savoring breakfast indeed. My sister and I had oatmeal made for us as well at request. Delicious! There was an offer for a second round of waffles. I had no room, but definitely enjoyed every bit of it. During that time we had the chance of meeting others staying there and conversed with a lovely Japanese couple from Japan! They were very pleasant and shared their adventures as we did ours.

After breakfast we placed the dishes in the kitchen and headed down to get ready to leave. One of my favorite B&Bs for sure! Please come visit! Make a reservation quick, they are booked pretty fast. Very worth the stay, coming from a girl that has ridiculous standards :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groot V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    26
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
184
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We recently had a 2 night stay at BLL and it was fantastic in every way! We stayed in the Lakeside Suite. It was simply gorgeous with the most comfortable bed I think I've ever slept on! The room had everything you could need, incuding a refrigerator. We were traveling with our 7 y.o. son so the daybed served us well. He loved sleeping in it! The view from our room was spectacular. We had an attached deck that you could relax on and just watch the lake activity (bald eagles, muscrat, ducks, geese, etc.). We loved just sitting out there and gazing at nature! There's even a bald eagle nest at the front of the property!

The owners are wonderful people who take great pride in their B&B...and it shows! The breakfasts were wonderful and they even went to the trouble of preparing special food for our son who has Celiac Disease and can't have any gluten. Every night, we got a hand-dipped ice-cream bar that was TO DIE FOR!!! Yummmmmmy!!!!

The bathroom (private) that was down the hall was immaculate and large enough to actually move around in. It's quite lovely! The shower was especially nice! The towels were high quality and they even provide shampoo and body wash. First class!

Ginny the inn-keeper was a delight! She was professional, kind, caring and a joy to spend time with. She knows her stuff and is an expert on where to go, what to do, etc. She takes her job seriously and makes sure that everyone is comfortable and happy at all times.

We were blessed to meet Samantha, the 2nd inn-keeper, during our visit. She was so helpful in all that we did and so very sweet to our 7 y.o. son (who fell instantly in love!). She was tireless in listening to all his stories and so patient with him at all times - we were so grateful! She helped us have our 1st family canoe trip - it was so much fun! Bear Lake is so beautiful and calm. It was the perfect 1st canoe outing for us!!! We were glad to have Sam there to help us "shove off"! Lol!!

One night, Pat the owner came home and told us to head on down the road to an area where the salmon were just coming up the stream. It was amazing to see them jump up the Weir ladder and the guys who were there counting fish and doing their thing were kind enough to show us some fish and explain what they were doing. Our son loved this and so did we! What a treat!

We can't wait to go back to Alaska and BBL will be our home away from home, yet again. We absolutely loved our stay with Pat, Dennis, Ginny and Sam!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We loved staying at Bear Lake Lodgings May 21012. The people were very helpful, good service, good food, and excellent views. Pat, Dennis, and Ginny gave us information about the area that was very helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
We are so pleased to have our favorite Innkeeper back for summer 2012, Ginny. Many of our past guests have left great comments/reviews on her gracious hosting style. We try hard to find the answers to all the various questions we receive and guests do like using the Seward binder we keep available. Binder with all the activities and guest services in Seward, along with all the restaurant menus. Plus, one binder on the hiking trails in Seward area - which we loan out bear spray cans to all adventurous hikers.

One of the new views outside our window to watch - is a newly built eagles nest. The trees have now filled out with lots of spring foliage, but the nest is easy to view from the driveway. We are fortunate to occasionally watch the eagles flying to the nest, as we seem to be in one of their flight patterns. Hoping for eaglets this summer!

Wonderful hear we were able to meet our guests needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Bear Lake lodge in March 2012. The hosts, Pat and Dennis, were very nice. They explained the facilities of the house patiently even though we got there late. Also, they provided helpful information on activities that we could do in winter, so we did snowshoeing on the Bear Lake. We had so much fun when staying at Seward. The breakfast Pat made was so yummy, and so was the homemade ice cream! We will definitely pay a visit again in summer time!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takkilovemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Winter travelers are such a treat in Alaska - especially ones with a thirst for outdoor adventures - like you and your group. I think I had as much fun hosting your wonderful group of international college graduate students as you had staying with us. Seward is working on trying to attract more visitors in the winter months - we should have made a movie of the many activities your group under took. Your photos of your trip truly showcase Alaska's winter beauty. I too, hope your come back and see our state in it's full summer beauty! That, of course, includes another stay here at Bear Lake! I promise the fish you'll catch in the summer are MUCH BIGGER!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was our first experience staying in a B&B. We really enjoyed our stay at Bear Lake Lodge. Beautiful setting just a few miles from Seward. Accommodations were really nice and our hosts were great. Breakfast was a special event each morning. Enjoyed sitting and talking with Dennis in the evening and listening to all his great Alaska stories and adventures. We'd definitely stay there again if we can get a one of the rooms with a private bath. The Resurrection Peak room on the 3rd floor was a little too hot for me but we opened the window wide open at night and let the icy cold air in and it was comfortable.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room/suite with a private bath. Rooms that share the bathroom are on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1JenLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Experiencing a Bed and Breakfast stay is such a different accommodations option to a traditional hotel/motel. It's wonderful to hear when a newbie to the B&B choice really likes their experience and has now found a much more fun way to travel.

Our accommodations have two suites with private baths and they do book up fast, though our two rooms on the third floor offer a nice savings on the rate for sharing the bath. Our home was built as a family residence and converted to a B&B, this limited some of the re-fit on space and plumbing. We try our best to minimize and problems with sharing a bath - guests are provided with their own lodge comfy bath robes, tub mats, bath mats and extra wall hooks and full closets in the rooms. The shared bath receives a full sanitizing cleaning each day from our housekeeping staff. We are changing our policies for 2013 to limit parents sharing a room with children under 12 years to the suites only. I feel this might have been a problem for the guest during one evening of their stay. We have noticed this as a problem and wish to remain a children friendly B&B, but with some modifications.

We appreciate the comments about our heating situation for the 3rd floor - we found that we had a stuck zone value and it has since been repaired by our local plumber. Thankfully, it's usually easy to cool a room in Alaska!

We appreciate our guest comments so we can make changes for future guests comfort and pleasure in their stay. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

My wife and I had a great stay. She is pregnant and found the bed very comfortable. The owners were very friendly, their dog Trooper was so gentle, the apple french toast breakfast was extremely tasty. 2 eagles started building a nest on the other side of the road! Beautiful area. We will stay with them again if the need arises.

Room Tip: For Lakeside Suite, private bath is down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frontier49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Very happy you found the new queen mattress in the Lakeside Suite comfortable. We had just put in a new mattress in the suite and added the memory foam topper. Guests and US, all love sleeping on the memory foam mattress toppers - good to hear they work well for pregnant guests too!
The eagles are still dropping into the new nest we found during this guests' stay. It is slowly getting larger and will be interesting to watch it grow throughout the summer. Lots of birds are already appearing around our lake environment - this morning our guests spotted 3 eagles across the lake and we saw the first swallows of the season. Swallows are a sure sign that summer is here for Seward!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the lodge in May 2011. It was very nice and enjoyable. We did not have a private bathroom which was shared with another room on the floor but it did not prove to be a problem at all. We really enjoyed the homemade ice cream which was so delicious. I made sure to come back early each night to get some but what we most appreciated was having the use of kayaks on the lakes. We were able to take them out one morning and it was my husband's favorite experience in all of Alaska. It was so beautiful and peaceful on Bear Lake.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana_belle03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFlyFishGirl, Owner at Bear Lake Lodgings B&B, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
We couldn't ask for much better comments from a guest. It's heart warming to know that guests have experienced the beauty of the area that hold us here. Summer or winter, Bear Lake offers solitude, untouched natural beauty and quiet activity options, all just steps from the lodge.

Yes, our hand dipped ice cream bars are "THE BEST" in all Alaska, and maybe - of anywhere. Tough to believe, 2012 will be my 30th year as a food vendor with The Original Gourmet Ice Cream Bars - it's hard to find an Alaskan who hasn't eaten one! They really are - just that decadently delicious! Our nightly ice cream time, 8:00 - 8:30 PM, has guests eating dinner in town and rushing back for dessert - or just having "dessert first" and than out to dinner! With Alaska's long summer days, either option works great - just don't miss the ice cream bars - made to order in pure chocolate!

Always good to get comments on the shared bath option for the guests staying in the 3rd floor rooms. With only the 2 rooms on that floor sharing the bath, it's surprised most guests how convenient it worked out. Guests are offered use of our lush and comfy bathrobes to make the shared bath an easy and cost saving option for travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
6.5 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
5.4 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Lake Lodgings B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Lake Lodgings B&B

Property: Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Address: 33820 Bear Lake Rd, Seward, AK 99664-9623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a magnificent setting on the shores of a forested alpine lake, Bear Lake Lodgings offers hiking trails out the back door, glassy waters perfect for a morning kayak, and a deck that enjoys the late Alaskan summer sun. The ideal base for all your adventures, the lodge features four rooms, each with its own unique characteristics, including two suites with access to viewing decks and two upstairs rooms with tranquil views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing