We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home on the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
Ranked #2 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This is the type of place B&B travelers long for - warm, friendly home with just enough privacy where you don't feel like you are living in a dorm room! Right on Bear Lake, with a canoe and kayaks for guests to enjoy, minutes from downtown Seward. The host was an amazing cook, and served incredible chocolate dipped ice cream bars in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristiePlus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Bear Lake Lodgings B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 366 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

Bear Lake Lodging was the best BB we have ever stayed at. Janine was very informative about the area and gave personal kayak instructions. The setting is just awesome and very comfortable. Of course the late night ice cream bars were a hit with all of us and we would rush back to make sure we were there in time. Pat helped us book several of our tours and we recieved additional discounts by doing that. Our stay there rated a top 10 on our list of places we have stayed.
Ann B & Family (visitors from Georgia & Florida)

Room Tip: Very comfortable and beautiful rooms, we rented all the rooms
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This B&B had a wonderful view of a river. They also provide kayaks for your pleasure of kayaking at your convenience. An eagle owned a tree nearby so we enjoyed that. THE greatest blessing was an ice cream bar every night at 8:00 pm.

The con is that we had to share a bathroom with another room, but tha is what we signed up for and that is what we paid for. Being new at B&B's, we would probably opt out on this the next time and have a room with our own bathroom and pay a bit more.

Thank you Janine and owners. We would be back for sure if we are in the area.

Eric and Debbie
Honolulu, HI

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here two nights at the beginning of a two week stay in Alaska. We arrived tired after a long day's trip from home and were immediately welcomed and made to feel right at home. We have discovered, over the years, that we prefer the sort of B&B which has an open kitchen. If the owner disappears behind the kitchen door we never feel as happy there as when we're welcomed into that space. Bear Lake Lodgings welcomes you in. The location is stunning. I spent a long time, early my first morning, just standing on the dock watching the lake wake up, ahhhhh. All Alaskans seem to have several jobs. One of Patricia and Jack's other jobs is selling hand dipped ice cream all summer at fairs, etc. You get them as part of your stay here - yum. The breakfasts are bountiful and tasty too. One of Jack's other jobs is bush pilot (his plane is tied up at their dock) and he regailed us with Alaska lore and stories after dinner one night. One tip, if you are particularly sensitive to light - and in the summer there is light all night - book the room downstairs which has better light blocking draperies than the rooms upstairs do.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

What a spectacular place to stay!! My 2 teenagers, husband and I all stayed in the bottom room, 3 beds and plenty of room. The bathroom was outside our room, but was only used by us. We had our own balcony and view of the beautiful lake. Canoed and kayaked daily, and even saw bears and eagles. The lodging is outside the town, but was close to get into town in just a few minutes. Breakfast was wonderful, homemade and baked goods. Was also very quiet. All the people were extremely friendly and helpful, and I also loved getting to know the other people staying in the house. Will definitely stay here again WHEN, not if, we return, which I hope will be soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I have to agree with all the other wonderful reviews of this B&B. The owners and innkeeper were wonderful people, sharing stories about the area and making you feel very welcome and relaxed. The house was beautifully decorated and immaculate. The kayaks and canoe were an extra plus!! Of course who can beat the delicious ice cream every night. We would love to come back in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krj139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Besides nightly ice cream treats, we enjoyed kayaking & canoeing in early mornings and in the evenings. Bear's visit was a nice suprise while we were waiting for our breakfast at the second floor deck.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
6.5 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
580 reviews
5.4 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,085 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 46 in Seward
278 reviews
8.4 mi away
Angels Rest on Resurrection Bay, LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Lake Lodgings B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Lake Lodgings B&B

Address: 33820 Bear Lake Rd, Seward, AK 99664-9623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range: $117 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a magnificent setting on the shores of a forested alpine lake, Bear Lake Lodgings offers hiking trails out the back door, glassy waters perfect for a morning kayak, and a deck that enjoys the late Alaskan summer sun. The ideal base for all your adventures, the lodge features four rooms, each with its own unique characteristics, including two suites with access to viewing decks and two upstairs rooms with tranquil views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing