We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punches above its weight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
smartline Bluesun Neptun
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Tucepi
Certificate of Excellence
Darwen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Punches above its weight!”
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We arrived at the hotel on a bright, hot and frankly glorious Saturday afternoon to be greeted by a much needed and very refreshing glass of apple juice...oh and a friendly ,helpful, well presented and polite team of reception staff. First impressions of the hotel were excellent (3 star hotels in our past experience can be very hit and miss) as the lobby area was calm, well laid out and was generally nice.
However, we were then told by the guy behind reception that we would be in the annex. Having read other reviews about the annex, we became slightly disappointed, but nether the less, went down to lunch and was pleasantly surprised by the EXCELLENT quality of the food, both in range and taste. Neither me or my wife eat meat, but there was still plenty of vegetarian and fish dishes for us to choose from. So, after we ate, we headed back to the reception area to get our bags...and were helped across to the annex by one of the reception workers (the staff at this hotel are superb).
Our first impressions of the annex buildings were that they looked very basic and needed a face lift. But these were the only negative impressions that we got. The shower was very powerful and the bathroom was of a good standard. The beds were very comfortable, there was enough wardrobe space and the TV had a range of channels...Okay, so the decor was lacking in modern touches, but again the only negative we could draw from the room was a superficial one, which can also be applied to other areas of the hotel, the pool bar area could do with a face lift as could the restaurant. But these are merely superficial things.
The pool area was great with plenty of room to get a sun lounger (you don't have to put your towels out the night before even in August) and if you don't fancy the pool area - the beach (which is beautiful) is only 20 metres away. The Dalmatian Coast is simply stunning!.
The atmosphere in the hotel is great and laid back, with mainly Italian and German guests, though the hotel doesn't in anyway target these nationalities with a higher sense of importance, there were only a handful of English guests...so....if you want to escape the type of English tourists...that give English tourists a bad name - then from ou experience Croatia is definitely a place to visit.
The bars in Tucepi don't target a binge drinking culture - though they're happy to serve you all day! But you won't find any offers of, '10 free shots, with every pint' nor will you be hassled to come in to bars or restaurants by their patrons, something that seems to be inescapable in other countries. The Croatian locals were brilliant!
Moving back to the hotel itself, while the food is excellent, the drinks are about average. mainly because around the pool area you get 'party cups' to drink any alcoholic or soft drinks from, while I understand that you can't have glass around the pool, this is something that I think the hotel should look in to by providing a separate drinking area, by creating a definite bar - as the current bar is more like a point where you just get drinks from. But again, a superficial negative.
Last, but by no means least, the entertainment staff were great, encouraging - but not pressuring you to get involved in activities during the day (adults - not just kids!). As somebody who visits the gym regularly I was itching to do something, but couldn't face playing football in the hot weather...so I did aqua aerobics, not once, but twice a day. It was brilliant, seriously there are a lot of activities to do at the Neptun during the day, whilst the children at the hotel also seemed to be kept busy by the hotel staff.
We'd definitely stay at the Neptun again, and will most probably be visiting Dubrovnik next year, as we've absolutely been sold by Croatia, it's simply a beautiful country. Get yourselves there!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexVDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    131
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
103
132
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2009

my wife and two lads stayed at the neptun for one week in july ,the transfer from the airport was nearly two hours, a long time but it was ok.We were given rooms in one of the annexes which looked as though they had been added has an afterthought in the grounds of the main hotel.They look awful as you walk up to them, like some kind of prison block and our first reaction was dread and dissapointment ,my wife was nearly in tears.I feel the brochure is misleading about the accomodation ,all the pictures and discriptions are of the main hotel the annexes just dont cut it.Having said that the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable ,the showers were hot ,but for the price we paid we thought the rooms would be nicer.
That is my only gripe about the hotel the food is very good the restaurent is clean and pleasant with friendly staff ,the hotel grounds are nice,the pool and pool area very good with plenty of sunbeds and parasols ,the beer is a good quality the bar staff friendly.
The neptun guests are mainly german,very few british but if you smile at them they will smile back and there is generally agood atmoshere around the pool and in the restaurent ,but the thing about the sunbeds is true soget up early to bag the best spots around the pool then get a cuppa and watch the little sunbed wars unfold ,its better than the evening entertainment.
Tucepi is a lovely quiet little town ,its got a beautiful firtree lined seaside promanade which is great in the evening ,prices are similar to the uk ,the croations are nice people and they never hassle you,very relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynetepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I will keep it simple

Good Points

Weather was superb (30+ degrees everyday)
Easy driving if you hire a car as it is one coast road from Split airport
Croatian people are very friendly
Hotel is clean if not a little basic
Food was superb alot of variety ie. Fish, meats, salads, fruit and veg all really fresh
Beach is only a 10 yard walk and water is beautiful
Nice beer (Bavaria)
Daytime entertainment was good ie Beach volleyball, football, darts, table tennis competitions
Childrens night entertainment
Food and beers in nearby restaraunts is cheap
Excursions are amazing ie Krka National park, Dubrovnik, Biokovo Mountain

Bad Points

Beer is only served in half pints so you have to go to the bar milions of times
Local spirits arent the best
Rooms are spread over a few buildings ie. Dependasa 5 is about a 50 yard walk from the restaraunt
Nightime entertainment is a little poor iunlkess you like croatian folk music
Local speed limits on the coast road arent always shown an top speed is normally 60km/h so its slow driving. ie. 3hrs to Dubrovnik (140km)

All in all we had a superb holiday and would recommend it to anyone. the hotel did have alot of children but you would expect that on an all inclusive.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawerau8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed for one week July 4th-11th. When we first arrived at the airport we feared the worst... heavy rain and tunderstorms!! This calmed down a lttle on the 2 hour drive to Tucepi but where was the sun ?? Luckily we had no reason to worry.. we had a week of blistering hot sunshine and no rain (execpt on the last night in the early hours). The rep told us the week prior was a tempremental weather so we icked an excellent week. I will review each part below:

HOTEL:
Beautiful location set on the pebbled beach with gorgeous backdrop of mountains. The hotel is split into 2 sections, the main hotel and the annexe. You will automatcally be put into the annexe unless you upgrade at your travl agent to the main building like we did. The annexe rooms are smaller and have no aircon!!! which believe me you do need at this time of year. Our room was onthe 8th floor of main building which had fantastic side sea views along with a view along the whole resort with the maintains too. The room was basic and would benefit from some updating. Shower room, TV with CNN andBBC News, and balcony.
The pool was lovely and big enough however they need a adults only section because kids are everywhere, splashing you, jumping in, whacking you with their balls and lilos.. it infuriated me to be honest. If you dont want to be around kids dont book this hotel. Families chose this hotel for the all inclusive (which i will come on to later).
Plenty of sunbeds and parasols (although in typical german fashion, towels were down early).
Now comes the real downside which you must consider before booking this hotel -the suposed all inclusive.. Firstly it isnt all inclusive. There is only one bar (the pool bar) that is all inclusive not the bar in the lobby, secondly the drinks they offer are very cheap imitations of the real thing. The soft drinks are not Coca Cola, Spite etc they are horrible tasting local soft drinks the cola is disgusting) and the alcoholic ones are just as bad. There is no whisky, vodka, rum, only local shnapps and gin and beer (Bavaria). The beer is ok but a bit gassy. We ended up buying spirits from the local supermarket and drank on the balcony instead.

FOOD

Food was as good as you would expect for a three star hotel. Continental style breakfasts with pastries too. Lunch was salad bar with selection of meats, potatoes, chips etc. Dinner similar athough we ate out every night as nice restaurants along the prominade and at the marina.

LOCATION/RESORT

Lovely. A nice 20 min walk along the prominade past beachside shops and restaurants and you end up at the marina. Nice compact and pretty resort. Makarska is about 10 min tai ride away for more choice but this is a prettier resort.

EXCURSIONS

We did a day trip to Dubrovnik which was a long day but vey much worth it. There are many more excursions to chose from but we were olny there a week so just did the one.

OVERALL

Great Location, quite unspoilt and thankfully no chavs. Hotel needs to improve the all inclusive facilty because that was a real let down and in my opinion a bit of a con.
Any questions feel free t omessage me.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank otty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

I spent an horrible night in this hotel on august 13 2007.
we heard the TV, the shower and the voice of the room next to us !
Its a shame for 150 euros per night !

  • Liked — The soviet atmosphere of the sixties (that says it all...)
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMICALEMANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2007

Stayed at the Neptune last September and we booked this through Thomas Cook. Only booked it a week before so for 2 pax it was in the region of £500 FB, which is cheap for Croatia and Full Board.

The hotel itself is pleasant and staff friendly. However we were allocated a room in the Annex part of the hotel. This was a two building which to be honest was a bit rough looking. The room itself was ok definately nothing specutalar but clean and what i would say is 3*. Did have 1 issue with the room which was the bathroom had quite a bad smell. reported this to the rep and the place was cleaned immediately got rid of it for a while but slowly did creep back over the week think it had something to do with the drains. When i spoke with the rep he did advise that for the 07 season the hotel annex was being completly refurbished so if your staying there this year you may get a lovely new room. However if it was me id ask to stay in the hotel.

The food: mmm what can i say, personally i'm not into full board so bear this in mind. For me the food was nothing special at all we actually only ate one evening in the hotel. Howver did have breakfast everyday and there was a variety of food and cereal and the usual eggs and bacon. The hotel also offered three restuarnts which you could visit once during your stay. This is much better and the food is brillant. We ate one night at the Kasalet resturant which is about 10 mins walk into Tucepi. The menu is a set 7 course meal yes i did type that correctly "7" so if ylou decide to do this starve yourselve for the day.

The resort itself is really nice with most of the hotels, resturants and bars along the front which from one end to the other is about 1 mile long but really nice for a pleasant stroll. The beach is pebbled so remember your flip flops and the sea is crystal clear and really nice for swimming.

Get about is easy enough and its Crotia so its cheap and cheerful. A 10 min walk up to the main road and you can get regular buses or taxis into Makarska which is definately worth trip particulary if you get there about 10/11am when you can see the fishing boats come in with their catches selling to the locals. This is also the main road to Split which is also worth a visit and will probably take you about an hour.

All in all this was my second visit to croatia and i love the country its absolutely stunning and the way of life is very relaxed however go now before its completly taken over by tourists.

Id certaintely recommend the resort of Tucepi with some lovely bars and restuarnts to keep you busy. The hotel, well based on my own experience it was fine for a bed and to lie around the pool. If you get a reasonable deal then you'll be happy with the hotel. However if your treating yourself and looking for a really nice hotel then there are several in Tucepi.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LittleGaz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tucepi
0.3 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Alga
Bluesun Hotel Alga
#4 of 10 in Tucepi
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Tamaris
Aparthotel Tamaris
#1 of 10 in Tucepi
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bluesun Resort Afrodita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Medora Auri Family Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Villa Andrea
Villa Andrea
#2 of 10 in Tucepi
170 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Soline
Bluesun Hotel Soline
#1 of 10 in Brela
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Bluesun Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Bluesun Neptun

Property: smartline Bluesun Neptun
Address: Slatina 4, Tucepi 21325, Croatia (Formerly Bluesun Hotel Neptun)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Tucepi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tucepi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tucepi
#5 Family Hotel in Tucepi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Bluesun Neptun 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Bluesun Neptun is located next to the beautiful sea, near the village Tucepi and is a perfect choice for the whole family. Here you can spend your holiday surrounded by olive tree gardens and stay activated with the large activity and sport program for both kids' and adults, offered by the hotel. Since All Inclusive is included in the price, you will have a comfortable holiday at smartline Bluesun Neptun. Enjoy rich buffet meals and snacks with locally sourced ingredients. The hotel offers a large pool area with a wonderful sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Agoda so you can book your smartline Bluesun Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Hotel Tucepi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing