We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Laurentum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Laurentum
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Tucepi
Northampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was our first trip to Croatia and we went with friends. We were absolutely delighted with the Laurentum. The staff were exceptional, the bedrooms huge (our friends were staying in one tht featured int he brochure) and everywhere spotless. We had a sea view but our balcony was in full sun and it was, unfortunately, far too hot for us to ever sit on it. However, the views of the sea and the glorious sunsets were stunning.
As the hotel is so small (34 rooms) you have to order your dinner each evening for the next night, which we were not terribly keen on. However, we would only have B & B next time, as there are so many bars and restaurants along the front to eat it - all quite cheap.
As stated the pool is tiny and there are not many sun beds. There was the usual international battle to get towels out onto beds first, each morning. The beach - if you walk for 100 metres from the hotel steps, is lovely, although pebbles, not sand. Lots of shade under pine trees and sun beds galore to hire . We went on excursions and hired a car to go up Biokovo Mountain - breathtaking and a real must. If the weather had been cooler we would have done more but it was in the high thirties for the 10 days and that restricted us. There was some local entertainment along the front on some evenings and Tucepi itself has a lovely 'family' feel to it. Very few English guests whilst we were there, although everyone spoke English very well. Dubrovnic - despite being 160 km away, was also a must - the city is so beautiful.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were lovely, but some have side sea views only - ask for front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LesleyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treoes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We arrived at the Hotel very late but were greeted warmly and with the offer of food which the Hotel had kept aside for us. This was a very kind gesture which was much appreciated.

Following our son's wedding that week my husband and I were ready for a well deserved rest which we did get. The hotel is very quiet and peaceful. Our room was facing the road with a partial sea and mountain view. There was a cave on the mountain which would change colour as the sun moved around. The room itself was spotless as was the rest of the hotel.Fresh sheets and towels were provided each day.

I shall recommend the fish in the restaurant as it was always very fresh. Sadly it was always served with creamed spinach and boiled potatoes which did get monotonous by the end of the week. The partial buffet provided and excellent selection of salad and fruit. During the evening meal the starter and the main dish was individually prepared. The soups were also worth trying. Dennis the waiter was excellent and deserves an individual mention for his knack of making you feel at home. Sadly he was not on duty on our last day to say thank you to him.

The beach at Tucepi is very pebbly. The hotel pool was very small but never crowded. Often we would have the pool to ourselves.

To sum up excellent friendly staff, very clean and very quiet. An excellent hotel to relax in. I half expected to see Miss Marple sitting in the corner!

Thank you for making our short stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The double rooms apparently only have partial view of the sea. Don't let this put you off as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PleasedTreoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for one week in June 2011 and enjoyed unbroken sunshine though at nearly 34c it was getting almost too hot - July and August can be 38c!

The hotel has about 45 rooms and so is small and friendly, it enjoys a great location in the very centre of Tucepi so you walk out of the hotel which faces the marina and you are right in the heart of things. The guests were mainly eastern european from Bosnia, Slovenia etc with a small number of UK visitors.

Turning left took you to the classier part of Tucepi, while a right turn took you down to the bigger hotels in the resort which are more family orientated and considerably nosier.

We had a side view room, so you could see the sea to the right but also the mountains behind if you looked left and here at about 07.05am every morning the sun popped above the mountain top and bathed Tucepi in sunlight and warmth.

We stayed half board and the food was excellent and you were served at your table dining outside on the terrace by very friendly waiters who all spoke excellent english, it made a change from huge buffets that never change from day to day and after 7 days you really cannot face again.

We had a good size room that was air-conditioned and came with a safe though I think our mini-bar was missing since other guests had one, but it may have been they were in superior rooms as it's nice to have a fridge to put water and milk etc.

The hotel also had full wi-fi which was free, as was the in-room safe.

The hotel is a great place for couples and those with very young children and people who have finally got the children off their hands since evening entertainment is limited and the hotel when we visited offered nothing at all and seemingly never opened the bar, though this may be different in July and August. However, with the cafe's less than 50m from the hotel it was not a problem.

We had a great holiday at the hotel and in the resort and with Croatia still out of the Euro zone, prices were about 40% of what you might pay in Europe so eating and drinking out were very affordable.

As an aside we travelled with Balkan Holidays who were very good and the representative genuinely wanted you to enjoy his country during your stay rather than sell a long list of excursions on commission.

10/10 all round.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JemR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This a very nice and quiet hotel, grate location and a fantastic staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norway0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We booked this hotel for two weeks and got to spend a little too much time in it ... It rained almost every day the last week so we spent a lot of time in our room and in the hotel restaurant.

The rooms were comfortable and boring, the beds okey apart from the very uncomfortable pillows, and the view over the Adriatic beautiful. The hotel is located at the very heart of Tucepi which is a plus.

The staff were very friendly. One waiter even said, after serving coffee to us every morning,: "You just enjoy". Nice and unexpected.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Golben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 26, 2005

I have been going to Tucepi, Croatia for the past 5-6 years. Since Hotel Laurentum has opened, I have stood there. The hotel is a baeutiful one that has a gorgeous view of the Adriatic ocean. I f you have a room in the front, i would say that it is the most baeutiful sight. it is better than other views I had seen. The food is great, and they can specialize it to what you like if you ask nicely. The staff is great, especially the manager. He has helped me out plenty of times when I needed it, from finding bus times and cab stations, to even calling his friend to give me a ride. The staff is very friendly and the reception desk people can speak english pretty well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only thing that I dislike is how they lock the doors at midnight. This is a thing that all hotels do in the area for reasons I don't understand. Why can't the night worker stay up all night and do his job, instead of sleeping, so you have to wake him up when you come home.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 12, 2004

Have just returned from 2 weeks in a most beautiful part of Croatia. We stayed at the Hotel Laurentum in Tucepi from 25.9.04 until 9.10.04. Weatherwise, we had two overcast days and 12 days of glorious sunshine. The hotel itself was lovely. Spotlessly clean. The room was large, very well furnished, with a good sized bathroom, which had a large hairdryer. The staff were excellent and most had some English, but the receptionists had very good English. Food: for the first week it was okay, but the second week we ate out a lot because the menu was the same. Apparently this is being changed for next year, according to Holiday Options rep. Eating out is very reasonable, except for fish (which we found strange) which is on a par with UK, but nevertheless cooked beautifully. I personally ate fish 13 nights out of the 14 we were there. There was pork, veal, beautiful steaks, pizzas, omelets, salads, seafood etc. A good variety. The wine was superb, we recommend Dingac and Plancic, both red. We were about 3 hours from Dubrovnic, but took the tour and didn't regret it. Breathtaking views and a lovely city. We also did some boat trips which again were excellent. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, very relaxing and a quiet area at that time of the year. Sea not suitable for small children as the beach dips away quite steeply. But fine for adults and older children. The area is very safe to walk around at night. If there is anything anyone wishes to know, please don't hesitate to e-mail me.

Helpful?
41 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucepi hotels
0.4 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Alga
Bluesun Hotel Alga
#4 of 9 in Tucepi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bluesun Resort Afrodita
0.6 mi away
Villa Andrea
Villa Andrea
#2 of 9 in Tucepi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Tamaris
Aparthotel Tamaris
#1 of 9 in Tucepi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Marija
Hotel Villa Marija
#8 of 9 in Tucepi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.8 mi away
smartline Bluesun Neptun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurentum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurentum

Property: Hotel Laurentum
Address: Kraj 43, 21 325, Tucepi, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Tucepi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tucepi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucepi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tucepi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tucepi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurentum 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laurentum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurentum Hotel Tucepi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing