We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit!”
Review of Bluesun Hotel Alga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Alga
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Tucepi
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sit!”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

It was an average 4 star hotel We were on a Riviera Holidays tour. Dining was like school dinners! Das fuhrer maitre D told us where to sit, when and how. All 'Revieras' together...no tables for two....share with 4 others as a six! No! not over there Sir, that's for Saga...they get more space!!

Food and rooms where fine, but dining....unbelievable!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eastwoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    159
    58
    15
    7
See reviews for
84
139
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I stayed in the Alga for 2 weeks, I had no problems with the accommodation, only problem was communication, no British there when we were there (sometimes not a bad thing but when you have a 10 year old son). Food got a bit boring so would perhaps just go B&B next time. The hotel was nice and clean and room was fine for the 2 of us. Gorgeous views to the hills from our room and we could watch the night time activities in the next hotel, although night time entertainment was rubbish. We went on a few trips to Dubrovnik, up the mountains and a boat trip, all recommended, the views even on the coach there were worth it. Don't think I have been to a place with such breathtaking scenery. The season was just ending by the time we left at the beginning of September ,so needed a cardi at night as started to get a bit chilly.
Pool was lovely and clean and never anyone in it so lots of space. True what everyone says about the beds, towels on them all by 9am. We always managed to find a couple but the beach is just across the road.
I definitely would go again but would love to fly into Split and hire a car and drive around the coast and stay at different places, there are always tons of apartments to rent everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylor0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed 7 days in Hotel Alga (Aug. 28 - Sept 4). Lucky for us the busy season had just ended the day we arrived, so there was plenty of space by the pool and on the beach. And we found parking.

Our room was very clean. as well as the rest of the hotel, and the service was very good. There was plenty to eat and the extra price for drinks was pretty good for a four star hotel. The food was always fresh and they had a big selection, but mostly on the bland side (I guess to fit all tastes). Someone wrote that they only had canned fruit for desert. We had lots of fresh melon, apples, nectarines & pineapples as well as various puddings and cakes. And they continuously added more through the evening. The salad bar was great!!!

I would love to go again next year, but I might consider only having breakfast rather than half board so that we could enjoy some of the restaurants close by (which were plenty to chose from).

We were lucky with the weather b/c it cooled down to about 25 - 28°C (the weak before it was 32-38°C. the first night our room was so hot, and the air conditioner didn't work well. All of the other nights we slept with the balcony door open and enjoyed the fresh night air. Air conditioner only works with hotel key in, so it's off when you are not in the room.

FYI, if you are staying at hotel in the busy July/August season and want a lounge chair by the pool, get there early. Many people reserve the lounge chairs starting at 7am. I enjoyed watching the people from my balcony early in the morning.

BTW, my kids (11 &13) loved our time in Tucepi so much, they insist we go back again next year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Americantanzmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The good: great location. The bad: not enough parking (we had to park at another Blue Sun hotel, farther away), not enough seats by the pool (we never got to sit; all seats have towels on them by 8am for the rest of the day), pool quality food in the Blue Sun restaurants, in room safe doesn't work correctly, the air conditioning barely worked (hot for the first couple of days, finally cooled after running flat out for three days), very high WiFi charges in the lobby, and rude service we up against on two occasions:

1) They have a really stupid system where you have assigned seats for breakfast, but they somehow expect you'll just know. We were kicked out of the first table and directed to another. We were then (_very_ rudely) kicked out of that same second table we were previously directed to, because the first guy messed up.

2) When we checked out we found our battery was dead. They front desk made it abundantly clear that they had no interest in helping us in any way, informing us dismissively that everything is closed on Sunday. We were forced to locate and call a service company on our own.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrc124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shipley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Very large but friendly hotel located next to beach promenade. Bedroom very clean but rather on small side with minimal storage space for two people, lovely modern bathroom with walk-in shower.
The whole dining room experience was a let-down, chaotic crowded self service area, food often not very hot, very repetitive menus especially sweets which were tinned plums,mandarins or fruit salad for fourteen consecutive days!
Large and attractive terrace/pool area with plenty of sunbeds.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShipleyDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We only stayed at this hotel for three nights as part of Jewels of Croatia Tour with Saga.
Our room was excellent very comfortable with our own little lounge area including comfy
sofa and arm chairs.All meals were buffet style plenty of choice but one problem food was never really hot and it wasnt because we ate late either.Some of the other guests were German and French but as we were Saga we had our own area of tables.The hotel
had music in the evenings and a very nice Saga lounge with tea/coffee and all other drinks available on all inclusive list.We did an excursion to Dubrovnik which was lovely.
It is about two and half hours coach ride but worth doing.You can opt for a guided tour
first and then wander around where you please.If you wish to walk around the old wall it
will cost you approx £8-00 each.do try one of the many flavoured ice creams---yummy.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cornishdragon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I stayed in Tucepi many times. We used to stay in appartments or small hotels. Whe we arrived to reception staff was very helpfull. We got a lovely clean. Hotel has excellent location directly on the beach, great facilities very good food...
I would definitely reccomend this hotel to everybody!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelservice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tucepi
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Tamaris
Aparthotel Tamaris
#1 of 10 in Tucepi
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Resort Afrodita
0.3 mi away
smartline Bluesun Neptun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Medora Auri Family Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Villa Andrea
Villa Andrea
#2 of 10 in Tucepi
170 reviews
21.2 mi away
Aminess Grand Azur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Hotel Alga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Alga

Property: Bluesun Hotel Alga
Address: Dracevice 35, Tucepi 21325, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Tucepi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucepi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tucepi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucepi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluesun Hotel Alga 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluesun Hotel Alga is located in Tučepi, one of the most beautiful destinations on the Makarska Riviera. Only a few steps away from the best known beach in Tučepi, Hotel Alga is ideal for guests who primarily want to have fun, meet new people, enjoy numerous sports activities in the nearby sports centre or go on various excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Alga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Alga Tucepi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing