We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to this Lovely Hotel”
Review of Bluesun Hotel Alga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Alga
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Tucepi
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Last year we were on the Saga Jewels of Croatia tour which included four nights at this hotel. (see my previous review) We enjoyed it so much we decided to return to this hotel for a weeks stay this June.
We were not disappointed, this hotel is in a perfect location, kept spotlessly clean by hard working, friendly staff. In our view, the perfect place for a weeks 'rest and relaxation'.
The weather was good, wall to wall sunshine all week. The view from our bedroom was stunning, overlooking the pool areas and the sea beyond. Early every morning the staff were there sweeping and cleaning and getting the sun loungers & sun umbrellas ready for the guests.
We only had one complaint and that was the unnecessary 'thumping' music coming from the pool bar during the morning which disturbed the peace. The music and entertainment in the evening was very good and everything stops at 11pm so it is not noisy in the bedrooms overlooking the pool & terrace area.
We will definitely return but only choose June or September as we could see it will get very busy with young families during the school holidays.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Alga, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear PatsyAB,

Thank you for posting your review. It's such a pleasure to hear that your staying in our hotel was great. What pleases us most is that you enjoyed the hotel and our staff, and we can promise that we'll do our best to preserve the level of the quality.

We hope you will visit us again next year, and that we will become your
favorite holiday destination!

Best regards!
Miso Divic
Accommodation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 344 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Bluesun Hotel Alga in Tucepi - I was with the SAGA group. The bedroom was great- on the 3rd floor and I paid extra for a sea view which was well worth it. Bed was very comfy and the room had adequate lighting for reading, and there was a fridge, dressing table, wardrobe, free safe and a full length mirror. It could have done with a comfy chair as there was room for this. Shower room was OK - not particularly modern but clean and did me for the week. My only problem was the dreadful hose hair dryer situated over the toilet- they should be banned from hotels!!!!!!! Also there were 2 very dated chairs on the balcony- needed comfy chairs to relax on instead.
This Hotel has the most caring, polite, kind and professional staff who are all so friendly and helpful. I had the feeling that I was part of a large family and was totally at ease during my stay here. The entertainments team at the hotel were great offering activities all day for all ages and music, and cabaret at night. We were able to sit outside on the terrace by the swimming pool in the evening as the weather was getting hotter and hotter.
The dinning room was so well run as there were always new guests arriving. The food was delicious at all times with plenty of choice for all tastes- I really enjoyed eating there. The tables were always laid out with clean linen table clothes and the waiting staff were fabulous and attentive.
The outdoor pool area was clean and had plenty of sun beds- it would be so much better to have an attendant in this area to provide towels rather than going downstairs to the indoor pool area. Also all the rules of the pool were constantly broken,-no air beds in the pool: no diving: no glasses around the pool area; no saving sun beds etc. - there needs to be a hotel attendant on duty around there in the day. I did find that there was very loud pop music being played in this area at times- most annoying! I do not mind 'enforced' music in the background, but thudding pop music was certainly not for the benefit of most of the guests staying there.
In conclusion, I had a great week staying in this hotel and would certainly recommend it to anyone thinking of going there. The management should be proud of their caring, smart, efficient and friendly staff in all areas. Thank you for a great time.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view- well worth it. If you want quiet at night, make sure your room is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jazzypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Alga, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear jazzypj,

thank you for placing your review and thank you for taking the time to describe your experience of stay with us. Thank you for your review and for outlining the pros and cons of your overall experience in Alga. We highly value our guests' opinion, because it helps us improving our service and to going along with your wishes and suggestions.

We are happy to see that you had a good experience with our hotel, and that you were satisfied with the location, and as well with our staff. We are happy to have been able to help you, and that you were satisfied with our service. Each one of our guests is highly valuable and we do our best to dedicate ourselves to every individual as much as possible.

As for the balcony chairs, our priority in future investments is to get new ones, still thank you for pointing that out.

We hope to see you again in beautiful Tucepi.

Kind regards,
Miso Divic
Hotel accommodation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have never been to Croatia before but after spending Whitsun week at the Bluesun Alga Hotel it has convinced both of us to go again.
The hotel facilities and its rooms are very clean and tidy and it is apparent all the staff are very attentive and friendly.
There was always a large selection of food and I cannot see why anyone would not be happy with the choices offered.
The only downside was the cost of drinks at the hotel with a bottle of wine with your meal costing 180 Kuna when other restaurants and bars locally only charge 80 Kuna.
On the whole we all were very pleased with the hotel and resort and will definitely be back.

Steve & Glenis A

Room Tip: Whist we were there another couple did not like their room and it was changed immediately by recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Alga, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Steve A,

firstly we would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and posting a review.

We are glad that you had a good time in Bluesun Alga hotel, and it is a great motivation for us to see that our guests appreciate our effort. You are most certainly right, location is ideal for spending the perfect vacation by the sea, and we doing our best to make our guest's stay as carefree as possible.

We would be happy to see you again in Tucepi.

Kind regards,

Mišo Divić,
Accommodation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Room was preety good. It was superior room, and me, my wife and two kids stayed there without any missconfort. Food was ok, plenty of choice. Rooms are clean, and stuff is kind. Outdoor pols are better part. They are great. Beach is near, just a step from hotel.
But, there is a lack of that four star feeling. Reception is quite old fashion. Shower cabins are not on four star level. When you look at hotel from outside walls are not white as they should be. Also, pools needs better conservation when not in use. I supose that's the way to avoid brown colour on some parts.

All in all, I would come here again. But not in summer season, when prices are insane. Late spring hollidays with kids-perfect

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dzelilovic K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Alga, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Dzelilovic K,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us and posting a review. We are glad that you have been satisfied while staying with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you will come back in our hotel again. Regarding the renovation of some parts of the hotel, it is being planned to be done anytime soon.

We would be happy to see you here in Tucepi again as our guest.

Kind regards,
Miso Divic,
Accommodation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Friendly hotel with entertainment in the evenings. Pleasant clean rooms often with sea view. Buffet style dining so sometimes limited choice and over cooked food. Dining room often like the works canteen depending on the number of guests!
Extensive beach area with many bars an cafés and long 'prom'. Ideal for visits to Split and surroundings.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Alga, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Julian S,


Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We are glad you liked our friendliness and evening entertainment.

Regarding the food choice we're trying our best to fulfill different needs and tastes and although our restaurant is quite big we manage to keep domestic atmosphere. Also we hope that our 14 days period menus were rich enough for you to find something for yourself.

We would be happy to host you again in Tucepi.

Kind regards,
Miso Divic,
Accommodation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

just returned after spending 3 weeks at this friendly hotel. all members of the staff were polite and helpful from reception dining room and maids nothing was to much trouble for them.
the food was good with plenty of choice at all sittings all well presented too.
we were all inclusive with Saga so we had the Saga lounge for the drinks we had to help ourselves to the drinks which we found okay again everything was filled up as soon as it was empty.
All areas of the hotel were cleaned to high standards, the rooms were very comfortable and the beds too.
at the back off hotel there is a promanade which leads to some shops and bars on the water edge.if you want more shops you have to go in to Makaska which is a 10 minate bus ride away catch the bus up the road from hotel.
the entertainment was okay some nights better then others.
all in all a good friendly hotel would return perhaps later in the year

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egghead10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Alga, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear egghead10,

Thank you for publicly sharing your opinion and for an extensive review.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your vacation in our hotel and that you will visit Tucepi again in the future. Our goal is to make you staying as comfortable as possible.

We hope you'll visit us again soon.
Best regards!

Miso Divic
Accommodation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We liked:
-hotels location just at the beach, beautiful nature, wonderful mountains at the back
-superior room was spacious
-breakfast was good, buffet style
-almost everybody speaks English
-tidy
-inside pool nice even it is very small
-hotel has its own bank automat
-beds were comfortable

We did not like:
-staff was various, some were nice, some not so nice
-you can not buy stamps from hotel unless you buy also postcards from hotel, sooooo ridiculous, could not believe my ears! You should immediately change that!
-hotel has 80´s feeling
-hotel looks kind of awful from outside
-there is like nothing open if you go there at April, nothing
-outside pools cold and very very dirty
-staff at the inside bar lazy, they did not bother to ask people who were taking outside sun, if they would like to drink something, very odd... and I know, that 90 % of people outside would have like to drink something. And pool bar outside was not open.
-you can not get even a snack anywhere from hotel, hotel should always have a cafe where they would sell sandwiches, cakes etc, even low season
-prices very very expensive at the hotel, all, like cafe, coca-cola, and oh my what the prices in minibar at hotelroom.
-AC was poor
-cant recommend dinner buffet at hotel, food seems to be low quality, meat is bad, all the fish dishes have full of fishbones, yakkkkk.... dessert cakes looks nice but they taste all the same. And even tap water do not include dinner, you have to buy separately everything and they cost a lot

About Tucepi, do not go there at April, there is like nothing then, everything is closed and it is a tiny little place. Go at the end of May, then it will be nice.

Room Tip: Take a room from stairs 3, 4 or 5 and superior room with balcony at seaside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Alga, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Tiina R,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you have highlighted positive and negative aspects of your vacation in Tucepi.
We're glad that you listed many things you liked here, while we regret that several aspects of your vacation haven't been satisfying. We'll make sure to communicate the problem with the stamps to the souvenir shop owner, as it is being managed by an outside partner.

The area around the pool couldn't have been spotless for a couple of days because we had a strong north wind 'bura' and it was not possible to keep it clean all the time. However, we apologize since it cased you inconveniences.

Pool area in our hotel is quite large and although many guests like that, sometimes we find it challenging to perform a fast service across this entire space. We'll certainly put an extra effort to serve our guests on sunbeds.

We're constantly introducing buffet menu improvements, and regarding the fish bones, we observe the best culinary practice which is not to take the bones out so as to preserve the freshness in fish.

We hope that you enjoyed your vacation in Tucepi, despite the mentioned inconveniences.

Kind regards,
Mišo Divić
Accomodation Manager of hotel Alga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tucepi
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Resort Afrodita
0.3 mi away
smartline Bluesun Neptun
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Tamaris
Aparthotel Tamaris
#1 of 10 in Tucepi
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Medora Auri Family Beach Resort
21.2 mi away
Aminess Grand Azur Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Laurentum
Hotel Laurentum
#7 of 10 in Tucepi
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Hotel Alga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Alga

Address: Dracevice 35, Tucepi 21325, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Tucepi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tucepi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tucepi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucepi
Price Range: $58 - $1,530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluesun Hotel Alga 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluesun Hotel Alga is located in Tučepi, one of the most beautiful destinations on the Makarska Riviera. Only a few steps away from the best known beach in Tučepi, Hotel Alga is ideal for guests who primarily want to have fun, meet new people, enjoy numerous sports activities in the nearby sports centre or go on various excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Alga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Alga Tucepi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing