We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the condo!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Mauna Loa Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Loved the condo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were a group of 5 adults from Canada and Germany meeting in Hawaii for a 3 week vacation. Because we wanted to spend time together over meals and evening socializing, the condo was a much better alternative to a hotel. We spent 9 nights here and loved it. We had a 2 bed, 2 1/2 bath multi level unit, and it provided loads of space for everyone. The grounds and rooms are well maintained. Really could not find any fault. It suited our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warrenandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Manager at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Aloha Warren and Linda,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Mauna Loa Village. The condos are very spacious and we are happy that it met your needs. The grounds are very beautiful and peaceful. We look forward to your next vacation in Hawaii and we hope you decide to stay with us again.

Mahalo,

Kathy Kaai
Assistant Resort Manager
kathy.kaai@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    100
    16
    12
    5
See reviews for
89
93
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Shout out to Cynthia and the staff at the Wyndham, you saved our time on the Big Island. We originally had a condo booked at the Outrigger Kanaloa(bad-read my review) and needed to move the family. When our tour company refunded out $$, we booked immediately online. I called at 9:30am, Cynthia found our reservation and said we could check in at 10:30AM! Wonderful, considering our previous night sleep. Staff was great, ground beautiful, our condo was clean and comfortable. Thank you for showing us your Hawaiian hospitality.

Room Tip: We enjoyed condo #54 in building 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Manager at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Aloha Voni,
Thank you for your review of Mauna Loa Village and our fantastic staff. I will commend Cynthia (Cindy) on her great job of welcoming you to our home. We are happy that our accomodations met your needs. You and your family are welcome to visit us again soon. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Mahalo,

Kathy Kaai
Assistant Manager
kathy.kaai@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal Cove, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here from April 18- 26, 2014 and after a very long flight we were very happy to have chosen such a lovely spot. The 1 bedroom unit was just perfect for the 2 of us but we certainly could have brought along another couple as there was plenty of room in the huge unit with a sleeper/sofa. The king bed was amazing and the place was just so beautiful and peaceful there. A great place to call 'home' for a week or more. We were booked to travel to Maui for the next 2 weeks but we were sorry we didn't book to stay here longer. We had everything we needed and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort, we just loved it there.

Room Tip: We booked a 1 bdrm unit but the living room area is very spacious with a pullout sofa bed and an ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Manager at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Aloha Geraldine,
Mahalo for your response regarding how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very pleased that our accomodations was more than adequate for you. We hope to have you as our guest again at Mauna Loa Village in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kathy Kaai
Assistant Resort Manager
kathy.kaai@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I found out after I had already booked our stay that our daughter was graduating college early. I called the resort and talked to Cindy and she assured me it was no problem that we arrive a day late. I was a little worried, but check in was a breeze and we had a large one bedroom unit. My very first impression of this resort was the smell of the flowers when we got out of the car. We had the pleasure of this smell every day. Our room was by a pool, but they do enforce pool times and we were never bothered by noise at night. Our unit was very clean and well stocked and the bed had those wonderful Wyndham pillows. I can't say enough nice things about the staff. Every person we had contact with was smiling and friendly. My husband went to the office to get directions to the closest beaches and he came back with beach mats and beach chairs. These are available to guests on a honor system and it made our beach days much more pleasant. This resort is off the beaten path, but it's close to everything and it's quiet. I was also impressed with the hot tub as it was actually hot and not lukewarm. My only minor complaint is the internet service, but that really wasn't a problem. We were not pressured into a timeshare presentation and that was greatly appreciated. Overall, we loved this resort and would stay here again if we ever returned to Kailua-Kona.

Green Features: I was very impressed that this resort had recycling readily available.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Manager at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Aloha Bonnie,
Mahalo for your wonderful review of Mauna Loa Village. We take pride in the beauty and tranquility that the property exudes and before you know it our guests can truly relax and get away from it all. The staff is our greatest asset. We are happy that the unit and ammenties met your expectations and we aplogize for the WIFI. Tell your friends about us and we hope to have you as our guest again in the future.

Aloha nui loa,

Kathy Kaai, Assistant Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here this time on our trip here to the big island and loved it. Everything and everyone is so laid back. The staff are super friendly and we wanted for nothing......except more time here on the island. We loved it more the second time around and my husband, the reluctant traveller is planning our trip here next year! ✈️✈️❤️❤️

Room Tip: If we had known we would have tried to choose an upper room ocean side to try for a better view. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Candi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Manager at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of Mauna Loa Village. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and loved the laid back lifestyle here in the islands. Mauna Loa Village does have that effect on a lot of our guests to just relax and get away from it all. We hope to see you again next year and would love to have you as one of our returning guests.

Best regards,

Kathy Kaai
Assistant Resort Manager
kathy.kaai@!wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great location and very comfortable. We had a full kitchen and parking. Affordable and clean. We were very close to everything and we felt extremely safe. Great place to stay in the Big Island! I highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariselnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Manager at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your review of Mauna Loa Village. We appreciated your comments. We are happy that the condo met your needs and we hope to have you as a guest again very soon.

Mahalo,

Kathy Kaai
Assistant Resort Manager
Mauna Loa Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

My love and I stayed for one week and we have nothing but praise for this place. We had a one bedroom unit, with a great living room and fully equipped kitchen. Each time we used the pool we had it to ourselves and the pool was clean and the spa hot enough. Mind you, there are several pools on the complex and the one across from the office needs refurbishing and the spa needs attention. But the one we found was perfect.

We loved the location because we were not tied to a choice of resort restaurants but were able to try small local eateries---a couple of them south of the Mauna Loa.

The staff was particularly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bribear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy K, Assistant Resort Manager at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Mahalo for your great review of Mauna Loa Village. We are pleased that the unit met your expectations. We are currently working with the Association management with regards to refurbishing the pools and spas that need attention however we are happy that you were able to find one of the seven pools on property that did meet your expectations and ended up being your own private pool. We hope that you had a memorable vacation experience and we look forward to having you as a guest at Mauna Loa Village again soon.

Kathy Kaai
Assistant Resort Manager
kathy.kaai@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
6.2 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Mauna Loa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Mauna Loa Village

Property: Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Address: 78-7190 Kaleiopapa St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Mauna Loa Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Mauna Loa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Wyndham Hotel Kailua Kona
Mauna Loa Village Sea
Kailua-Kona Wyndham
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing