We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelieveable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buffalo, NY
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Unbelieveable!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The pictures on TripAdvisor do not lie. This is truly paradise at a reasonable price.
Upon arrival and check-in, we were shown where to park our car as vehicles are not allowed beyin a certain point. We were met at the parking garage by staff in a golf cart. He unloaded our trunk and drove us to our unit where he unloaded the cart and brought our luggage inside.
To say we were shocked would be an understatement. We entered to find 2 bedrooms each with their own full bathrooms downstairs. We were then taken upstairs to find a large fully stocked with equipment kitchen, a living room, dining area and an outdoor balcony...also another bathroom upstairs. Everything you could ever need was supplied with the exception of food. It was beautiful, clean and spacious. We absolutely loved staying there and are planning a return trip when we can stay for a longer time. If you like to snorkel, great local beach just down the street with the most beautiful I have ever seen. Close enough to drive...about 10 minutes...but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy part of town. Almost forgot, the unit has its own washer and dryer in the closet downstairs between the bedrooms...very convenient!

Room Tip: Although farther away from the parking garage, we liked the units towards the rear of the complex fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    105
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
93
98
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innisfail, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here on our first trip to Hawaii. Got a great deal from Groupon. Unfortunately, it's part of a timeshare company and to get the deal card you have to spend a few hours being brutalized by their sales people. "Know your customer", is all I have to say.

The concierge is a pretty friendly sort, Howard, I think was his name. He definitely does his job well.

The resort is quite nice with a bunch of different pools surrounded by townhouse accommodations. Very comfortable if a little dated. The location is okay but you will definitely need a rental car. Also, if the concierge orders you a shuttle for the airport, it has already been paid for so don't double pay like we did.

While not the nicest resort, or the most conveniently located, it's perfectly acceptable and isn't the worst place to spend your first week in Hawaii. Just make sure to get that rental car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TotallyMyRealName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The property is very well kept. Rooms are spacious. Living area is huge. The entire property is tranquil and quiet. However, the walkways to the individual units requires much better lighting. I almost tripped on the walkway one evening because I could not see the edge of the walkway to the lawn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, WA
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Overall good one bedroom on ground floor, apparently 2 bedrooms above. Flat screen TV. Pay internet. Enjoyed watching birds out deck. Kitchen counter space was a bit small. As others had mentioned had to walk a bit to parking garage. One irritant was they did not seen to police the limited parking at checkin. A number of vehicles parked there all the time and sometimes people checking in had no place to park. We did arrange several activities thru the expedia person Paige. She was great to work with. One other irritant was some loud humming noise outside our bedroom wall, we should have inquired at desk earlier.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback. We appreciate the information regarding parking and we apologize for the noise encounters you had. We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with this noise. We are always looking for ways to improve and your feedback will help us to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our second stay at Mauna Loa, and it was just as nice as the first. At home we live in a very quiet spot, so we often have trouble when we travel because no place is as quiet as home. But the Mauna Loa is perfectly situated in a quiet area, but convenient to the water, shopping and restaurants. You couldn't ask for nicer people to make your visit perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for providing this great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the resort location and convenience. We hope you come back to visit for another relaxing vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grants pass
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for 9 days through Trading Places and it was very nice. We had an upstairs 2 bedroom that was one that was not yet remodeled (kind of golden girls decor) but it was very clean, very big, and all on one level. Everything was well maintained. The pool right near us had a crack in it so it was under construction but there was no noise and it was a very short walk to the next pool area. My only complaints were that the master bath lighting was dim and the screen door didn't really slide, the parking is not right outside your door and i prefer more hangers in the closets. 1st world problems, I didn't mention it to them but i'm sure if I had they would've been right on it. The remote control air conditioning in each room was really convenient, the beds soo comfortable, the plumeria blooming along the walkways scented your entry & exits.The stacking washer & dryer was in a little closet in the living room but was not too noisy and was very convenient. The way this place really shines is the staff. The lady at the front desk went way above and beyond for us and everyone was so acomodating and friendly. It's about a 20 minuite drive into Kona so you need a rental car to get to the beaches, restaurants and shopping but the Sheraton is within walking distance. Longs drugstore and a good grocery is just a short drive away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jody p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Jody,

Thank you for providing this feedback including some area activities for future guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you providing the information regarding maintenance issues you encountered with your unit as we are always looking for ways to improve. It’s great to hear you were fully assisted with any needs by our friendly staff. We hope you come back to visit for another great vacation experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This has not changed, still lovely apartments in beautiful gardens. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment (7-48) which was spacious and well maintained. Pools and spas were never busy, regularly checked and we really enjoyed a night time swim in the warm pool. Well situated for trips to the volcano and the mountain. Supermarket close by.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
6.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
6.2 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
5.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,857 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Mauna Loa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Mauna Loa Village

Property: Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Address: 78-7190 Kaleiopapa St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Mauna Loa Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Mauna Loa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Wyndham Hotel Kailua Kona
Mauna Loa Village Sea
Kailua-Kona Wyndham
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing