We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Mauna Loa Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This a nice older property. Very clean.Quiet location at the south end of town. Apparently some of the units have been refurbished. Ours was not. No major proplems. One small problem with the shared BBQ which was promptly fixed.
Only complaint was that WiFi had to be purchased at a cost of $8.95/day.
A bit of an odd room setup as the two bedrooms were on the main floor and the kitchen and living room were on the second floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    100
    16
    12
    5
See reviews for
89
93
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a great week-long stay. The location is close to Kailua Kona but just far enough away so you don't have any traffic or noise. The rooms were nice. Our condo was split level with bedrooms on the first floor and the living, dining room and kitchen upstairs, PLENTY of room. During our stay the resprt was going thru the rooms and updating them with new carpet, furnishings, etc. Unfortunately we didn't get a "new" room. However, it didn't seem to matter since the rooms were still nice. The staff was friendly and helpful, even providing directions and information on local events and places.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed 1 week at Mauna Loa Village after trading in through RCI. Worst resort we have been in, in the 6 resorts we have stayed in on the Big Island. Right from the minute we checked in we find out they charge for wifi, $7.50/day or $30/week... for each device! Also $.50 per LOCAL phone call! Had to pay for extra laundry and dish washer detergent and wash our own towels as there was no towel exchange provided. Never had to pay extra for those things before. 1st night there had to kill a giant spider that was at least 4 inches in diamiter. 2nd night had to kill a huge cockroach that was about 2 inches long on the bathroom counter! Do they not have pest control there! The Concierge, (Howard) has the worst attitude we have ever had to deal with. He should not be in a position that is to help people have a better vacation, because he sucks at it! His last comment to us after we had stated we would not be coming back was " well then don't come back"! Another person at a previous resort warned us of him, and they were right. We could not wait to get out of there. Spent a 2nd week at a different resort in Waikoloa which was 5 star all the way. The only good thing I have to say about Mauna Loa Village is the grounds are nice and the units are spacious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I've wanted to write this review last year in Jan, 2012, but never got around to it. Wyndham Mauna Loa is an excellant place to stay. Nice, clean rooms and the staff is just the best! They treated us like family and would have done anything to help us out. It's been a year ago since we've been there and Joclyn and Howard still stick in my mind, they are absolutely the greatest people to work with. Joclyn is just the happiest most helpful sweetheart there. The whole staff is very nice but those 2 are amazing!! I hope to go back there soon sometime and would stay again if possible. Most places charge for the cleaning lady, etc.. they didn't, and our room was cleaned everyday and they tried to accomodate us in whatever we needed. No pressure on the timeshares, and help whenever you needed it. Wonderful place and the best staff in the world! I loved it there! Thank you so much for making our stay so beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bvb2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I finally got Hawaii off our bucket list and stayed here with one of our weeks. The units here are spacious and most pleasant as most of the wyndham properties are. This was like a home away from home, we had everything one could ask for. You must come here!!

Room Tip: 1 Bedroom unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
123 Thank 226RogerM226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Checked in for a week here. Great single level two bedroom condo on ground floor. 8 pools to use and they also have tennis courts. Very close to the upscale Sheraton Hotel. Great staff and best of all no timeshare presentation.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Ray425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I arrived at this Big Island Resort a day late after being stranded overnight due to airline maintenance issues. Our unit was ready and waiting for us when we finally arrived. We were assigned unit 41, which is an upper condo very near the registration building. A small, gated, pool and spa were located behind our building. We found two gas grills with adjacent dining tables within a short walk. The parking lot, which included open and covered parking, was a reasonable walk from our unit. The resort grounds are nicely landscaped which added to the tropical ambience.

The morning after our arrival we attended a helpful orientation meeting and subsequently booked a couple tours with the resort concierge. Throughout our stay all of the staff members that we encountered went above and beyond what could be expected and seemed genuinely interested in us and anxious to see that we had a great vacation.

Our unit was well maintained and pleasantly furnished and decorated. The kitchen was compact as far as floorspace was concerned but had plenty of cabinets and counter space and was extremely well equipped. The bedroom was large and the bed was comfortable.

Mauna Loa Village was a very nice base of operations for the week. We enjoyed the proximity to the Sheraton next door and walked there a couple times for Manta Ray viewing and the Farmer’s Market.

We didn’t see many resort activities available but there is plenty to do in the area, so resort activities are not an important component of a Hawaiian vacation. I would be more than happy to return to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kay7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
6.2 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Mauna Loa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Mauna Loa Village

Property: Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Address: 78-7190 Kaleiopapa St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Mauna Loa Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Mauna Loa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Wyndham Hotel Kailua Kona
Mauna Loa Village Sea
Kailua-Kona Wyndham
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing