We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a view”
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kona Reef Resort
Reviewed January 18, 2007

kona reef is great the unit was on the 3rd floor overlooking the ocean we were lulled to sleep every night by the sounds of the waves altho it isn't brand new i would not go to a bigger resort over this one the place was clean the staff very friendly and helpful, you can walk to town within minutes , and the turtles and dolphins we seen almost daily was a bonus thank you kona reef

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rosrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 570 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2006

If you are looking for a 3 bedroom condo in Kona, I stayed in a jewel. On the south end of Kailua's main drag, this condo sits far enoughto be away from the noise and crowds, but a close walk to all the shopping and dining. We booked a re-modeled unit (D-22) and I cant say enough what a great job the owners did. The unit is on the 3rd floor on a corner right on the ocean and next to the pool The view from the xl lanai is awesome. The sunsets from this vantage point are what postcards are meant for. The decor was all new as well as all the appliances. All the cooking supplies, swim toys, books, guides and such were there waiting! The pool was great for swims or late night dips in the hot tub. The grills at the pool were spotless and cleaned every morning. Nothing beats grilling a steak with the surf next to you! You get the sound of surf from all the rooms. You fall asleep and wake up to the ocean crashing. There is no area to swim in the ocean out front, but there are some great tidepools to explore full of urchins, fish and crabs. Lots of local flavor watching surfers and fishermen from your lanai.
This is a great place to launch site seeing to the volcanoes, coffee farms and to the North Coast. Really close to the main stores to stock up (Costco, Safeway, Longs).
Great place to go is the Kona Brewing Company. The food is good and the tour is free! Plus you get to sample some fresh micro brews afterwards.
I would stay here again as long as it was D-22!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank outof714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2006

My wife and I stayed in unit D3 at the Kona Reef in late September 2006, and we both recommend our specific unit and the resort itself, with some caveats.

PROS: The location of the Kona Reef is awesome! It’s the best of both worlds – just outside the downtown area so you avoid the worst of the noise and shady characters (I don’t mean to scare anyone; we found them rare and non-threatening but there are a few), but close enough to be a very quick and easy walk. In fact, I would say no other Kona-area resort has a location that’s as desirable.

Spend the extra few bucks and get yourself an oceanfront condo. You’ll be glad you did! The view was great – we were literally 50 feet from the water. Plus you’ll be further from the relatively busy Alii Drive, which is the main drag through Kona.

The pool area at Kona Reef is surprisingly nice. It was clean and near-empty day or night. During the day it was easy to get a lounge chair in the sun and at night the hot tub was, well, hot. There are four very nice gas BBQ grills by the pool as well as a sink in the cookout area.

D3, our unit, came well-equipped with beach towels, a cooler, flashlights, binoculars, a dog-eared copy of “The Big Island Revealed” (which should be required reading), DVD/VCR, etc. Be sure to take the binoculars and flashlights with you on your trip to the volcano (we recommend getting to the volcano park early in the afternoon to see the inland sights before driving down the Chain of Craters Road just before sunset; from most vantage points you can’t see the lava flowing until dark). Oh, and we got wireless Internet inside our unit.

CONS: Try and research which unit you’re reserving because some are much nicer than others. Ideally, you’ll want a unit above the ground floor. The 1BR, 1BAs are big enough for two people, but squeezing in more may make them too cozy (and extra bedding was lacking). The 1BR layouts aren’t great – the bedrooms border the outside corridors and that makes for a bunch of problems. First, the BR gets hot and stuffy because it’s on the opposite side of the condo from the wall AC. Second, the BR can be noisy depending upon who’s outside – the walls are thin and the corridors are high traffic.

Don’t expect luxury. Our unit was functional but hardly fancy, and we got the sense it was nicer than many. The bathroom needed an upgrade, the AC unit dripped water inside the condo (though it did work), the kitchen has the bare necessities but little more and the lanai sliding door didn’t slide so well.

Overall, though, we’d stay there again; it was nice enough and the location is simply superb. In addition to the typical Big Island sights, try to see the green sand beach. Be warned, though: It’s a taxing hike. Take water, don’t wear sandals, be relatively fit and allot a lot of time. It’s about a 2.25-mile walk each way, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank scribeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

Excellent location at the south end of Kailua-Kona. Walking distance to many restaurants. Beautiful ocean frontage. Condo design is perfect for families. Nice BBQ area. Highly recommend Lava Java for any meal (super early breakfasts!) and great coffee. Wonderful fresh food at reasonable prices and ocean view. Huggo's on the Rocks has great music, right on the beach (under your feet!).

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn & Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

We stayed during the week of August 20, 2006. The condo was very nice. We had an oceanview room which made you feel like you could reach out and touch the ocean. We met some very nice tourists and permenant residents. One couple tipped us off to putting tunafish in the tidepools to feed the eels. This was such a treat for my kids that we did it every morning. The condo was clean, freshly painted with new carpet. The unit could use a little updating, seemed stuck in the 1980's world of 1980's bambo and rattan furniture, but it was nice and clean and very livable. The location was good, not too close to the center of town, but not too far away either. Spent most days at the beach next to the Outrigger, Keauhou and enjoyed swimming with the turtles and tropical fish. As southern Californians, we were a little taken aback by the rocky sands and shoreline, but grew to love and appreciate their unique beauty. We also spent time at the Hapuna Beach up north, which was much more like Southern California beaches.

We can hardly wait to go back to the Big Island. It's much more like old Hawaiiana than Oahu, which is very commercialized. We were pleased not see any high-risers or malls on every corner. I would stay at the Kona Reef again in a heartbeat, but probably request a more updated unit.

P.S. also enjoyed a great Luau at the Royal Kona Resort and a great sunset meal at Don the Beachcomber, also at RKR.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wantabeworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kansas City, KS
16
Reviewed June 26, 2006

We visited the big island for 8 days with my husband and my 2 sons. We stayed at Kona Reef unit F-13 for the whole time. The condo was very clean with all new appliances. It had 2 sofa beds and a queen bed at the bedroom so it could sleep 6 people but it was advertied for 4. It had spectacular views of the ocean, surf boarders, cruise ships. What I fell in love with was: The sunset by the pool area. Every evening by the sunset time lots of people would gather by the ocean front area (south side of the resort) and wait for sunset to take pictures. Resort's location is by walking distance to shops and resturants in Kona town. During our stay, their pool was getting resurfaced and we were bothered by construction noise early mornings for 2-3 days, but it was tolerable. We did not stay in the condo much during those days. The other thing that bothered me a little bit was the fact that the AC was located in the living room and we had to keep the bedroom door open to benefit from the AC. One night we decided to keep the windows open but the traffic noise in Alii drive was terrible. my recommendation for visitors of this resort, is to rent a ocean front condo in the south wing of the resort away from Alii drive. Ocean view or garden view condos are not as nice as the ocean front ones. Overall we did have a very good experience. Visited lots of waterfalls (Akaka Falls is the best), volcano, Hilton hotel (visiting this hotel is a must), Hapuna beach, and the hula dance (free in the nearby shopping center every Friday evening at 6 pm). If you want to stay in this resort, contact the owners directly and rent the condo from them. We did not do this and arranged our trip through orbitz and rented the condo from the castle hotels. This way we paid a little more than renting directly from the owner.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

We stayed in a 2 bdrm oceanfront unit - D8. It was wonderful, kitchen was fully equipped with every gadget you could want. The ocean was only a few feet in front of us and what fun watching surfers while you dine. Not for beach lovers as it was very rocky out front but if you are like me I love watching the waves crash on the rocks and sand in my bathing suit is not my idea of fun. Only airconditioner is in the living room but both bdrms had ceiling fans and they pulled the cool air back quickly. The baths could use some updating but they were clean and supplies were plentiful and towels replaced daily. Due to the small size of the baths they should take the hard glass doors off and put a shower cutain up as getting in/out was a little tricky, also grabs bars would make it alot easier for the handicap and elderly. I would have no qualms about a return visit to this property.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carouseltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,939 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
828 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $167 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing