We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location on Coast listen to the surf!”
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kona Reef Resort
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We had a great week's stay here in the middle of January.
We stayed in a ground level 1 bedroom 1 bathroom condo. It had all the normal amenties of a vacation condo, washer/dryer, full kitchen. The small lanai looked out at the pool area. We had to go out and around one more unit to access the pool area and great barbecue area. The unit was very clean. The bathroom showed wear but was clean. The bedroom was short on electrical outlets and some might have been overloaded. As other reviewers have said there is only a small air conditioning unit in the living room, but ceiling fans and windows allowed for enough air flow. Two complaints would be that the bedrooms are on the courtyard side and people walking by talking sound like they are in the room and secondly I would have preferred a chair in the living room, there was only a futon/couch. It was comfortable enough but I prefer a chair. I don't think I would have like to share it with another couple even though it was rated for four. It would be small and close quarters. For one couple it was just right.

We really enjoyed our stay and it was within walking distance to much of the Kona business district.
Lastly the unexpected extra was the covered garage parking. We had a convertible and left the top down every night with no fears. The people we encountered were real friendly, employees and guest/owners, all. I'm sure there are differences in units but we had a wonderful unit and time.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RR1451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 569 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2009

The Downside~ The outside of the building is not very nice. The doors have those metal cage doors as a screen door. You know, the ones you see in movies in really bad neighborhoods! The bed was HORRIBLE! I can't stress that enough. We only stayed there 4 nights and it was the worst 4 semi-sleeps we've ever had. The bed is very hard. The windows in the bedroom were just louvers and a screen, so in the morning, we were woken up around 6am by people talking outside or doors slamming. The kitchen had barely any good utensils for cooking with. The can opener was from the 1970's and was so badly rusted, it would barely turn. The dishes were dirty in the cubboards so I had to rewash everything I was going to use. The air conditioner was a wall unit in the living room so we were hot all night because the bedroom was at the opposite end of the condo, and we would freeze in the morning coming out of the bedroom.

The Upside~ The maids came everyday to make our bed and give new towels. The condo had a nice layout and was nicely furnished. The view was incredible. Being on he ground floor, we could walk right up to the water out front, however, you can't swim there because the rock is sooo bad....but that's most of Kona for ya! Sunsets were amazing to watch from the lanai. There was also a washer and dryer in the unit. The pool area was great, 4 grills, a hottub, and a nice pool overlooking the water.

All in all, it was a nice place but for $213/night, I was expecting alot more, at least a comfortable bed. I would not stay there again for that price.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank drinkingkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We just returned from our second stay at the Kona Reef through Raintree. Nothing has changed, which is both good and bad. We really like the location of this property. It is very easy to walk to town. We sat on the lawn chairs every morning and watched the whales and dolphins, that was wonderful. The grills are also really nice to prepare dinner. There are some negatives however. The cleanliness of the unit (both times) was very mediocre. Floors had not been swept well, with old dirt and hair in the corners and under the cabinets (gross). Also there was splashed-on old messes from previous tenants on the fridge and cabinets that had not been washed off in who knows how long, but on the positive side, the staff was very helpful and willing to please. Towels were provided daily which is a nice change from the last time we stayed here. The grounds are very nice and maintained daily. Plenty of chairs around the pool and on the lawn. So overall, this place is Ok, but they really need to improve on the housekeeping.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cookeedoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

I had done a lot of research about the area and the property before our trip...I had failed to actually read the review about the condo we reserved!
I will not go into detail about until A1 because I'd be here all night. Let's just say if you like concrete flooring, cardboard beds, and having to buy everything you'd expect to have in a condo at Walmart, then please chose another unit when booking at this property. We did get lucky with a coffee maker though and being able to sit on the lanai in the mornings was the happiest part of being at the condo.

We had family in unit A037 and it was beautiful. Met some people in the spa who had units A5, A21, they had no complaints.

Definitely do not stay in a unit that does not come recommended or that you haven't read good reviews about. Since the condo's are individually owned, you never know what some people's idea of 'nice' is.

The property is ideally located within walking distance to town...although be careful walking on that dark road at night.
The spa/pool area is nice and extremely clean. You can see turtles out on the reef right in front of your unit...The beach is not ideal for swimming because it is very rocky and black crabs like to roam around.

Overall the property is well kept and there is plenty of parking. My rating of two stars is mostly based on our condo A1. I am sure you wouldn't have a problem with any units that actually have good reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CaliGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

Stayed here 4 nights - 2nd floor ocean front room
Pretty good location with wonderful views of ocean and crashing waves occupied by surfers most of the time.

Reasonably comfortable with plenty of space for 2 - disappointing the bed was just a normal queen size (just used to so much bigger in the US)

Accommodation looking quite tired now and needs revamping with paint and furnishings

Nice spot for exploring West Coast of Big Island

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brummie_Traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

We stayed here in a one bedroom for 3 nights. I’d booked a Garden View, but the unit still had a great ocean view of the waves crashing on the shore, so I’m glad I didn’t spend the extra money on an ocean view unit. I can't remember which unit we stayed but we were just above the ground floor.

We booked through Castle Resorts, which has maid service and you don’t have to clean the unit. They even do the dishes at the end of your stay. The unit wasn’t fancy but it was clean and there were no bugs. The parking was free and we always found a space.
There is pool and jacuzzi and bbqs (area open 8am - 10 pm)


The only issue I had with this place is that all the lanais, except the ocean front ones, face each other which limits privacy.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank scratchmyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We stayed in room E 37 From Nov 14 to 22nd. The location of the hotel wasn't too bad, it had a washer and dryer which helped, and basics like salt/pepper, diswashing soap, etc. etc. were there so we didn't have to go out and buy them. Unfortunately that is where the good ended. We complained 3 times to the office about a dead fish smell coming from the garborator and sliding glass doors which were broken and wouldn't lock (we slept and went out every day with our room unlocked because of this). Nothing was ever done to help us out. The cleaning service was terrible. Our bed was made once in the 8 days we were there, the towels were only changed once after begging the maid for new ones, the floors we never swept , mopped or vacuumed and the old style key system to the room and pool were very inconvienent. The olny saving grace was this place is in Hawaii and it's virtually impossible to be unhappy in Hawaii.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dutchy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,912 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.7 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#10 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $157 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing