We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and location.”
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kona Reef Resort
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were in building B. it was still a beautiful view. Accesses to a beach right next store. Walk away from and shops down town which us so great way to see the place and ocean restaurants.
Pool was great and never crowded.
Traffic is a little rough at times but it's Hawaii and it to be expected. The island is crowded and travel is thick.
There's a great snorkel beach 3 miles up road and everything is von kent if you don't want to get a car. The resort office helps you with all trips too if you want to do several excursions like we did.
Don't mix anything get up early and go explore.
Everyone told us food was expensive but we found lots of shops that were just as reasonable as our shops in North Dakota.

Room Tip: B22 was great with a view bad beach watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desiree J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 569 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was the first of 6 different places we stayed across the Big Island and Maui, and probably our least favorite. The biggest reason was that the bed in the unit was so uncomfortable that I woke up every morning with a back ache. We stayed in A24, and there were numerous complaints in the guest book in the condo over the past few YEARS about this bed. It sags in the middle and is just awful. Nothing has been done and it was a disappointment. If that were my book, I would hide it in shame!

The kitchen was fine and reasonably well equipped. The wi-fi and the A/C worked well. I flipped over the torn cushions on the couch so the tears didn't show anymore - it is a bit dated and worn looking, but it seemed OK. If you're looking for something fancy, this probably isn't the place for you.

The view from the lanai is spectacular. The location is great if you're trying to be close to town/shopping/restaurants.

I wondered a bit about safety in this area, since there is an abandoned building across the street, and numerous times I saw police and security guards patrolling the beach in front of the condos. I wasn't sure if I should feel reassured or alarmed by that. The surf was high when we were there and there's lots of rocks in front of the condo units - this is not a place you would typically swim, although there are swimming spots nearby.

The workers in the office were incredibly helpful and friendly - I enjoyed chatting with them and had great service and help. I just wish the unit had been kept up better. Once we had seen other condos in other places, I realized how shabby the unit was in comparison for the price.

Room Tip: A24 is not the unit you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Aloha Elizabeth,

Thank you for your review. Your comments are very important to us. We've recently had the sofa cushions reupholstered as it is not acceptable to have torn cushions. I will also be sharing your review with our owner of A24 who will be arriving and staying in the unit this month. They do plan on making improvements to the one bedroom ocean front condo to be in line with our company standards. It is nice to here that you enjoyed talking to our staff who were helpful and friendly :) We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you return to the Big Island.

Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in condo C-13. We booked through VBRO directly through the owners of this condo instead of going through a management company who run several of the other units (have heard a lot of problems with these companies). When we were able to access our condo, we were very happy to see that it had been updated. The owners even had a small photo album showing pictures of how they gutted they condo and did some renovations. It is a small, one bedroom condo, but the balcony looks out over the pool and ocean and has amazing views of the sunset each night. It also allows for some great people-watching if you are ok with pool noise during the day (we had no problem with this).

I recommend the condo to anyone wanting to stay at Kona Reef, as it is a relaxing place to lay your head and the breeze off the ocean meant we never had to run the air conditioner. My only issue with the condo was that the bedroom had slat windows (which aren't even real windows) and so we could hear a lot of the noise out in the hallway. A real window that keeps noise out would be perfect.

As for the actual location, Kona Reef is a perfect spot on Ali'i Drive to be able to easily walk to restaurants and shops. We walked every day to the farmer's market or to get breakfast, as the walk was wonderful. You are surrounded by restaurants such as Huggo's, Lava Java, Bongo Ben's, and Don's. And the retail shopping is great (just watch out for a lot of "Made in China" artifacts).

The pool isn't big, but it was never full and we always had room to swim and relax. The beach chairs also were never full and could always find a place to sit in the sun. During parts of the day, there is no shade at the pool unless you get one of the tables with an umbrella.

My only issue with the pool is that a lot of the guests let the pool gates slam shut (you can only get into and out of the pool by using your key to keep unregistered guests out) and we could hear that in our condo quite often, which would sometimes wake up our baby. If there was a way for the condo association to fix it so the doors still closed without such noise, it would be great.

We barbequed as a family one night in the barbequing area, not realizing that we couldn't take glass down to the pool (there are signs - we just didn't see them). The security guy was a little stern when he saw us and rambled on about how he could fine us, so that was a bit of a turnoff for something that was an honest mistake. I understand the importance of keeping broken glass away from the pool, but he could have at least smiled.

Parking was sufficient - we always had a spot. It would be better if the elevator actually went to each floor. We had a stroller and would have to carry it up and down stairs because the elevator was set up in an odd fashion and would take you to the second floor, but then you'd still have to go up or down stairs.

I was hoping that there would be a fitness centre attached to the resort, but no such luck.

We will stay at this resort again and definitely in the same condo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dare-To-Share
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Came here with husband and daughter (1/11-1/18) through our timeshare. Stayed in a first floor, ocean-front unit (3A). Overall, we had a really good time and our unit was in very good condition.

Pros:
Like everyone said, walking distance to lots of great restaurants (Lava Java, Jackie Rey's, Huggo's, Umeke's and Lemongrass... to name a few).
Our unit was very updated and fully-equipped with everything we needed, (not 5-star, but we were all pleasantly surprised).
Staff at the Raintree office was very nice and helpful. Special thanks to Katharina and the young gentleman with glasses (didn't get his name).
Pool and grounds were well-kept.
Location of the property is spot on, ocean-front and convenient to everywhere (Highway 11, shops, restaurants and markets).
View off our patio was fantastic! However, if it was on the upper floor, it would be more private.

Cons:
Returning to Kona Reef late one night (around 11 pm), we couldn't find any parking. We ended up parking across the street, but felt uneasy. So, the lack of parking is a slight issue.
The mattress on our sofa sleeper was very "springy" and uncomfortable. However, we were told the bedding is in the process of getting replaced, so I think it should not be an issue in the near future.
The pool was usually very clean, but one day (1/17), it had what appears to be vomit in a corner of it and it was not cleaned up.

All in all, the pros outweigh the cons by a lot. We would definitely return to this property in the future!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor units in buildings C and E (?). I think these are the rooms where quite a few of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gccc116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

#23C.
We stayed here May/June of 2013 and had a great time as always. This has been our 4th visit to Kona, staying at his condo every time. Great condo, furniture nice, beautiful view, but the MAJOR downside is that we have to ask him every time for our $200.00 damage deposit back. This time after repeated emails, we have never received it even though he said he would look into what happened to the check. No damage to his place and always cleaned it up, do laundry before we leave, sheets, towels even.
Unfortunately, will not stay at his condo anymore and will look elsewhere.
Kevin and Ronni

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank ronnijenni2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Due to unfortunate flight delays, I didn't arrive in Kona until 2:00 AM. I called the hotel from San Francisco to let them know I would be late, and the staff were very accommodating. I was left a key in a "lock box" outside my room, and was able to take care of all paperwork the next day.
The facilitiy itself is very nice - pool area is great, and underground parking was appreciated.
Each room is a privately owned condominium that is rented out as a hotel when the owners are away. This of course means that each unit is decorated and maintained (to an extent) slightly differently. My room was very nice, perhaps not my personal choice of decor, but certainly very clean and well kept.
There is a small beach just a hundred feet from the property, so while most of Kona "oceanfront" is very rocky, there is a nice sandy spot to sit and enjoy the surf.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had read some reviews the week before our check-in date that were less than positive, so had us worried that we had booked a less than expected place. Once we found the office, check in was easy, the unit B7 was spacious for us, and we enjoyed our stay. Morning strolls, daily adventures etc.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cpb9294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for the positive review. We hope to see you again. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us through Castle Resorts & Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,915 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.7 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $157 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing