We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“two week in unit a36”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kona Reef Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“two week in unit a36”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

the second year we've stayed at the reef , this year in a36 . the unit seemed a little small but really wasn't a problem until we had to move all the lanai furniture inside due to hurricane Flossie then it got crowded . the unit certainly is well equipped with anything you would need for the beach , cooler , chairs , boogie board , mask , snorkel , etc. have to give the owners credit for being interested if we had any problems with the unit . the unit is on the top floor with great views although almost as far as you can get from parking but wasn't too big of a deal . the unit is in fairly good shape considering the age of the building , way better than the one we stayed in last year . as has been mentioned many times , the reef is well located , easy walking to town with several places to stop for a Mai tai on the way . the few problems we had were delt with by the office and resolved . too bad some thing can't be done with the building or beginning of a building next door to the reef . a real eye sore and makes the area kind of dumpy not to mention its a graffiti magnet .

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    196
    81
    35
    31
See reviews for
146
296
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked a condo directly through Kona Reef and received a wonderful condo. While the description stated that it was a garden view, we had an unexpected view of the ocean as well. We were able to walk out on our lanai and directly to the beach with the beautiful sunsets. Friendly staff, clean condo stocked with all the basics needed, great parking and condo close to parking. Will definitely choose to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbradley1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 8 days during a family vacation (kids and grandkids were at another complex down the street). The condo (find it on vrbo 80343) was exactly as advertised and had everything we needed. Although the air conditioner was in the front living room, it kept the bedroom wonderfully comfortable, even in July! Internet access and telephone (even long-distance back to the mainland US) were free. We loved the lanai, where we could watch boarders, surfers, even a school of spinner dolphins while enjoying our morning coffee or evening drinks. Turtles sunned right on the beach below; we went down and took many pictures from just a couple of feet away. This condo is located on the top floor, and the view alone is worth staying at this condo. There is a small sandy beach located right next door with picnic tables. The Kona Reef complex is smaller than many but that makes it very private and quiet. It is pretty and well maintained, with elevators, and security guards. There is a beautiful pool/BBQ area with several grills and tables. Unfortunately, we were not able to enjoy the grills and pool during our stay. It would have been wonderful to eat dinner there while watching the ocean waves breaking on the shore. The owners (Helen and Ray) were extremely helpful and accommodating with all our questions and needs, and even provided our first package of Kona coffee and a box of mac-nut chocolates. There were also beach umbrellas, chairs, and a small cooler that we were very happy to use, and the washer and dryer came in quite handy. We preferred to use the complex parking garage(no charge) rather than the outdoor parking lot, and never had a problem finding a space. We always felt very safe here, and there was a security guard on duty at night. Kona Reef complex is only a block or two from downtown Kona's restaurants and shops. We recommend Humpy's, Java Lava, Fishhopper, and Lulu's. Don't miss the Kona Cozy magic/comedy shop right next to Lulu's. It is amazing and very funny.

Room Tip: There appear to be many condos available for rent by owners at Kona Reef. Get an upper floor facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WRBoiseTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This place was comfortable but a bit dated. The staff was a bit stingy with amenities like Kleenex and bath tissue. Also they won't let you exchange your pool towels for clean ones. They charge you $10 for that. You have to wash your towels in your in-room washer and dryer. There is pretty good security but we heard loud outbursts from drunk guests returning almost nightly. The ocean view balconies are nice. Outdoor furniture is plastic. We stayed in a one bedroom condo. Kids stayed on the pull-out sofa bed. One bathroom was not adjoined to the small bedroom. No AC in the bedroom, only in the living area. It was a bit hot. The pool is small. There is no bar or restaurant on site.

Room Tip: I would get a two bedroom, 2 bath unit if I stayed here again. It was a bit cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBAmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Easy to find and good staff. On our arrival they give us a room right on the main street... Too noisy ( we had a problem similar on another spot on this island and could'nt go for that again ) The manager was very comprehensive and really help us in finding an almost perfect room.

Clean and roomy facing the pool on the second level.. we had an ocean view and we could not ask for more.

Close enough to main spot on city, we walk there every night for our diner...

The condo are well equipped and it really fit our need

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iogima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were booked at the Worldmark resort and suddenly needed additional accommodations. We were able to reserve a 1 bedroom at Kona Reef. It was very pleasant and right beside the ocean. There are limited sandy beaches in this area, but the lava beach next to the resort was pleasant and had sea turtles each morning.

There were few amenities at this resort aside from the pool and what is inside each condo unit. But it was very comfortable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Live-Love-Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for 8 days. The condo was very nice and clean with a brand new kitchen. We had an amazing view of the ocean right in front of us. The staff is wonderful, both Brandon and Katerina at the front desk are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Location is perfect, walking distance to the town, shops, restaurants, farmers market, etc. The BBQ area is awesome, very clean the best I have seen for condo rentals. The pool area is nice. Highly recommend it to families with young children. We had an amazing experience and will return in a heart beat!

Room Tip: book through Raintree. We stayed in A tower and our room was nicely renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzarSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Property: Kona Reef Resort
Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing