We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be good, can be bad”
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kona Reef Resort
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Can be good, can be bad”
Reviewed June 6, 2008

Each unit is individually owned. So what you get all depends on which unit you stay in. Our first night was in 1A and it was pretty bad. There was no privacy and it was dirty. It is next to a little public beach and there are people walking by your unit 24 hours a day. The A/C was so rusty, I thought it was going to fall out of the wall. There is no central A/C. There were mice droppings in the dresser drawer.

The last 3 nights were in D8 and it was very nice. It was well maintained and furnished very nicely. Since it was not next to the little beach it was very nice, but still people walk thru in front of your lanai all the time.

The only way I would stay here again is if I was guaranteed an ocean front room on 2 floor or higher in Building A or D. I would not want to stay on the first floor again. There is no privacy and you certainly cannot leave your patio doors open at night to get a breeze and hear the ocean.

The management staff is very helpful. It is in easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. Bubba Gumps is a good place to eat.

  • Liked — ocean view
  • Disliked — units vary by owner
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockytoprb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    198
    83
    35
    33
See reviews for
147
304
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

This was our third time staying here. We stayed in unit D36. The unit was well maintained by the owner. Every night we went to sleep with the sound of the Pacific waves crashing on to the rocks below our room. Our mornings would start off by drinking a cup of coffee on the lani and watch the para sailors, and surfers enjoy the water.

This is a nice resort to go to and just relax.

  • Liked — Quiet, Friendly Staff, Close to town
  • Disliked — Sometimes First room given is not the best, staff will work with you to make you happy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank raiderphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Great value. Very clean rooms. Well stocked Kitchen utensils. Good location, right next to a small reef/park/beach. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location, Kitchen utility, cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabiztravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We booked here because we thought it best met our criteria;
- Price (we paid $125/n)
- atmosphere, we had a full view of a small beach and then the ocean 50 feet away). We could hear the waves day and night.
- location, easy walking distance to center of town
- accessibility, within 5 minutes on the major n/s roadway.
- amenities, decent pool, HOT jacuzzi and bbq
- furnishings, depending on condo owner. but we had everything we needed.
- it is an apartment, we like the kitchen and the option to sit on our balcony and watch the waves as we have breakfast.
- staff turned out to be helpful and very friendly

Advice;
- bring binoculars to see the whales passing up the coast, outside your window.
- be aware there is not a good swimming beach in the town vicinity. You have to drive 20+ minutes.
- we spent a good amount of time travelling back/forth to Hilo to see lava/volcano/Mauna Kea etc. It may have been better to book there for 2 or 3 nights.
- there is wifi available, but our experience with AWS was spotty. It may be best to try out the different suppliers for a day. Optimally, the condo owners will subscribe to a combined cable package that would allow tv/internet/phone.
- buy a good map of the Big Island only, when you get there. Other maps, such as AAA, are good for planning but not for the details.
- if you arrive at night and only have a lockbox combination, you better bring a flashlight!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No bathing beach
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We just spent a week in B23. It is on the south side, so it is ocean front on the side! It gets road noise from Ali'i Drive, but I would stay in it again.

The unit was clean, well maintained and well equipped.

The only thing I miss versus 20 trips to Kihei, Maui is 3-mile walks on the beach. Kailua-Kona - just doesn't have but a few, small beaches.

It is a 6 minute walk to live music at Huggo's on the Rock and another minute to the Hard Rock Cafe. You *don't* have to walk on busy Ali'i Drive. There is a narrow road from the side of the complex along the Royal Kona to where the sidewalk starts. It gets a little traffic, but it's slow since they are just parking.

  • Liked — Short walk to town
  • Disliked — Bedroom is near the stairs
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron_LFP_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2008

We went to Hawaii between christmas and new year's eve. Kona reef was overbooked and no one was there in office. We were send to Kona Makai hotel by security guard. This place was 2 miles farther away and there was no aid service so we had to do laundrt and all cleaning before checking out. No one was there to assist.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank aaachicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

FANTASTIC!!!!! We stayed in this condo late Oct. 2007 for a week and were sad to leave. The condo has EVERYTHING you could possibly need; spices, snorkeling gear, sunscreen, etc. The owners were great to work with and gave plenty of suggestions on things to do and see. It is a beautiful condo and the perfect location to watch the sunset, plus, surfers, spinner dolphins, and the daily arrival of cruise ships. And, it receives plenty of sun all day long. Downtown is easily within walking distance so no need to bother with parking. We absolutely loved this condo and would recommend it to anyone who is considering a stay in Kona. It is right on the water, and the sound of the waves all day long, is so relaxing. Don't pass up this condo, you won't be sorry.
If you go to Hawaii, get the book "Hawaii, the Big Island Revealed", it has tons of great tips on what to see.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Cavbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,823 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.3 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Property: Kona Reef Resort
Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Vacatia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing