We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful area.....Unit #B14/1 bedroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kona Reef Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Byron, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful area.....Unit #B14/1 bedroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My two friends and I stayed at the Kona Reef March 1st for three nights. The condo had a nice ocean view, and our lanai overlooked the park next door. Very clean. Nicely laid out, with washer and dryer. Garage parking for our unit. This unit was a little outdated as far as furniture, pictures...etc, but we had everything we needed. The mattress on the bed was older and wasn't as comfortable as we would have liked, but we were so tired each night we didn't have any problem sleeping. Window A/C, in living room and ceiling fan in the bedroom and living room. Very quiet complex. We walked right out of the garage to our floor, but did have to go down five steps to get to our unit, so if you are handicapped, you need to question if the unit they give you is handicapped accessible! The pool area was nice with grills that are provided for you to use and there is a grassy area across the back of the complex. No beach, all lava rocks. Beautiful! All in all....a pleasant visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanaByron_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    196
    81
    35
    31
See reviews for
146
296
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I can agree with a previous reviewer about the birds in the morning and the lack of A/C in the bedroom, but we enjoyed the place for our two day stay none the less. I slept on the futon in the living room and enjoyed nice A/C, and the wife likes it hot so win win!

The view was excellent and the place well furnished and quite pleasing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roachmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

As soon as we walked in we were greeted by a stunning view of the ocean. This condo is fully furnished, and I mean with everything, from wi-fi, cable, all appliances to dish detergent, zip lock bags, coffee filters and laundry soap. It is modern, quiet, and because of its location on the ocean, the breeze rushes through removing any need for using the a/c. At least in March, anyway. At night we would leave the door to the lanai open and the sound of the crashing surf would lull us to sleep. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever been in. In the morning we would have our coffee on the lanai, and watch not only the sea life, but numerous finches and other birds hanging out on the rafters, looking for crumbs. The location is so nice, that half the time I didn't even want to leave. To sit on the lanai in the evening, sipping a glass of wine, listening to the ocean's roar was like living in paradise. Everything was clean, comfortable and convenient. We booked through Kona Coast Vacations and couldn't have been more satisfied. If you google this unit and their website, you can see pictures of the decor and the view. We would definitely stay in this unit again.

Room Tip: If you can't get this unit, make sure you look at the pictures of the other units before making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xxxooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We recently spent a week in this lovely 2 bedroom/2 bath condo and we're extremely happy that we had selected this for our stay. The unit had recently been remodeled and the furnishings and artwork were wonderful and have a lovely tropical feel. It is a corner unit, with the lanai about 30 feet from the surf crashing on the lava rocks. The view is wonderful, the sound of the surf crashing is very relaxing and soothing. It is close enough to Kona town to walk into town for dinner, but far enough to be out of the tourist hussle and bussle. The kitchen is very well equipped and stocked, however, so cooking "at home" is a pleasure. This unit was a real find and was a very good value for the money!

Room Tip: Choose a unit that has been remodeled and on the ground floor, especially a corner unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LockIng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Unit B37 for 5 nights. While the condo provided the necessities we needed to cook a few breakfasts, sleep and shower, it definitely could use some sprucing up. A placard on the door step asks that you remove your shoes - what for you end up with dirty feet as the floors are not clean anyways. Also if you have to check in after hours, be sure to have a flashlight with you to find your room and as well, you need to fumble around in the dark to try to open the tumbler lock on the door. We were lucky that the security guard came around and helped us out. Very appreciated after 12 hours of travelling. Also the bedroom was at the walkway end of the condo and was very noisy in the morning with birds chirping in the courtyard. There is no air conditioning in the bedroom, only a fan - we were lucky it wasn't too hot to need the a/c but I would hate to be there when it was really hot.

The unit faces the beach side of the complex and overlooks the public park - we found there to be transients sleeping there overnight, etc. - not appealing at all. We did however, enjoy the ocean view and could see dolphins, whales, etc. from our lanai.

I would only stay in this complex again if I were in a room overlooking the pool or ocean front. Do not stay in Building B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havefuninthesun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The complex is somewhat rundown. Unit b27 is very shabby. Looks like it is poorly maintained and very dated. The beach is beautiful. Location is good. Wouldn't stay here again. Not a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Don't stay in b27
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marychb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very friendly! Helpful staff. Brandon was very helpful before arriving and Tiere was SO helpful with all kinds of info at check in. We borrowed beach chairs for a few days. Could have borrowed boogie boards and snorkel gear if we wanted. All visitors we met were so nice and friendly. Nice BBQ area outside that we used twice. Refreshing pool and hot tub. Right on the water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOLorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,770 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Property: Kona Reef Resort
Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing