We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose Unit D8 and you will be thrilled!”
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kona Reef Resort
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We recently spent a week in this lovely 2 bedroom/2 bath condo and we're extremely happy that we had selected this for our stay. The unit had recently been remodeled and the furnishings and artwork were wonderful and have a lovely tropical feel. It is a corner unit, with the lanai about 30 feet from the surf crashing on the lava rocks. The view is wonderful, the sound of the surf crashing is very relaxing and soothing. It is close enough to Kona town to walk into town for dinner, but far enough to be out of the tourist hussle and bussle. The kitchen is very well equipped and stocked, however, so cooking "at home" is a pleasure. This unit was a real find and was a very good value for the money!

Room Tip: Choose a unit that has been remodeled and on the ground floor, especially a corner unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LockIng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 569 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Unit B37 for 5 nights. While the condo provided the necessities we needed to cook a few breakfasts, sleep and shower, it definitely could use some sprucing up. A placard on the door step asks that you remove your shoes - what for you end up with dirty feet as the floors are not clean anyways. Also if you have to check in after hours, be sure to have a flashlight with you to find your room and as well, you need to fumble around in the dark to try to open the tumbler lock on the door. We were lucky that the security guard came around and helped us out. Very appreciated after 12 hours of travelling. Also the bedroom was at the walkway end of the condo and was very noisy in the morning with birds chirping in the courtyard. There is no air conditioning in the bedroom, only a fan - we were lucky it wasn't too hot to need the a/c but I would hate to be there when it was really hot.

The unit faces the beach side of the complex and overlooks the public park - we found there to be transients sleeping there overnight, etc. - not appealing at all. We did however, enjoy the ocean view and could see dolphins, whales, etc. from our lanai.

I would only stay in this complex again if I were in a room overlooking the pool or ocean front. Do not stay in Building B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havefuninthesun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The complex is somewhat rundown. Unit b27 is very shabby. Looks like it is poorly maintained and very dated. The beach is beautiful. Location is good. Wouldn't stay here again. Not a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Don't stay in b27
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank marychb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very friendly! Helpful staff. Brandon was very helpful before arriving and Tiere was SO helpful with all kinds of info at check in. We borrowed beach chairs for a few days. Could have borrowed boogie boards and snorkel gear if we wanted. All visitors we met were so nice and friendly. Nice BBQ area outside that we used twice. Refreshing pool and hot tub. Right on the water.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LOLorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We first booked with a fellow named Cameron and not sure what happened to him but he never did get back to us after we send him so the money, luckily our bank returned our money to us. We then booked with Castle and we had a lovely condo with ocean view. The condo was more expensive than we usually like to pay but the view was great, the distance from town was perfect, the little beach next door was nice to sit at. We were traveling with another couple and when they arrived we found out that they had been bumped to another location which was not very nice at all. we were told it was just a couple blocks away and it ended up being 1.7 miles away. After many phone calls and a lot of effort on my friends part they were moved to the Reef after 2 nights at the Bali.I liked staying at the Kona Reef but would be worried booking next time if I would be the next bumped vacationer.The people who slept in the park next door where quieter than some of the paying guests. I guess some people can't read the quiet times signs.

Room Tip: we were in D building close to the ocean so had a wonder view of the ocean and of the beach next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked a weeks stay at the Kona Reef and will never return! Our plane arrived late so were unable to check in until after office hours. We called the manager and were told our room was#D1 and were given a code for the lock box on the door. There was no light in the hallway so took us about 5 min. to finally get the key into the lock and open the door. Upon entering, we were greeted by a strong musty smell. As we looked around, we noticed the filthy carpet in the bedroom, the chipped paint and stains on the walls, the moldy shower floor, the dingy tub, dirt in the corners. We decided to check out our "ocean view" and pulled open the sliding glass door.... only to have the door handle break off and the screen fall into the room. There was a washer and dryer in the condo so the first thing we did was wash the blanket on the bed. It was midnight so we weren't very happy about having to do this at this hour, but there was no way we were going to sleep under a dirty blanket. We spread bath towels on the rug in the bedroom so we didn't have to walk on it! The next morning we went to see the manager about moving us to a different room. Nothing was available until Wednesday ( it was now Monday). We spent that morning looking for other accomodations and had no luck. We then decided to go to Walmart to buy cleaning supplies. We spent our first day of vacation scrubbing and cleaning our condo so we could live in it two more days! I also washed the tub mat which also was filthy. (The cleaning staff should be shadowed to make sure they are doing their job or Castle Resorts needs to "clean house" of them.). On Wed. we moved to D#13. This unit had recently been remodeled and was much nicer but I still needed to clean it after I noticed my socks were black after a few minutes of walking around in my stocking feet. The bathtub was also grimy so I spent a good hour scrubbing it. The location and the view at the Kona Reef are the only positives as far as we are concerned. The condo has such potential of being a great place.....too bad it's not!

Stayed: January 2013
7  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for a month in unit e-23 and loved every minute. The unit looks over the pool area with an excellent ocean view. The surf was just loud enough. The unit was clean an well equipped with a comfortable queen bed. The bathroom was clean.the kitchen was good for cooking excellent meals almost every night. You could walk out and be in town in 5-10 mins or walk south for a nice hike along the road. Covered parking. The pool area was spotless as was the hot tub. My only complaint was that the barbecue grills did not get hot enough. Will return to the reef.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank wino873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,915 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.7 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#10 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $157 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing