We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort, location and views”
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kona Reef Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great resort, location and views”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

You can't beat the location of this resort, and it seems to be well-managed, nicely landscaped and clean. We stayed a week in A27, a privately owned and managed unit overlooking the surf. We booked through HomeAway, and it was our first time renting from a private party, but it was a flawless experience. The unit was updated, well-appointed and the third-floor corner location could not have been better. We had great views, and the Kona Reef is an easy walk to most of the shops and restaurants in Kona.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose an upper room overlooking the ocean. Personally, I would avoid any rooms overlook...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tropic_Travelers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    197
    81
    35
    33
See reviews for
146
302
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Mountain, Utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fabulous location. ON the water. Sea Turtles coming up to say hello. Whale Watching while eating breakfast on the lanai. Walking into town and through the shops. We stayed for a week in February and will come back again. My kids spent hours and hours in the pool and playing at the beach next door. The staff was extremely helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor with a room of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We absolutely loved this place. In the morning we would eat breakfast on the lanai and watch the surfers. We were in unit B224 and we could of not asked for anything more in the unit. The pool, hot tub, and barbecue area was always clean and well taken care of. We will return only for a longer stay there. Just a very short walk into town for some drinks and food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillandTerriS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We just got back from a wonderful 2 week visit to Kona, we stayed at the Kona Reef condo number 25D and it was perfect, not only was the owner wonderful to deal with but the condo which was ocean front was very nicely decorated, very clean, and had all what you needed for a comfortable stay. There were nice beach towels and chairs and cooler to take with you to the beach. Overall the condo was great, Kona Reef is a great place to stay if you want to stay in Kona and be within walking distance of the town. The Kona Reef resort team we had to deal with were very helpful.

Room Tip: I would recommend an ocean front room at the Kona Reef
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Our stay is in unit b5 , a privately owned unit . Nicely dcorated and well equipped with kitchen uticles and beach gear . Parking is not a problem with the majority being covered . Short walk to town , friendly and responsive staff that we have had to deal with . Nicely landscaped and well maintained with an excellent pool and hot tub . Only down side is the dated bathroom and again as previously mentioned , the floors that make your feet black . Can't imagine what the black stuff is , not only the feet but also the the white floor mat in the bathroom has turned mostly black . Have to violate the Hawaiian no shoes rule to keep the feet clean and wear flip flops in the condo.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This condo was all that we needed while in Kona. The one bedroom unit was ground level. With sea right on front door. Condos are the way to go. This one was only 1 mile from Kona town. Easy walking. The only down fall was the mosquitos that you had to fight your way through the back door. I mentioned to the manager but nothing was done. So make sure you got can of fly spray. But overall great place to stay. Unit B5.

Room Tip: Next time I would make sure we were on higher floor, still with sea views.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonaReefGM, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Aloha!
Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Kona Reef and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do are best to ensure that our grounds are maintained and kept, as a means to try and eliminate the tropical pests like the mosquitoes that we have here. We hope that they were not too much of an inconvenience and hope that you will be back to visit us once again.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in B13 beautiful view of the water, staff was very nice. They had a sign on the door as you enter "please remove your shoes", we did and within minutes noticed the bottom of our feet were black. Looks like no one has swept or mopped the floors in a very long time. Everything worked fine in the unit, just felt it should have been cleaned a bit more. Furniture is very out dated, air conditioner was in the living room if you stood in the door way you stayed cool, the rest of the unit including the bedroom did not get any air condition. the air condition was very loud too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bndcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Property: Kona Reef Resort
Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Vacatia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing