We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle Kona Reef Resort & Condominiums”
Review of Kona Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kona Reef Resort
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Our five night stay was relatively smooth.
We arrived early for check-in and when the room was not ready, they happily took our bags into the back of the small office and ditto for late check-out.
Everything we needed was a short walk from the hotel. Although there is no restaurant at the resort, there are many local places within 5 to 15 minute easy walk.
Kona market is open 6 days a week (only 15 min walk away) and it was great having the full kitchen to stock up.
We had a ground floor unit with a patio that opened to the beach next door. The sliding door was never truly secured, but I was not really worried about a break in.
Sound carried quite a lot through the concrete building, but it wsa fairly quiet during sleeping hours.
No internet was provided as promised (even after several attempts for a password or connection), but there was lots of free internet available in town.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road. The condos across the streets have lots of young locals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shelopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 570 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

We booked a condo here for our 8 days in Kona for our honeymoon (we left right Kona right before Thanksgiving). We liked the full kitchen feature so we could save money by making some meals instead of eating out for EVERY meal. We booked through Orbitz and got a great deal.

There was a nice patio with a little bit of an ocean view. We booked a "garden view" room (the cheapest) so we were pretty excited for the ocean view. There is a little sandy beach off to one side but it is not really a swimming beach. Probably the best thing is that it is so close to the main part of town (just a short walk down Alii Drive) that we were able to go to a bunch of restaurants (and have drinks) and shops and walk back. Parking was always fine for the rental car. Pool was nice and right by the ocean. It had free laundry in each condo so we packed our suitcases clean so we didn't have to come home and do laundry! And just a warning that apparently the cruise ship comes to this part of the island every wednesday, so everything (restaurants, shops, etc) is busier that day!

Only complaints: our unit did not have blinds or curtains on the bedroom window or the main living room window and the sun beat in every morning. We ended up hanging our bed comforter in the bedroom so we could sleep better! This may have been unit specific, I'm not sure, because they are all individually owned. We stayed in B21. Also, wifi was only free in the common areas. Some unit owners supplied wifi with a password for just their unit(s), but ours wasn't one of them!

Overall it was a good place to stay and we would probably stay here again if we get another good deal!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed in an ocean view room and it was wonderful! It's great to be able to hear the ocean when you wake up. The grounds are very well maintained and the pool area is very nice. We enjoyed the grassy area right next to the ocean, lots of time spent laying out and watching the surfers. Very easy walk into town with lots of restaurant choices and shopping. Our room was overall nice except the dishwasher didn't work very well but it was nice having the washer and dryer. I highly recommend Kona Reef, it is in a great location with beautiful views.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We just returned from our week at Kona Reef and it was wonderful! Our room was great....view of the ocean overlooking a little beach area. Nice to wake up in the morning to the sound of the surf and have our breakfast on the lanai. Kitchen facilities great...able to do laundry a big bonus for travelers and the pool/jacuzzi area wonderful. We enjoyed tours available through the orientation at the beginning of the week and great Kona coffee served at poolside in the mornings. I highly recommend this condo and we plan to return!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GTh0dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We enjoyed being right on the beach. The patio setting was lovely. All appliances were upgraded recently. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The pool area was very nice and on the beach. Underground parking is a plus. We would recommend some security improvements such as: 1) the deadbolts should be able to lock with a key from the outside of the condo, and 2) a good safe should be provided in the room to lock up your valuables (especially since the office closes at 5:30 pm).

Room Tip: Higher floors may feel more secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Well managed,walk to town safely,beach by complex,indoor parking,great value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonsh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Charmingly decorated and centrally located, this is a lovely condo which has all the conveniences from blender to 42" TV.
Very nice indeed. b33 is very nicely, might I even say, beautifully, appointed.
Nice veranda with quality porch furniture and a view of the ocean.
It is a bit noisy due to the highway proximity although I am told that the bottom floor is somewhat insulated from this.
My only complaint is that the deadbolt was only operable from the inside with no outer key provided. Security is probably an illusion anyway but I don't like leaving my possessions even a little bit unprotected.
With that caveat I would unreservedly recommend this condo, and particularly this unit, to anyone wanting a homey atmosphere and the ability to cook your own meals when you feel like it.
Kenny

Room Tip: ask for room number B33 as these are individually owned condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kenpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,958 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
829 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $160 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing