We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, poor customer service”
Review of Kona Makai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Makai
Reviewed August 2, 2012

loved the place, they were basically rude about children, visitors etc

I think they were maintenance or on site property managers

-kids can use pool toys in the pool - "thats a violation, get out of the pool for hours" rudely communicated.
-we had six kids at a pool party for one of our kids birthday party and they threw them out because it was more than four, they harped about more than four visitors for a half hour. How many kids typically goto a birthday party? usually more than four.

I feel they were racially descriminating because our friends were locals.

Ill never stay there or recommend the place ever.

Lovely location, beautiful landscaping, nice house.

this could have been different

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank smendez2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 64 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

We just returned from our 3 night stay in unit 5-301. The unit was very clean and had a nice large wrap around deck. We were busy exploring the island most days, so usually only returned to the condo for the evening, but we did spend one afternoon there and had the pool almost to ourselves. The snorkelling was great right out front of the resort. There were good supplies such as coolers, beach chairs, beach mats, pool noodles for the beach, boogie boards etc. We were two families of 4 sharing the unit. It was a little bit crowded, but it really wasn't an issue as we didn't spend ANY time indoors other than to sleep. The unit has a beautiful ocean view but is set back in the back of the U shaped set up of buildings. The only issue with this is that there is little privacy on the lanai as all of the other balconies face your lanai. It wasn't a huge issue, but if you're looking for absolute ocean front and privacy one of the corner units at the ocean would probably be better. All in all a great place for the price. I'm not sure that I would choose this location with small children, as it seems to be an older crowd and very quiet. This was not a problem for us as our four teenagers are not loud and enjoyed sitting by a quiet pool. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stvmicSt_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in unit 6-201 for 4 weeks in 2009 with another couple. This unit was directly on the ocean, with a great wrap around lanai. We ate all of our meals outdoors. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped. I understand since we stayed there that the owners have replaced the carpet in the living room with hardwoods, which would be a great addition. The master bedroom and bath were great. Lulled to sleep every night by the sound of waves crashing against the rocks below. The only slight negative thing was the wi-fi access. The building manager was doing his best to fix it but we were never able to access it. We were busy visiting relatives and sightseeing, so this was not a big minus for us. All in all, a wonderful unit that I hope we'll get to use again someday soon. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeanaz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I had some trepidations about renting at Kona Makai after some of the negative reviews, but we are glad we did. First, the condo we stayed in (1-302) was beautiful, wood floors, spiral staircase, gorgeous view, airy, and simply delightful. The complex is beautifully landscapped and parking is convenient. The pool and hot tub are nice, and there is a great snorkeling right off he grounds when the ocean was calm.
We found everyone to be friendly. We did not experinece any of the grumpiness that others mentioned in their reviews. The place is convenient to town and the farmers market. NO cars are inside the grounds, so it is quiet and peaceful all the time.
Maybe there is a bad unit here and there, but this one was amazing. Don't throw out the baby with the bath water here, Kona Makai is a Gem!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CaliforniaEasygoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We stayed at the Kona Makai and we are very glad we did. The view was magnificent. the rooms were clean, cozy and comfy. The beds were great and the staff and surroundings were top rate. We had the best time and we definately WILL be returning. Close to town and all the shops...walking distance. The grounds were sparkling and extremelely well manicured. We went into town and took the whale watching tour and where did they park the boat??...Right in front of the Kona Makai!
We stumbled onto the Kona Makai while looking for a neat place to stay on our visit to the big island and truely believe we hit the jackpot. Thank You and see you soon Kona Makai!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robinmaree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Our condo was in an excellent location right on the oceanfront. No complaints about our unit but the development as a whole was disappointing. With all their little "rules" we felt like we were in a prison camp. No smoking here, no bike riding there, can't hang your towels out on lanai to dry, pool/hot tub closes at 9:00PM no ifs, and's or buts. They make vacationers feel unwelcome. The "locals" have a different set of rules then visitors. Our 20 year old son was reprimanded for smoking on a bench by the ocean and the very same day, two "residents" were smoking by the pool and nothing was said. My wife was grilling chicken on the grill and some old lady was complaining about the smoke from the grill. Once again, beautiful location but next time we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KrisMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I've stayed at the Kona Makai for the last 15 years and unfortunately this will be the last time I stay there. The condo's are great. They are extremely clean and well kept. The grounds have always been beautiful.

They've changed management in the last 3 or 4 years and have some real crabby, older folks living in these condos. And crabby, is probably an understatement. I believe they absolutely do not like children whatsoever. They are rude to say the least. We had two 18 year olds, two 14 years (all girls) and one 8 year old boy. All these are grand children except one 18 year old that is a friend of my granddaughter. Here's the real funny thing; no toys are allowed in the pool, no smoking, etc. No marco polo games. Okay that's fine. My grandson was sitting by the hot tub while the two 18 year olds were in the hot tub. He had his feet only in the hot tub, no one else was in there and it was probably around 8:00 pm. Some crabby old guy (50"s) yelled at him from his lanai telling him to get out of the hot tub. My granddaughter said he's not in the hot tub and the old crabby guy yelled back.

Now the next day, we were sitting on our lanai and I watched two adults walk into the pool area, one smoking a cigar the other with a cigarette and no one said a thing to them. I'm sure they were year round residents who can pretty much get away with anything. If anyone has children do not stay here, it isn't worth the hassle. They are not kid friendly and the don't like renters or vacationers.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cbesch47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.6 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
615 reviews
14.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Makai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Makai

Address: 75-6026 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2366
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $160 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Makai 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Kona Makai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Makai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing