We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in all the Islands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in all the Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

Our trip to the Islands consisted of 4 hotels and 3 islands. This was by far the best location and hotel we stayed at with everything taken into consideration. The staff is WONDERFUL, very helpful and definitely go the extra mile to make your stay perfect. I loved walking downstairs and being able to be at the beach. We rented a kayak and were able to go out quite far since the water is reasonable calm - a few others told us they saw dolphins; normally out in the early morning not too far from the shore. The hotel luau was great; it rained near the end, but with a hot shower just steps away (the luau is a few steps from the hotel) getting wet was not a big deal - we even got to dance in the rain :) The ocean view rooms are magnificent! A wonderful view and welcome to the islands. The other rooms that have partial views are still breathtaking - looking forward to another opportunity to visit the islands; this hotel is definitely on the list!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    1,286
    348
    88
    58
See reviews for
763
1,297
152
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

I can't say enough good things about the King Kamehameha. I was a little worried when I was booking, having seen older complaints about a tired, shabby appearance. But the entire hotel has been completely renovated, and it really shows. The rooms are fresh, with large flatscreen TVs that are easy to operate, very comfortable beds, and lots of the little things that make or break a stay. Nice toiletries, lots of towels, beach towels in-room (I hate having to get them separately), in-room safe, lots of drawers, refrigerator (particularly helpful), lots of hangers, iron & board, curved shower curtain, good water pressure, and toilets with power flush. Wonderful colors & textures and really nice lamps that give you lots of lighting options, a comfortable reading chair, and a great balcony w/ plenty of room for two. Nice sliding wood panel instead of curtains. I give only 4 stars for service because there is no room service (which in this location makes perfect sense), but everyone at the hotel was really nice & seemed to care. The lobby has wonderful Hawaiian art and there is a gallery of gorgeous paintings that tell the story of King Kamehameha & Hawaiian history & culture - it's well worth spending a half-hour perusing. The location of this hotel is fantastic for exploring the island, & shopping & dining are right out the door an easy walk away. We were able to take advantage of their "Celebrate the Renovation" pricing but even at full price I feel this hotel is a great value. The best rooms are in the West wing on the higher floors, oceanside. And did I say - the elevators are super fast! We rarely had to wait more than a few seconds because there are several elevators for each wing - another one of those things that can make a hotel stay truly miserable. My congratulations to the team that executed the renovation of this hotel - your money was well-spent. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyInAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Just returned from Kona and stayed at the King Kam (as the locals call it) Hotel. It was perfect! Clean and very nice and close to everything. I paid for a partial ocean view and it was worth it! You do have to pay to park your car. A beatutiful stay and I highly recommend it if you want to be in town where there is lots to do! I will be back ;-) Thanks for the get away!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinderTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Hotel's location is great - everything you need is in walking distance ( shops and restaurants ) Rooms are clean and big. Breakfast buffet very good .
Overall we were very satisfied .
The only compliant we have is that would be nice to have some lawn chairs by the beach ( even to rent) For older people is hard to be flat on the ground . A little inconvinient to carry chairs with us on the plane.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 9 nights and felt the quality of this hotel for the money spent to be excellent! Rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. I felt the daily parking fee of $10.00US should have been free. A small semi-private beach close to the hotel as well as a swimming pool (always busy) were available. Dining for breakfast was also available for 20% off if you are a hotel guest, so we ended up dining there for most of our stay. ($10.00) There is also a spot across the road (open air) that had a good breakfast selection.(about the same price) One small diner that we enjoyed for lunch was south along the coast, a place called Coffee Shack, we all agreed that the sandwiches (BLT) on sourdough bread was worth the drive. Affordable golfing is available to the public and the one my husband and his friends enjoyed the most was The Big Island Golf Course was $60.00US though a golf booking website. Found the luaus were very commercial and food terrible. Avoid! Aloha.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

This resort is located in a great spot. We drove around the island two times on our trip and the town of Kona seemed to be the best spot to stay! Food, shops and entertainment is walking distance from your room. The pool and beach are clean and great places to relax. The hotel has a ABC store were you can get all your snacks and drinks at a lot cheaper prices. They are also building a Lava Java and other shops at the hotel that look to be open soon. We stayed for 7 nights and didn't have any problems but for our room key not working a few times. We ate at Boston Basil one night and would highly recommend that place for a nice dinner!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachl0ver81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

Stayed 9 nights. Really enjoyed the setting, the views, and the pool and spa. Service was quite nice and the staff were helpful.
This was our first trip to the Big Island and we had a great time. This hotel is in the middle of the action without being overwhelming.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing