We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$334
$239
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,379
$1,139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$167
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kona Tiki Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village(Kailua-Kona)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,204)
Filter reviews
3,204 results
Traveler rating
1,171
1,422
413
116
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,171
1,422
413
116
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabc storewest towersmall beachthe big islandhawaiian historywithin walking distancepartial ocean viewisland breezecoffee shoppaddle boardsshops and restaurantspool barhotel is in a great locationloved this hotelbreakfast buffetocean frontali'i drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,602 - 2,607 of 3,204 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This is a nice hotel, clean with good size rooms and bathrooms. If you are looking for a "resort" this isn't for you but if you want a decent room that is near everything the King K is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me&Boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2010

Thank you for choosing the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel for your accomodations during your trip to Kailua Kona. We are conveniently located in the heart of town and within walking distance to shopping, activities, restaurants, and night life. Our location can't be beat our guests can enjoy excellent snorkeling, kayaking, swimming, and stand-up paddle surfing right in our bay. Thank you for your comments and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We were pleased with the King Kam. Rooms were nice and clean, staff was very friendly. (And the complimentary shampoo/conditioner, etc was even from Bath and Body Works - nice touch!) We stayed here so we could have an ocean view... which we did, but their beach is VERY VERY small. The small beach wasn't a big deal to us, because we had rented a car and could drive within minutes to any of the lovely beaches on the Kona side of the island. A few tips: spend the extra $ on parking passes. The buffet breakfast also has a nice variety with made-to-order omelets, fresh fruit, and an impressive assortment of other hot items and continental faire... although if I were to stay again I might only pay for this breakfast buffet for one day so that I could try other breakfast joints. (There were cheaper places to get breakfast, and the King Kam buffet doesn't change much from day to day). The hotel has a decent (small to medium-sized) pool and a hot tub, as well as a workout room with a good set of dumbells and a few treadmills/elipticals. Overall, we were very happy with our stay. It was a good value, considering the location and amenities. I mean, this IS Hawaii! OH - one more thing. I wouldn't recommend the Island Breeze luau that runs from this hotel. The food at the luau was top-notch and plentiful, but the performance was sub-par in my opinion and for $75 I want to be awed!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookie429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all feedback, and it's always nice to receive positive comments. We were happy to hear that you were pleased with our hotel. We love to hear when our guests appreciate our cleanliness of our rooms, the value that we offer and the great service that we provide. Comments like yours makes us feel that we are heading in the right path. We thank you again for your comments and look forward to your next stay at the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The rooms are beautiful and relaxing. We stayed for 7 nights and were sad to leave. We had a great view of the beach and access to it and the pier area. All the restaurants and shops begin right outside the hotel and we could easily walk to and from them. We appreciated the laundry facilities and could easily get quarters at the desk for the machines. The display windows are beautifully done and give a history of the island people. The employees at the desk were very helpful and answered all our questions. We ate the first morning at the breakfast buffet which offered practically anything one would want for breakfast. The bartender was very friendly at the pool area. We also enjoyed the luau on our last night there. The only shop so far is an ABC but so many shops are near the hotel that we didn't need more. I used the Kaiser medical facility and it was within walking distance. Our party consisted of grandparents, a son and daughter-in-law and 2 grandchildren in 3 rooms and we all loved our stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UplandTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2010

Thank you for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that your entire family had a beautiful and relaxing time during your one week stay. Glad to hear that our location and our guest laundry facility was convenient for you. Also glad that our staff was helpful and friendly. At King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel we take pride in extending to our guests the highest level of service. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and we are glad that our efforts were successful. Positive critiques such as yours are an added inspiration for us to continue to reach for the highest level of service standards. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and reviews with other travelers. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the King Kamehameha Kona Beach Hotel for two nights, and loved it. We had an ocean facing room on the top floor with a great view. The room was completely renovated and was very nice. The lobby appears to be completely remodeled as well. The breakfast buffet was also great. I talked to the lady at the front desk when checking out and complimented her on all the renovations. She thanked me and said that she'd been there for many years and was proud again to work there. They've done a great job!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank gmargrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2010

Thank you for recent stay at the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you and your wife loved the great ocean views from your room. And we are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We appreciate your great compliments on our renovations. We look forward to having you as our valued guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

renovated sea view room was fabulous. pool was good too. even the lil beach i worth a visit but WHAT ON EARTH is the rest of this hotel about? acres and acres of old and uncared for foyer and a.n.other space. dated cavernous echoing and spooky. it lets the renovated rooms down.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auditgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us at King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated ocean view room with all new features. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on the overall condition of our foyer and mall area. Rest assured we are in the process of completing our retail spaces in our mall area with new shops to better serve our guests. And we are also in the process of completing our art displays to be featured in our foyer and mall. We hope we have the opportunity to have you as a guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews