We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My recent stay in this hotel is a truly precious relaxing experience with outstanding hotel facilities and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
“My recent stay in this hotel is a truly precious relaxing experience with outstanding hotel facilities and staff”
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I recently stayed in the hotel. The hotel was undergoing extensive renovation, which I heard should be finished soon. I stayed in one of the renovated rooms. I found the room having all the amenities in top shape. The bathroom is in superb condition and the balcony provides enchanting ocean as well as sunrise/sunset views. The room also has a sizable fridge, ironing facility, big screen TV, and a large desk. I get free wireless internet in the room as well. The other attractive features of this hotel are the lagoon just outside the hotel where one can snorkel, a nice swimming pool if one wants to stay close to a bar for drinks, a restaurant that provides delicious island dishes, staff that are friendly and knowledgeable about the town and entertainments for tourists. The hotel location is extremely convenient because it is within the vibrant town of Kona, with short walks to many shops and restaurants along the seashore. I had the time of my life during my stay!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed all of the new amenities in our new rooms. Thank you for the great reviews on our attractive features available to guests while staying at our hotel. It was our pleasure to provide you with the utmost personal customer service during your stay. We thank you again and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    1,336
    371
    98
    64
See reviews for
812
1,351
160
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

What more could you ask in a hotel - a newly renovated room, outstanding front desk, a car rental place on the property, great housekeepers, an ABC store close by, and walking distance to about anything in the town. The hotel continues with the renovations but minimizes any inconvencies to the travelers. I've stayed at others in the area but none have made me more welcome than the Kona Beach hotel. I would highly recommend it as your choice - and I'm from the area. (Smile)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
We are so delighted to read your great reviews regarding your stay at the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our brandnew rooms and the convenience of our location. Also glad to hear that our staff provided you with excellent service. We thank you for your recommendations. And look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2010

King Kamehameha Hotel has a great location, great buffet, great service. The older condition of the facility was part of the 'homey' feel to me; but the renovations done have brought you up to the top tier of modern style without loosing that local homestyle feel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanekapila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased to hear that our location, our buffet and service was great! We hope to have you as a guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2010

the front desk people could not be nicer. The location is great, you go out the front door and just stroll through downtown, beachfront Kona. Lots of great little restaurants along the main drag to eat in. Once you have parked your car there is no need to take it out again. So relaxed, wonderful farmers market, frig in room for all the wonderful fruit. Renovation ongoing, but we were not woken by the noise as it was in a separate building. We felt so at home we came back at the end of our trip for our final night on the big island.

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
Thank madpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Represenative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
Thank you for your nice comments regarding our front desk staff. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for you. We look forward to your next visit at the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2010

My wife and I have just stayed at the newly renovated tower and were completely impressed with the improvements. Work is well underway on the second tower and lobby area and should be completed in the next couple on months. However, the renovations only affect the main lobby area and are not even noticeable in the "new" tower.
The staff was verry upbeat and positive about their new rooms and it is like staying in a brand new hotel. Of course the location of the King Kam is the best in all of Kona and within walking distance of at least twenty different restaurants.
The current rates relect the fact that the hotel is "under renovation" but the lower rates certainly compensate for any ( we didn't experience any) inconveniences due to the work beingdone on the second tower.
We stayed 18 days and wished we could have stayed longer. We would highly recommnd this "new" hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happypuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
Thank you for your recent stay at the KIng Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. It was our pleasure to provide you and your wife with the best service. We are all happy that you enjoyed your stay and glad that you will recommend our hotel to others. We thank you again for your comments and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2010

From our previous stay at KING KAMEHAMEHA HOTEL a month ago, WE SEEN BIG CHANGES IN RENOVATIONS IN THE ROOMS. From the time we walked into the room we couldnt stop admiring all the new beddings and other furniture that made the room look more eye appealing! It had a WELCOMING AMBIANCE. The new wall fixtures and lights helped compliment the new look of the room! and whats MORE OF A PLUS is that WIRELESS CONNECTION WAS FREE! NOT ALOT OF HOTELS give that previlage to their guest during their stay! Im sure after all the renovations are done, the King Kamehameha Hotel is something to look out for in the future!

***I would highly recommend everyone to spend their leisure time or what ever occasion it maybe, ath the newly renovated King Kamehameha hotel!

HOTEL!

aloha,
SHERI &RYAN

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
Thank you for your return visit to the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you loved the welcoming ambiance of our new rooms with all the new decor and the complimentary WIFI service. We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

The hotel is centrally located - shops and dining on Palani Rd and on Alii Drive are all in walking distance. The hotel is still under renovation. The lobby is somewhat in a sad state. It feels sad and uninviting- there's a small front desk counter and very old furniture. The lobby is not a place to just hang out, relax, or people-watch. The beach is tiny, but nice. The pool is new with a nice hot tub. Service in the pool area is slow. The room is nice - all new furniture, carpeting, flat-screen tv - and clean. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. I'll consider staying again next time I visit Kona. By that time, the whole hotel should be fully remodeled.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tramost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
Thank you for recent stay at the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We are glad to hear that our hotel was convenient for you and that you had a pleasant stay in our newly renovated rooms. We are pleased to announce that we are on our final stage of completing our lobby and mall renovations. This will include a stunning new entrance along with a variety of new shops to better serve our guests. We hope you will be back to visit us soon on your next visit to Kona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,864 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing