We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 16, 2009

The newly remodeled rooms are well thought out from a design stand point. They are comfortable, modern, and very clean. All the amenities are included, as stated on their website. We love staying in rooms that have balconys, so we can have fresh air. KK has this and instead of curtains they have a sliding blind that are easy to open and close. There is no room service, but it did not matter to us in Kona, leaving the room is what people do here of course. Plenty of food available in the restaurant and surronding area, within walking distance. You cannot beat the location for going to beaches, renting bikes and kyaks, etc. The service here is very friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlight1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and also thanks for the great reviews. We appreciate your comments in regards to our great service that you received during your stay with us. Our hotel is focusing on making our guest feel welcomed, comfortable and connected with us, and we are showing it with your great feedback. We thank you again for your comments and hope that you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    1,321
    365
    96
    63
See reviews for
798
1,338
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We enjoyed the new King Kamehameha Kona Beach Hotel , the renovations made it look brand new. We have stayed there several times since 1978, and believe me when they get the lobby done, you won't recognize it. It is in a good location in town and near Quinn's where we have a good dinner every time we come to Kona. Mahalo.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent visit to the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our brand new rooms. You will be pleased to note that our ground floor refurbishment has commenced and we look forward to a stunning new entrance, lobby and we are also adding a variety of stores to our mall area to better serve our guests. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to have you as a guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hAWAII
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Love the location, near Kona bay, stores, Hulihee Palace, places to eat; nicely renovated room, very clean, big screen t v, friendly nice staff, but.......

1st nite, heard doors opening & closing, dozens of times for many long hours......finally gave up, left the t v on & tried to sleep.......

2nd nite, after 10 pm, drove into the parking lot, & standing around were 5-10 young persons
after listening to the yelling & screaming from the lot for a couple hours, I called the front desk, "I'll tell security"; the noise stopped 30-40 minutes later

During the late night, as I lay in bed, I could hear people using the toilet right where my head was laying on the pillow, then I heard the toilet being flushed

YEOW

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobi1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2009
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, Also great to hear that our staff was friendly and that you loved our convenient location.
We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations for a quiet room. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced at our hotel. We will certainly address those issues and assure you that myself and the staff are working together to make the necessary changes to ensure that these challenges do not happen again in the future.
We thank you for your comments and hope that you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Wow, I've stayed here in the past when the rooms were a complete dump. Stayed in renovated room on 5th floor and it was major improvement. very nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millhousemaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2009
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us. Thank you for your great reviews. Comments like yours makes us feel that er are heading in the right path. We look forward to welcoming you back to the King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

This was our third time staying at the King Kamehameha Hotel, which is the hosting hotel for the Queen Liliuokalani Outrigger Canoe Race, and the reason we come over each year. The King Kamehameha Hotel has gotten better each time. The staff is always professional and friendly. In the past our rooms were nice and clean, but with the renovation this year our room was perfect, clean and decorated nicely. The new carpet is beautiful and reminds us of lava. The furniture is brand new and beautiful, with a Hawaiian/Tahitian style. I am looking forward to next year's canoe race and I will be staying at King Kamehameha hotel. Also as a coach for a canoe club, I brought 3 crews over from San Diego, most of them rented a house to save money. When they came and visited our room, they did not want to go back to the house and are planning on staying at the hotel next year. Obviously they felt the same way we do about your hotel. Also having an ocean front room made our stay even more special. So in the evening when it came time to relax, nothing better than Kona coffee out on the lanai with the beach below and the lights off in the distance, what a way to relax.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanDiego77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
I would like to thank you for your recent visit to King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your great reviews. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations in our brand new renovated rooms. We have been receiving a lot of great comments about our newly renovated rooms. It’s always nice to receive positive comments. And also glad to hear that our staff provided you with excellent and friendly service. Our hotel is focusing on making our guests feel as warm, comfortable, and connected with us, and we are showing with your great feedback. Our public area and East Tower renovations are now in progress and will be completed by January 2010. We are adding a variety of new shops to our mall to better serve our guests. Thank you again and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our room was absolutely beautiful! One of it's selling points for sure. The lobby and common areas were not renovated yet, as stated. There was a musty odor in those areas, but you have to consider when the hotel was build. It was tolerable. However the pool was suppose to be done the day before we arrived, it was not! This was selling point number two for us. It was however, done the (night) before we left. We were too exhausted and sunburned by then to enjoy it. We loved the area and our stay overall. We will return someday, God willing. Would love to see this hotel when all renovations are done...it will be hoping for sure!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our brand new renovated rooms. We are working diligently and as quickly possible to complete all renovations. We just completed our pool and bar renovations. We are sorry that you were not able to experience our beautifully renovated pool & spa during your stay. You will be pleased to note that we will be starting with our lobby and mall area refurbishment and is scheduled to be completed by January 2010. We will be adding a variety of stores to our mall to better serve our guests. We thank you again for your comments and hope that you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

My wife and I recently spent some time in Kona Hawaii. Not my favorite location but the price was right. The King Kam. Hotel was where we stayed for a week and it was an interesting place to say the least. As far as rooms go it was so so, but the location was unbeatable for the price. This place is right on the beach! If you’ve ever been to Kona you know that sand beaches are in short supply. The King Kam. has it’s own private beach with a nice break wall. It was a perfect place for the kids to swim because there are no waves. Another great aspect is that the hotel pool is just a few yards away from this private beach. So, cocktails and chlorine for the adults and sandy beaches for the kids. Kailua has only one main waterfront street, Ali’I drive. The king kam is at the far end of this main road, so its great for morning walks and close to some great restaurants. All in all, two thumbs up for the king kam!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonBrowndowntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Hotel Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2009
Thank you for your recent stay with us. And we thank you for your kind comments about our hotel's overall convenient location. We receive alot of great comments regarding our convenient location. King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel stands on the grounds where King Kamehameha once resided, and is located in the heart of the historic fishing village of Kailua-Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii. Our incredible locations overlooks Kona’s only pristine white sand beach adjacent to the Kailua-Kona pier and within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, activities, and the historic Hulihe'e Palace. Again thank you for staying with us and hope to have you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing