We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseypenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,992)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,526 - 2,532 of 2,995 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RockerFellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergeboucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed 2 nights. The room looked old and had a damp smell to it. The price for food was more than I cared to spend. I did eat at local restaurants to save money. If it wasn't for the damp smell the room would have been fine. Good thing I spend more time away from the room than in it. I do have to admit the location was great and the staff did run faxes up to my room. If you're looking for a place to sleep, shower, shave, store goodies I would recommend this hotel. If you plan to hibernate instead of sightseeing you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank IslandLubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2009

Thank you for your recent stay with us and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments concerning your recent stay at the King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are glad to hear that our location was convenient for you. We would like to apologize for the overall condition of our rooms. At this time we are in the middle of renovating our entire hotel to better service our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed there for our honeymoon , the location was great but that was it , we were met by a very rude manager , when we booked we were told Breakfast was included but on check in told us it wasn't we asked to use a microwave to heat a bays bottle and were told to go and use the one in the shop over the road , it was very disapointing , as a footnote we ended up getting our accomodation charges refunded which was great but the treatment by the manager was appalling , As I said the location is fantastic but that was about it unfortunately....

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rosslou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2009

Thank you for your recent stay with us and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments concerning your recent stay at the King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We strive to provide each of our guests with a wonderful experience at our hotel and I apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations. We are glad to hear that our location was great for you and also troubled by the challenges that you experienced during your stay. Along with upgrading our entire hotel we will definitely work with our staff and management on guest awareness and professionalism.
Again we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you have experienced and hope that we can have the opportunity to have you as a guest in the future.
Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

This place looks great from the outside. My first clue we had made a mistake was the worn out lobby. This was for real the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in. It was dirty, old ,stained and just awful. They are remodeling parts of the hotel so maybe it will improve, but for now they should be ashamed of themselves for charging for those rooms. If we had not been completely exhausted from a long trip and armed with a can of Lysol, I would not have stayed at all. It was too late to look for another room by the time we got there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2009

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. And we greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments and concerns about our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the overall condition of our hotel and for falling short of our normal goals and standards. We are in the middle of undergoing total renovations to improve all areas of our hotel. Again, I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences, and hope that we can have the opportunity to have you as a guest in the future.
Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,887 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $188 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing