We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel. Good Access to downtown.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Jamestown, North Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Hotel. Good Access to downtown.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a good hotel with great access to local restaurants and downtown Kona. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The pool and poolside bar are very nice. There is great snorkeling just off the beach from the hotel. if you are willing to snorkel out from the beach, not a long swim, there are often Hawaiian spinner dolphins and sea turtles.

Room Tip: Try to get West tower room in order to have the highest chance of an Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted to learn you had a great time and enjoyed our grounds as well as your accommodations and our convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    1,286
    348
    88
    58
See reviews for
763
1,297
152
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

There's very little beach in Kona, so we were happy to have the little beach here. It's also a great place to try paddle-boarding for the first time since the ocean is protected on 3 sides. We loved the hotel-nice and quiet. Great morning breakfast at Honu's. Nice clean rooms with a great view. Ample parking too. Would definitely recommend. We loved the infinity pool-it was heated so it was a great place to swim in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13VLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased that we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, pool, beach area, convenient location and dining at Honu’s Restaurant. Your kind review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Ok where do I start. This is my honest observation of the hotel. I wanted to like the place, I really did.

Location-The location of the hotel is terrible. The location seems to be a gathering point for a variety of people-the homeless, drug addicts, and countless low lives who seem to enjoy "hanging out" around the property, all day and night. Hold your wife and children close at night. Trust me there are some real shady people in and around this property. I now have countless memories from our balcony of my wife and I witnessing drug deals going down in real time. Apparently DOG the Bounty Hunter's mantra of "no ice in paradise" has not reached the King Kam Marriot. What a shame, but if you like observing tweekers and the effects of meth on the human body you'll love this place. I would suggest just staying in at night but trust you cant sleep. Booming car stereos and people screaming throughout the night do not make for a peaceful nights sleep. This place feels more like a hostel than a hotel. Can you say "Aloha"??? I can't but I can say "CHeeck Out"

The Luau-Skip the luau. Trust me. Skip the Luau. The workers are beyond rude and have no problem taking your family photo and later saying "20 bucks if you want to keep it". How professional is that? It isn't, like most things here its ridiculous. Don't worry though if you don't attend the luau you will still be able to hear every detail of it from any room on the property. Like I mentioned before, don't plan on sleeping very good here. I would compare the noise level here to Mexico minus the barking dogs and fireworks. The pig was good though.


Breakfast Buffet-If you like your food covered in flies then you will love this place. Seriously, its down right disgusting the amount of flies you'll encounter at the buffet. The view from the restaurant is beautiful but the insect problem is disgusting and inexcusable. The workers "eyesight problems" seem to prevent them from noticing the flies or doing anything about them. Eating here reminds me of eating in a 3rd world country. Word of advice-SKIP the buffet or bring some fly repellent for the pancakes.

Beach-The hotel photos lead one to believe the property contains its own private beach. IT DOES NOT. Most of the beach is being utilized by huge canoes. The beach looks horrible with all the surrounding construction. Good luck rinsing the sand off your body after a day in the sun. The beach showers are located next to a public bathroom that is beyond nasty. The many homeless people in the area use the beach showers to take full blown showers, soap and all. My three year old daughter should not be exposed to this. In all fairness the hotel does seem to provide 1 foot rinsing station. 1 foot rinsing station for the entire hotel is not sufficient. Rinsing off where the homeless shower is not sufficient either.

I will be updating this review when I return home with photos of all the "amenities" listed above.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. You do not want to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Aloha Rob,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Let me assure you that we value you as a guest and are disappointed that your experience was not one to remember.

I would like to apologize for the impression you received from your stay and agree that the incidents you experienced are not how we want to be viewed as a hotel or as a representative of the Courtyard Brand and of Marriot Hotels and Resorts. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to regain your trust in our brand and to exceed all your expectations.

Your patronage is greatly valued and appreciated. We are very much interested to speak to you in person to remedy your concerns for a future visit. At your convenience I would appreciate the opportunity to further discuss your visit with us and to learn more details about your experience and resolve your concerns to your full satisfaction. Please contact me at ndahm@konabeachhotel.com

Mahalo,
Niklas Dahm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimanalo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Enjoyed a weekend here. Check in was fast and friendly. Room was spacious, and easy to get to. We had a ocean front in which we could sit on the balcony. The hotel is located in a prime area right at the entrance to ali'i drive. I took advantage of the free gym which was an added bonus. The little beach below was perfect for my kings, not to mention is was fun to walk on the harbor right outside the hotel. Room was super clean and decorated very nicely.

Room Tip: ocean front a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yamas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location. We’re delighted that you took advantage of our 24 hour fitness center as well as our sandy beach. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We only spent one night on property so cannot give a good overall view. One thing is, we had a problem with the A/C. Maintenance was there within a short period to fix the problem. The room we had was an ocean view room with balcony. Sitting there feeling the ocean breeze late evening was great and relaxing

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the ocean or a room with a balcony, makes for a better visit especially when th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoylifeplayha... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and i stayed here for 5 nights from July 10. Prior to arriving i requested a high floor for the stay if possible as we booked an ocean front room. We were not disappointed as we got a room in the west tower (the better side i think) on the top floor....the views were awesome. All of the staff were friendly and helpful!! This hotel is central to everything. On one side you have a long street full of shops and restaurants, on the other you have target, Ross etc which is about 20 minute walk away. There is also a trolley that stops at the hotel if you do not want to walk. There is a pier located at the hotel where the dinner and snorkel cruises leave from etc. The gym was better than expected and the pool average. The bathroom was very spacious and the room was also. im very picky with beds and this one didnt disappoint...it was so comfy! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone, especially families who can make good use of the bay for swimming

Room Tip: ask for a room on the higher floors. get an oceanfront in the west tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We truly appreciate that you have shared how much you enjoyed your stay and included so many details about what to expect and what you discovered around the island. Our goal is to provide exceptional service to our guests so that they feel welcomed, relaxed and completely cared for. Thank you for letting us know how happy you were with your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The online picture is somehow misleading, the beach is very small, it's in fact a small harbor with an enclosed area, if you love wave and beach sand, you will be disappointed like us.

The hotel itself is clean, good lobby, convenient for shopping and food, we even watched the 4th of July fireworks in walking distance, beach is the only part not meeting expectation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric_qu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha Eric_Qu,

thank you much for your response and for sharing your feedback with us. We do as every hotel, try to place the best possible pictures on our web page to attract guests to our beautiful town.
I am sorry to hear that you felt our pictures mislead you.

While the location gives a lot of convenience to our guests by being in town, it also does deliver more activity with it.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,770 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing