We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Great Views, Terrific Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Waimanalo, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Great Views, Terrific Location”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Enjoyed a weekend here. Check in was fast and friendly. Room was spacious, and easy to get to. We had a ocean front in which we could sit on the balcony. The hotel is located in a prime area right at the entrance to ali'i drive. I took advantage of the free gym which was an added bonus. The little beach below was perfect for my kings, not to mention is was fun to walk on the harbor right outside the hotel. Room was super clean and decorated very nicely.

Room Tip: ocean front a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yamas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location. We’re delighted that you took advantage of our 24 hour fitness center as well as our sandy beach. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    1,319
    365
    96
    63
See reviews for
796
1,338
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We only spent one night on property so cannot give a good overall view. One thing is, we had a problem with the A/C. Maintenance was there within a short period to fix the problem. The room we had was an ocean view room with balcony. Sitting there feeling the ocean breeze late evening was great and relaxing

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the ocean or a room with a balcony, makes for a better visit especially when th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoylifeplayha... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and i stayed here for 5 nights from July 10. Prior to arriving i requested a high floor for the stay if possible as we booked an ocean front room. We were not disappointed as we got a room in the west tower (the better side i think) on the top floor....the views were awesome. All of the staff were friendly and helpful!! This hotel is central to everything. On one side you have a long street full of shops and restaurants, on the other you have target, Ross etc which is about 20 minute walk away. There is also a trolley that stops at the hotel if you do not want to walk. There is a pier located at the hotel where the dinner and snorkel cruises leave from etc. The gym was better than expected and the pool average. The bathroom was very spacious and the room was also. im very picky with beds and this one didnt disappoint...it was so comfy! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone, especially families who can make good use of the bay for swimming

Room Tip: ask for a room on the higher floors. get an oceanfront in the west tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We truly appreciate that you have shared how much you enjoyed your stay and included so many details about what to expect and what you discovered around the island. Our goal is to provide exceptional service to our guests so that they feel welcomed, relaxed and completely cared for. Thank you for letting us know how happy you were with your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The online picture is somehow misleading, the beach is very small, it's in fact a small harbor with an enclosed area, if you love wave and beach sand, you will be disappointed like us.

The hotel itself is clean, good lobby, convenient for shopping and food, we even watched the 4th of July fireworks in walking distance, beach is the only part not meeting expectation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric_qu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha Eric_Qu,

thank you much for your response and for sharing your feedback with us. We do as every hotel, try to place the best possible pictures on our web page to attract guests to our beautiful town.
I am sorry to hear that you felt our pictures mislead you.

While the location gives a lot of convenience to our guests by being in town, it also does deliver more activity with it.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Convenient central location, staff who puts "Aloha" in service, beautifully-appointed grounds right on the ocean and modern, comfortable if modestly-sized rooms make this a delightful place to stay in central Kailua-Kona. Easy walk to restaurants and shops along picturesque Ali'i Drive. Luau said to be one of the best. Small white-sand beach on property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had stayed at Courtyard King Kamehameha once before, so we knew what to expect. Our room was lovely and clean and, being an ocean front room, looked out in the bay. The view was gorgeous (with the exception of the construction going on in the beach area, but that wasn't the hotel's fault!)
We had special requests and all our "wants" were met! We asked for a high floor in the west tower (we got the sixth floor...the highest!) and that two other members of our family's rooms be nearby. We were all right together! Great customer service!
We found that the restaurant at the hotel was rather pricey, so we ate elsewhere.
The only drawbacks were that check-in was very slow and that when I tried to reach the front desk by phone, no one answered. And parking is $14 a day. Ouch!
We would definitely stay here again, though, because it's a nice hotel, not outrageously expensive and is a great location for exploring this quaint town!

Room Tip: The high floor west tower ocean front rooms have the best views and are farther away from the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingrandma91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenpasadena
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Marriott Courtyard's are consistently above average compared to other mid to low priced hotels. This one happens to be on the beach, so the location is great. The beach isn't very big, though, but it is at the start of the annual Ironman Championship. If you're feeling like a champion, or just want a great place to do an open water ocean swim, there's no better place than steps from the side door to the hotel. The swim is in a bay, the water is calm, and looking down at the coral and fish as you swim is hard to beat. I just stayed one night, and agree with other reviewers who said this is a good spot to consider for a short stay in Kona. The room was a consistent and comfortable Marriott Courtyard room. Note: if you're from Europe or many other parts of the globe, you will think this is a luxury suite. It was an partial ocean view room (emphasis on partial), and like others have mentioned, being on the east side of the first tower it faced the town and was a little noisy. It also had a weird sideways balcony that overlooked the island and a little bit of the bay. Hopefully, if you're not on your honeymoon, you won't be spending too much time in the room. If you like to hang out at the hotel all day and not explore, not only is this not the hotel for you, but this probably isn't the best Hawaiian island for you. A final note to say that the front desk staff and the concierge couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. I would definitely consider again when in Kona for a one to three night stay.

Room Tip: Try for inside facing the courtyard if you like peace and quiet. This probably isn't the best ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenpasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha Kenpasadena,

thank you for your review of our staff and for complimenting our team for their Service. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo Niklas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing