We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Convenient central location, staff who puts "Aloha" in service, beautifully-appointed grounds right on the ocean and modern, comfortable if modestly-sized rooms make this a delightful place to stay in central Kailua-Kona. Easy walk to restaurants and shops along picturesque Ali'i Drive. Luau said to be one of the best. Small white-sand beach on property.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ozone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,203 - 1,209 of 3,020 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had stayed at Courtyard King Kamehameha once before, so we knew what to expect. Our room was lovely and clean and, being an ocean front room, looked out in the bay. The view was gorgeous (with the exception of the construction going on in the beach area, but that wasn't the hotel's fault!)
We had special requests and all our "wants" were met! We asked for a high floor in the west tower (we got the sixth floor...the highest!) and that two other members of our family's rooms be nearby. We were all right together! Great customer service!
We found that the restaurant at the hotel was rather pricey, so we ate elsewhere.
The only drawbacks were that check-in was very slow and that when I tried to reach the front desk by phone, no one answered. And parking is $14 a day. Ouch!
We would definitely stay here again, though, because it's a nice hotel, not outrageously expensive and is a great location for exploring this quaint town!

Room Tip: The high floor west tower ocean front rooms have the best views and are farther away from the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelingrandma91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Marriott Courtyard's are consistently above average compared to other mid to low priced hotels. This one happens to be on the beach, so the location is great. The beach isn't very big, though, but it is at the start of the annual Ironman Championship. If you're feeling like a champion, or just want a great place to do an open water ocean swim, there's no better place than steps from the side door to the hotel. The swim is in a bay, the water is calm, and looking down at the coral and fish as you swim is hard to beat. I just stayed one night, and agree with other reviewers who said this is a good spot to consider for a short stay in Kona. The room was a consistent and comfortable Marriott Courtyard room. Note: if you're from Europe or many other parts of the globe, you will think this is a luxury suite. It was an partial ocean view room (emphasis on partial), and like others have mentioned, being on the east side of the first tower it faced the town and was a little noisy. It also had a weird sideways balcony that overlooked the island and a little bit of the bay. Hopefully, if you're not on your honeymoon, you won't be spending too much time in the room. If you like to hang out at the hotel all day and not explore, not only is this not the hotel for you, but this probably isn't the best Hawaiian island for you. A final note to say that the front desk staff and the concierge couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. I would definitely consider again when in Kona for a one to three night stay.

Room Tip: Try for inside facing the courtyard if you like peace and quiet. This probably isn't the best ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenpasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Aloha Kenpasadena,

thank you for your review of our staff and for complimenting our team for their Service. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo Niklas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have been in Kona in April 2014. The Hotel has a good location in terms of reaching different tourist attractions within the island. Personnel is very kind. Rooms need renovation: they look more a city hotel room, than a beach hotel. The hotel beach is quite small so you probably need to drive to reach Hawaiian style beaches.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I recently checked in and stayed one night (of an 8 night scheduled stay) at this hotel as part of our honeymoon. Needless to say, the photographs online make this venue look much nicer than what it truly is. We arrived to find that the lobby was relatively nice with very pleasant hotel staff, however, our room was a different story. We arrived at our room and were truly disappointed. The room appeared as though it hadn't been updated in quite some time. There was also a stale odor in the room that wouldn't dissipate no matter how much you tired to clean it. Unfortunately, we also discovered that the sheets were dirty as they appeared to have been slept in prior to our arrival. The bed was somewhat comfortable but overall it was just not a place one would want to stay while visiting such a beautiful island. We checked out the very next day and checked into the Sheraton (which was fantastic). I will say that the hotel staff was very accommodating and truly made every attempt to please us while we were there. The manager even invited us back after we checked out and paid for us to have breakfast at the hotel which was actually pretty good. The only nice thing about this hotel is the location. There are plenty of shops and restaurants near or around the hotel that you would otherwise have to drive to from the Sheraton or other major resorts. The hotel is located on a "beach" if thats what you want to call it, but we were not at all impressed with it. If the beach is what you are looking for, there are a few within a short driving distance that are much better than what you will find at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Aloha ErikJ21,

thank you for the review of our hotel. As expressed when speaking with you and your when you visited I am truly sorry that we were not the right hotel for you. I am happy that you took our offer and visited the restaurant and enjoyed your time there.
We appreciate the good service review form you much and are happy that you found the right hotel for you for the remainder of your visit to Kona.

Mahalo Niklas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We recently stayed at the Courtyard for one week. Friendly check-in, rooms were clean, and the views from the balcony were amazing. This hotel is the perfect location for restaurants, shopping, Atlantis submarine, Island Breeze Luau (which is right at this hotel), and UFO parasailing. We didn't even use our rental car! The ABC store is connected to the hotel, along with a coffee shop which was convenient. Access to laundry at the hotel allowed us to pack less for our trip. You have everything you need in one location.

We had a late night flight our last day, but had to check out by 11am. They allowed us to stay an extra hour at no charge, and held our luggage in a secure location until we needed to leave for the airport, also at no charge. The tv/computer lounge was available for us to hang out until we needed to leave for the airport.

The only negative comment was the construction going on at the pier right out at the private white sand beach attached to the hotel. Construction noise started early in the morning and went all day. It did detract somewhat from the experience of having a private beach.

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel with a central location to shopping, restaurants, and adventures, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: There are only 6 floors, so ask for the 5th or 6th floor for a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel for your one week vacation in Kona. We appreciate and value all guest feedback and would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and for providing such a detailed review of all the amenities that we offer.
It is however regrettable that the construction noise originating from the pier were disruptive; we apologize for the inconvenience and we hope that it did not impact your overall experience.
Thank you so much for your recommendation; we hope to welcome you back in the future. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here on the fourth of July - great day to be there as the local area has a parade down the street right in front and the fireworks are set off across the water at the fishng dock.
We had a front row seat by sitting on the grassy lawn behind the hotel - watching fireworks and listening to live music at the luau venue.
The staff at the hotel were very friednly and down to earth. The Hotel has a lot of history and many displays inside the hotel.
We opted for the breakfast included package and were not disappointed.
Great hotel to base you snorkel or hiking operatons from - just 20 mins or so from excellent snorkeling.
We later went to the hotel Luau and were blown away.
I will come back here the next time i visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east wing are away from the luau area....that is where we stayed. The luau goes on unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing a lovely review for the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are thrilled you had a great time and enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including our staff, amenities, Island Breeze Luau show and beach area we are delighted that you were able to experience our 4th of July festivities. It is great to hear that our location was a good central point for exploring the island. We appreciate your feedback as well as your recommendation; we hope that you will be back soon to explore even more of the Big Island. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,206 reviews
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,913 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $190 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing