We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Convenient central location, staff who puts "Aloha" in service, beautifully-appointed grounds right on the ocean and modern, comfortable if modestly-sized rooms make this a delightful place to stay in central Kailua-Kona. Easy walk to restaurants and shops along picturesque Ali'i Drive. Luau said to be one of the best. Small white-sand beach on property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    1,179
    302
    75
    48
See reviews for
698
1,178
135
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had stayed at Courtyard King Kamehameha once before, so we knew what to expect. Our room was lovely and clean and, being an ocean front room, looked out in the bay. The view was gorgeous (with the exception of the construction going on in the beach area, but that wasn't the hotel's fault!)
We had special requests and all our "wants" were met! We asked for a high floor in the west tower (we got the sixth floor...the highest!) and that two other members of our family's rooms be nearby. We were all right together! Great customer service!
We found that the restaurant at the hotel was rather pricey, so we ate elsewhere.
The only drawbacks were that check-in was very slow and that when I tried to reach the front desk by phone, no one answered. And parking is $14 a day. Ouch!
We would definitely stay here again, though, because it's a nice hotel, not outrageously expensive and is a great location for exploring this quaint town!

Room Tip: The high floor west tower ocean front rooms have the best views and are farther away from the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingrandma91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenpasadena
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Marriott Courtyard's are consistently above average compared to other mid to low priced hotels. This one happens to be on the beach, so the location is great. The beach isn't very big, though, but it is at the start of the annual Ironman Championship. If you're feeling like a champion, or just want a great place to do an open water ocean swim, there's no better place than steps from the side door to the hotel. The swim is in a bay, the water is calm, and looking down at the coral and fish as you swim is hard to beat. I just stayed one night, and agree with other reviewers who said this is a good spot to consider for a short stay in Kona. The room was a consistent and comfortable Marriott Courtyard room. Note: if you're from Europe or many other parts of the globe, you will think this is a luxury suite. It was an partial ocean view room (emphasis on partial), and like others have mentioned, being on the east side of the first tower it faced the town and was a little noisy. It also had a weird sideways balcony that overlooked the island and a little bit of the bay. Hopefully, if you're not on your honeymoon, you won't be spending too much time in the room. If you like to hang out at the hotel all day and not explore, not only is this not the hotel for you, but this probably isn't the best Hawaiian island for you. A final note to say that the front desk staff and the concierge couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. I would definitely consider again when in Kona for a one to three night stay.

Room Tip: Try for inside facing the courtyard if you like peace and quiet. This probably isn't the best ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenpasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha Kenpasadena,

thank you for your review of our staff and for complimenting our team for their Service. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo Niklas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have been in Kona in April 2014. The Hotel has a good location in terms of reaching different tourist attractions within the island. Personnel is very kind. Rooms need renovation: they look more a city hotel room, than a beach hotel. The hotel beach is quite small so you probably need to drive to reach Hawaiian style beaches.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I recently checked in and stayed one night (of an 8 night scheduled stay) at this hotel as part of our honeymoon. Needless to say, the photographs online make this venue look much nicer than what it truly is. We arrived to find that the lobby was relatively nice with very pleasant hotel staff, however, our room was a different story. We arrived at our room and were truly disappointed. The room appeared as though it hadn't been updated in quite some time. There was also a stale odor in the room that wouldn't dissipate no matter how much you tired to clean it. Unfortunately, we also discovered that the sheets were dirty as they appeared to have been slept in prior to our arrival. The bed was somewhat comfortable but overall it was just not a place one would want to stay while visiting such a beautiful island. We checked out the very next day and checked into the Sheraton (which was fantastic). I will say that the hotel staff was very accommodating and truly made every attempt to please us while we were there. The manager even invited us back after we checked out and paid for us to have breakfast at the hotel which was actually pretty good. The only nice thing about this hotel is the location. There are plenty of shops and restaurants near or around the hotel that you would otherwise have to drive to from the Sheraton or other major resorts. The hotel is located on a "beach" if thats what you want to call it, but we were not at all impressed with it. If the beach is what you are looking for, there are a few within a short driving distance that are much better than what you will find at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha ErikJ21,

thank you for the review of our hotel. As expressed when speaking with you and your when you visited I am truly sorry that we were not the right hotel for you. I am happy that you took our offer and visited the restaurant and enjoyed your time there.
We appreciate the good service review form you much and are happy that you found the right hotel for you for the remainder of your visit to Kona.

Mahalo Niklas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We recently stayed at the Courtyard for one week. Friendly check-in, rooms were clean, and the views from the balcony were amazing. This hotel is the perfect location for restaurants, shopping, Atlantis submarine, Island Breeze Luau (which is right at this hotel), and UFO parasailing. We didn't even use our rental car! The ABC store is connected to the hotel, along with a coffee shop which was convenient. Access to laundry at the hotel allowed us to pack less for our trip. You have everything you need in one location.

We had a late night flight our last day, but had to check out by 11am. They allowed us to stay an extra hour at no charge, and held our luggage in a secure location until we needed to leave for the airport, also at no charge. The tv/computer lounge was available for us to hang out until we needed to leave for the airport.

The only negative comment was the construction going on at the pier right out at the private white sand beach attached to the hotel. Construction noise started early in the morning and went all day. It did detract somewhat from the experience of having a private beach.

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel with a central location to shopping, restaurants, and adventures, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: There are only 6 floors, so ask for the 5th or 6th floor for a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel for your one week vacation in Kona. We appreciate and value all guest feedback and would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and for providing such a detailed review of all the amenities that we offer.
It is however regrettable that the construction noise originating from the pier were disruptive; we apologize for the inconvenience and we hope that it did not impact your overall experience.
Thank you so much for your recommendation; we hope to welcome you back in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here on the fourth of July - great day to be there as the local area has a parade down the street right in front and the fireworks are set off across the water at the fishng dock.
We had a front row seat by sitting on the grassy lawn behind the hotel - watching fireworks and listening to live music at the luau venue.
The staff at the hotel were very friednly and down to earth. The Hotel has a lot of history and many displays inside the hotel.
We opted for the breakfast included package and were not disappointed.
Great hotel to base you snorkel or hiking operatons from - just 20 mins or so from excellent snorkeling.
We later went to the hotel Luau and were blown away.
I will come back here the next time i visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east wing are away from the luau area....that is where we stayed. The luau goes on unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing a lovely review for the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are thrilled you had a great time and enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including our staff, amenities, Island Breeze Luau show and beach area we are delighted that you were able to experience our 4th of July festivities. It is great to hear that our location was a good central point for exploring the island. We appreciate your feedback as well as your recommendation; we hope that you will be back soon to explore even more of the Big Island. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurants newly renovated in 2011. All 452 rooms have been upgraded which feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen television and complimentary in-room safe. You’ll experience a brand new hotel from the moment you step into the new lobby. You’ll also find completely renovated corridors, business center, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool and a 24-hour complimentary guest fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing