We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Super Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I've stayed at Courtyard King Kamehameha's hotel twice in the past 6 months. It's a great hotel and very reasonably priced. The rooms are very clean and have been nicely updated. The staff is very courteous and professional. The first time I stayed there, we got a room with an ocean view on the 2nd floor. It was quite lively from all the activity by the pool, beach and marina below. The 2nd visit I opted for an upper floor, no ocean view and got a room facing part of the tennis courts and pond on the 6th floor. I much preferred this quieter room. My only small complaint is that the hotel must spray the hallways with air freshener several times a day as the fragrance is VERY strong when you step out of the elevator. People with lung issues may react a bit, like I did.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Aloha,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay on both visits. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 3,142 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have spent many nights at the King Kam hotel on the water in Kona. It is a very clean, nice, friendly hotel. The staff are exceptional, helpful, and kind. The rooms are very much Hawaiian and have great views. The pool is a great place to relax and enjoy the sun and drinks. The food is great. I would suggest staying here if you are travelling to Kona. The price is right and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your kind review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We were so pleased to learn that you had a very nice time while staying with us and enjoyed your accommodations in addition to the friendliness of our staff. We look forward to your next visit. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

To celebrate our 50th Anniversary I reserved an Oceanfront King room at the Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel online. I called the hotel directly to request a room with a nice view and explained it was a very special occasion. Upon check-in I asked if the room had a nice view and the reply was "it's oceanfront" . Our oceanfront room looked out to a black rooftop the size of a basketball court, then a building, next a pier, and then a little water.

Immediately we returned to reception and explained our disappointment. The agent said he couldn't do anything. So he checked with 2 managers and again said there was nothing he could do. Then he said he emailed someone and put all notes in the computer and the 2 managers were working on it. He instructed us not to unpack and return with suitcases to reception by 11AM the next day. Following his instructions we went back down by 11AM only to find that nobody knew anything about our problem and our name wasn't even on the list to change rooms.

So I asked to see a manager. I explained the situation to Wendy. She seemed very understanding and wanted to help. After a while she was able to switch around some rooms and asked if we would be willing to forgo the king bed for 2 queens but the oceanfront view would be nice. That was acceptable to us.

The first 24 hours of our stay were wasted because either nobody read the special request or nobody cared.

To make matters worse I wrote a detailed letter to the General Manager of Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 2 months ago and never received any response. It appears like nobody seems to care.

That's too bad because the hotel is nice...the location is nice...rooms are nice.....but they just don't seem to care.

Room Tip: Beware all Oceanfront rooms are not Oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dnbleavenworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It is truly disappointing that we could not fully impress you during your stay. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies to you and your wife for falling short of fulfilling your expectations and for the inconveniences that you experienced as a result of the issues you encountered during your stay with us.

We regret that we were not able to create a better experience on this special occasion but appreciate the time you have taken to explain your experience. It is our goal to ensure a positive experience for every one of our guests. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback to identify opportunities for improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
At your convenience I would appreciate the opportunity to further discuss your stay and resolve your concerns to your full satisfaction. Please contact me at (808) 331-6325
Sincerely,
Jak Hu, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have stayed here several times most recently in April 2014. The location is great and the rooms are nice. The staff is also very friendly. However, each time I stay I feel there is something not quite right. This is a non-smoking hotel but people were on their balcony smoking near us and I was having coffee on my balcony and had to go into the room to get away from the smoke. I am not sure how they can enforce this rule but the smell of smoke was unpleasant.

We were there on a Saturday night and wanted to eat in the hotel. The restaurant only had a buffet so we ate in the bar/cafe next to the pool. The menu was nice but we found out that the "catch of the day" was made with frozen fish. To me "catch of the day" means fresh. Perhaps that should change the name to "fish sandwich" so there is some truth in the menu. The cafe is pretty far from the kitchen and the wait staff has to bring the food a long distance out to the pool area. Our sandwiches and fries were completely cold when served. We were very disappointed.

We live on the island and will stay here again because of the convenience, clean rooms and nice staff. But I am not sure I will eat in the restaurant again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Islandguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced as a result of some issues you had on your recent stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Your patronage is greatly valued and appreciated. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a very nice and quiet hotel! We especially enjoyed the environment and location of the hotel in relation to street vendors, restaurants and the beach. The deck area by the pool is very nice and it has a nice bar that serves reasonably priced food and drinks. The area is spacious and inviting. The rooms are very nice and they have a nice deck with nice views. The side near that tennis courts are a bit "busy" but the noise levels are tolerable. As far as the rooms themselves, they have an iron, ironing board, refrigerator, desk, and a nice big screen TV. The air conditioner works very well!

Overall, this is a nice place to stay with lots to offer, even if you want to just stay in and relax.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, avoid the rooms by the tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duck1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for wonderful review for the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We truly care about our guests and it is our number one priority to create an exceptional experience for them. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay including dining at our poolside bar. Thank you for letting us know how happy you were with your stay; we hope you will come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Location is great because you can easily walk to restaurants, shops, and historical/cultural sites. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location and the cultural exhibits. We appreciate your compliments for our hotel and staff. Please visit us again soon it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

One nighter with a friend. Easy to get to and nicely appointed. Walk to many shops and restaurants included the World Famous Kona Inn Restaurant and bar. Nice array of shops in the downstairs mall and off the halls. Lots of stuff for the looky loo in you. Historic items on the walls. Quick front drive thru of dropping and picking up folks. Across the Street is the Famous Quinn's with some of the best Fish Sandwhiches in town and good cocktails. The usual hotel amenities. Great Thai nearby and just down the road from the new Westside Wine shop and Hilo Hatties shop. some even walk up to the Walmart Store. Nice room amenities but the ocean views are not superb.

Room Tip: The lower levels are not as view blessed and can be a bit noisy. Upper floor on the ? view side had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Aloha,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay and our location was convenient for your shopping and dining opportunities. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,258 reviews
6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3,031 reviews
21 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
12.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $199 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel in Kailua-Kona provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into a hotel room or suite at our hotel featuring a private lanai, 37" flat-screen TV, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! The Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing