We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeled. Clean and nice. Friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Remodeled. Clean and nice. Friendly staff.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Free wifi. Strong wifi. Im seating on the beach behide hotel right now and using hotel's wifi to write this review :) Small beach but nice and my daughter loves it. Room is small but clean with Paul Mitchell shampoo conditioner lotion. Front desk is very friendly. Close to all shop and restaurant. The ABC store is attached to hotel. Should try the crepes in the gift shop inside hotel. Was delicious with fresh fruit.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank congchihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and was able to take advantage of our complimentary Internet access, our convenient location in addition to the friendliness of our staff. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    1,319
    365
    96
    63
See reviews for
796
1,338
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

There is nothing bad about this hotel. there is nothing exceptional - except it's cleaner than most and the beds are better than most.

the breakfast is better than average, the amenities are all there. essentially not pretentious and a good place to stay, near the airport and the fun that kona has to offer, if you're looking for a typical tourist kona kind of good time - without the kitsch and pretentiousness of the hilton waikola shopping mall/disney type experience.

i wish the a/c would get colder.

i probably would give it a 1/2 star more if were somewhere other than kona.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannysixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to express your impressions with us. All guest feedback is valued and we appreciate every comment as it allows us to continuously improve the experience for future guests. Thank you for both your compliments and suggestions. We hope that we can welcome you back for an experience that exceeds your expectations. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

No false pretenses, the hotel is not new but has an excellent location, walkable to beach and restaurants and retail. Meals and drinks expensive though. Small pool area but hey, you are in Hawaii so you can hit several beaches and tours from there. Very close to a Marina.
The staff is very courteous. We didn't get an ocean view room but it was ok, we had a small balcony and the view wasn't terrible.
Parking available. Clean and quiet despite being a big hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landscapechaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. Our convenient location in Kona is a big plus for our guests because dining, shopping, and beach explorations is all within walking distance. Although it’s disappointing that your accommodations were not as anticipated in terms of the view, we hope that the impact on your overall stay was minimal. We hope that you will allow us to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the Big Island. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The King Kamehameha is at the center of action. I have never encountered a more attentive and welcoming staff anywhere.....from 5 star hotels all over the world. The rooms are clean and spacious and the hotel is situated in a beautiful location. Great find in a great location.

Room Tip: East wing rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We love to receive feedback from our guests and truly enjoy reading your comments about your recent stay. It’s great to hear that our staff shared their “Aloha” spirit with you. It is always our goal to provide outstanding service to our valued guests so that they feel welcomed, relaxed and completely cared for. All your comments are sincerely appreciated and we hope that you will return for another visit soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

It's not often anymore that you find attentive, personalized service from a "brand name" hotel. From the moment I checked in, everyone at the hotel from the door man, to the concierge to the front desk staff was warm and welcoming. To me, they truly exemplified what "aloha spirit" is all about. Whether it be a recommendation on a good place to grub or help organizing a late checkout to help us out with a late afternoon flight, everyone went out of their way to make sure we had an awesome trip. I have to give a HUGE shout out to Haidee at the front desk who was especially accommodating. She went out of her way to help us out with our late check out and, whenever I saw her, she was always quick with a smile and a warm greeting. It's employees like her that make this kind of place what it is. Mahalo for everything!

Room Tip: "if local, ask for the Kama'aina rate"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing such a lovely review for the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. It is our goal to provide all our guests with a seamless stay from check in to check out and create an exceptional experience for them. Your kind remarks for our hotel staff are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share your comments with everyone. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Spent two night at hotel. Staff was helpful and courteous. Room was clean and spacious, with plenty of room. I had a small balcony that faced the beach and ocean. Ask for the rooms facing the ocean. It's a little more expensive but the view is worth it. Nice clean hotel well decorated with plenty of parking available. Located south of the airport and north of the Kona coffee district right on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Aloha,
We appreciate you taking time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed our spacious clean rooms in addition to our convenient location. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Me an my partner booked onto the Marriot at what was meant to be a flat rate of 199.99/night including taxes. At the end of our stay we ended up with an additional $18.41 Occupancy Sales Tax and State Tax of $8.28 which we were told was included in the initial cost of the room and confirmed at reception but still found its way onto our bill. Parking was an additional $14.58/day. When we turned up we were told a parking permit would be given to us at reception but weren't told about the cost. The room quality was good but not on par with the other destinations we had stayed in for almost half the price. It was very noisy and each day we were woken up by either the bio-fuels lorry at Splashers restaurant across the main road or by general traffic noise or car alarms. The walls are paper thin and we could hear other peoples "activities" int he rooms surrounding ours. The location is good. The last night of our stay there was water dripping from a light fixture in the reception with a bucket underneath it - not good for a high quality hotel that costs as much as this. Overall I like the destination but I think this hotel is simply not worth the money they charge

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the main drag or overlooking the car park. You will either be woken up by tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeightonAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I’m truly sorry that you were extremely disappointed with your stay. The comfort of our guests is very important to our team and I’m saddened that your experience wasn’t everything you had expected. It is our goal to ensure a positive experience for all guests.
At your convenience I would appreciate the opportunity to further discuss your stay and to resolve your concerns to your full satisfaction. Please contact me directly at ndahm@konabeachhotel.com.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would love the opportunity to make it up to you. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,846 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing