We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate but not luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moderate but not luxurious”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This Courtyard is pleasant but you would never mistake it for a first class hotel. The internet wi fi is very testy and requires constant re entry of log in information and password every time you step outside, making it difficult and cumbersome to check email, share photos, keep in touch with back home, etc.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and deeply regret any inconveniences that you may have experienced with our Internet services. Again, please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations on this visit. We hope that you will allow us to welcome you back for an experience that exceeds your expectations. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    1,321
    365
    96
    63
See reviews for
798
1,338
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Big resort hotel with a small private beach. Walking distance from dozens of shops and excellent restaurants. Nice connected lobbies including a hand-carved wooden racing canoe. We had a great time! Short drive from surfing beaches, and everything else is walking distance.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view also includes palms, lawn, and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments. We are delighted that you had such a great time and enjoyed our convenient location as well as our private beach area. Thank you for letting us know how happy you were with your stay; we hope you will come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great location,clean comfortable rooms.The staff was awesome.
Great location,clean comfortable rooms.The staff was awesome.
Great location,clean comfortable rooms.The staff was awesome.
Great location,clean comfortable rooms.The staff was awesome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyBoyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha,
We thank you so much for choosing to stay as our guest and for taking the time to share such great comments about our hotel and staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This resort is not the most luxurious place in town, but for one sixth of what you'd spend at the Four Seasons, you can't beat the great lanai view and beautiful little beach right in the heart of Kailua-Kona. Service, room, and amenities were great, especially free parking, wi-fi, in-room Kona coffee, etc. We also took a wonderful morning yoga class and rented stand-up paddle boards to take out in the bay. Everyone was extremely friendly and professional. The on-site shops and restaurant were also good and very reasonable. Great location, only 12 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginny10036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our spacious clean rooms as well as our amenities and our convenient location. I highly agree that we do offer the best value for the best location in Kona. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your return. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Wonderful stay but didn't fully take advantage of the property in our short stay as we were out exploring. Never saw the beach out back, or used the pool, or walked to the nearby shops/restaurants. However, the hotel is lovely - quite large for a Courtyard (heard this may be the largest Courtyard) with a beautiful lobby, and very welcoming and charming staff. The room was squeaky clean and comfortable, on par with all other Courtyard properties I've stayed in the past. Updated and modern, can't tell that this placed has been around and renovated (as I was told by the staff) - looks/feels brand new.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ali28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha,
We also wish you could have stayed a little longer to fully enjoy all the great amenities that we have to offer. Thank you for sharing such a lovely review for Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are thrilled that you had such a positive experience during your stay and delighted that you found our convenient location to be a good central point for exploring the Big Island. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALLENDALE, MICHIGAN
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Everything was excellent. All the staff went out of their way to please us. Rooms very clean and not lux but everything and more I expected from a courtyard. We could walk to everything in town. Was on beach. Could watch all the action on pier. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Great location in town of Kona. We were oceanfront. Liked having morning sun and afternoon shade ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAY4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and learn about their experiences at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations and so happy to learn that our staff took such good care of you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the front desk. When I had made the online reservation I had made a note that it would be my husband's birthday during our visit and they supplied us with a box of chocolates to celebrate. We booked a standard guest room with a King bed with a standard view at $186.00 per night. We were given a room on the fourth floor with a view to the parking lot, but given the rate this was to be expected. The room had modern style furniture, bedding, and appliances. The bathroom and room were large enough for two people and the fold out couch could have easily accommodated small children. The room included a small coffee pot with Kona coffee pods and a small refrigerator. We enjoyed the location of the hotel in relation to the town of Kona and the small beach. The hotel is walking distance from shops, framers markets, the boat dock, and restaurants. The hotel also has a small beach which was great for relaxing and I feel that this added the most value to the hotel. There are basically no other beach areas in Kona and you can literately snorkel from your hotel. The only downfall to the beautiful beach is that when the cruise ships come into port the hotel is unable to keep the beach private for those people staying at the hotel and the area becomes over run with day visitors looking to sun bath and use the private beach area, pool, and bar. It was my impression that the hotel was trying to turn away non-hotel visitors, but were not able to keep up with the amount of people entering the lawn and beach area. It would have been my preference that if they allowed these guests to use the area that they pay a day fee and given a wrist band like many other excursions I have seen in the past.

We sat at the Billfish bar and had several drinks throughout our stay and the prices much better than other restaurants in the area and very well made. It was a great place to watch football and mingle with other guests. We did not eat at Honu's at all during our stay because we did not feel the prices were competitive. We had Sunday brunch at Quinn's and we had breakfast at Splasher's several days. There are tons of restaurants in the area to choose from.

The hotel had a convenience store, rental stand, spa, pool, concierge, car rental, and other helpful amenities onsite and it was very easy to make all of the necessary arrangements from the hotel. The concierge with Pleasant Holidays helped us to arrange a car rental, whale watching tour, and taxis' for a reasonable price. I would suggest making arrangements for excursions as soon as possible upon arrival.

The staff was very kind and every staff member greeted us as we walked by. I felt that this was a great value and I was not disappointed with the quality of accommodations, service or location during our visit. I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to visit again the in future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank vjack0887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our friendly service as well as our amenities and our convenient location. I agree that we do offer the best value for the best location in Kona. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your return. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing