We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy to be on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmot, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Happy to be on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had been in Hawaii for almost four days by the time we left the Volcano National Park and drove to the Kona side of the island, and were very ready to be near the water! I had booked a room with a water view specifically, and that is what we got. It wasn't smashing, but it was very nice. The sun set to the right of the balcony, and if I leaned out a little I could watch it set, and the view is more of the harbor than the wide, vast, ocean, but I wasn't complaining! There was a luau going on the night we were there and when it was done, I felt as though I had gone to it -- minus the food! In fact, I didn't feel inclined to attend one "closer" because I truly felt as though I had experienced it! Including watching everyone stand in line for a long time. I was quite happy on my balcony sipping my cocktail and watching! The poolside bar had a great bartender and cocktails, and we had some pu pu's there for dinner. Breakfast was good, I had an acai bowl and the coffee is to DIE FOR! And so is being almost outside. I love Hawaii! The bed was comfortable, the parking was easy, everyone was very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your gracious review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are so happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay in our ocean view room as well as your dining experience at our restaurant. Your kind remarks for our hotel and staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    1,286
    348
    88
    58
See reviews for
763
1,297
152
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
None, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Rooms? -- great. Service? -- fantastic. Parking? -- make sure the hotel's lot is available to you at no extra charge, if at all possible, as street parking just there is pretty scant. Meals? -- sorry, badly overpriced. Hotel's own Luau? Equally overpriced, yet worth it, if just for once. Wi-fi in the rooms seems to be included in the room price, and usually works fine. Room charges? Keep looking around for deals, as Chili2014's experience of $200 is nowhere near rock-bottom if you book carefully. That said, hotels elsewhere on the island (but maybe not in Kailua-Kona proper) can be had for a half or a third of the daily rate the King Kam asks, and can be just as much fun to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Right by ocean. Open, spacious design. Hawaiian art in lobby. Good-sized rooms with pleasant balconies. Swimming pool with whirlpool; small ocean beach for kids.
Business Center with three computers, printer.

Room Tip: There was a loud "event" of some kind by the swimming pool early Saturday morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank specht3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The King K is in the heart of Kailua Kona, a sand beach with great snorkeling is literally out the front door. Also all the activities of a protected harbor; boats, ships, paddle boards, snorkelers, swimmers, waders, sunbathers, hanging out on the grassy lawn-ers. It's a happening spot.

Restaurants are right across the street. There are steak restaurants, fish restaurants, Thai restaurants, Shave ice, all within two blocks along Ali'i. See my restaurant reviews for recommendations. Obey the crosswalk, don't go to the hospital for vacation. Grocery stores are less then two blocks away, and an ABC store is located on site.

Staff is very pleasant. Check in was brutal, an hour plus. No line for Elites, so don't hope for it. Just stand in line like everyone else. Staff was apologetic about that.

Laundry on site, behind accounting near checkin. $2.25 per washer. There's also a small lending library there.

Towels for the pool and beach are provided in the closet of your room.

Air conditioner will only go down to 72, and will not function with your balcony door open.

Parking was ample and $12 a night.

The on site fitness center is large and well equipped with ocean views.

Rooms are standard Marriott Courtyard, balconies are nice but on the smaller side. An ocean view or at least a portion of ocean is always nice, that's why you are here, right?

Room Tip: Higher floor is better ocean view, check your room out before lugging your belongings,the first room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoulderBayandSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Courtyard King Kamehameha is quiet expensive for what it provides. At a fee of $200, it is just a regular Courtyard Marriott. No breakfast included, and you even have to pay for the parking a daily fee of $14! The hotel's restaurant Honu's is very expensive and the service and food are low quality. I kept asking for real milk or cream for coffee, but they only provide trans-fat creamers. They have an evening show in the weekdays and we can hear everything from our room. The hotel beach is also tiny and crowded. The hotel doesn't provide any services in the beach area either.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chili2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We couldn’t be more disappointed than to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We regret that we were not able to create a better experience for your but appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The staff was courteous, friendly, helpful - everything you'd expect and more. We had problems with our keys not working, and each time went to the front desk, they bent over backwards to fix the problem, apologizing for the inconvenience. The room was clean, extra towels in the bathroom was an added bonus. The luau at the hotel is amazing, incorporating the history of the islands, including the arrival of King Kamehameha, food was excellent.
The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of all of the restaurants on Ali'i drive and the Kona Brewery. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Kona.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huskiemom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Everything was great. I made reservations thru kayak.com so cost good and check-in was a breeze by their front desk staff. I was ok with $10/day parking. Room size was good and furnishings and furniture was new and tropical-modern. The hotel had a coffee shop and gift shop (ABC Store) and restaurant so it had all i needed. The hotel is located at the north end of Alii Drive so easy walking to restaurants and bars. I only have 2 gripes. First is we could easily hear our noisy next door neighbors talking very exuberantly as the walked by our front door or on their balcony. The other is that the shower drain plumbing does not flow freely because on 2 occasions we found sand or grit (about 3Tbsp) in our tub. I washed it down the drain the first time but it reappeared later that evening. Mind you we had not gone to the beach or even took a shower yet. There must be tons of sand in the hotel's plumbing system. The hotel restaurant Honu's is worth the buffet price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall are probably the quietest. Wish we had an ocean view. And higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spdrmn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you have expressed an appreciation for our location and room size it is definitely disappointing to learn that sounds originating from outside your guestroom and balcony were a disruption to your stay and also for the plumbing issues you encountered. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences. We hope that your overall experience was not impacted by these two things and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing