We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Solid hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had a nice time here during a 5-night stay in December. Room was clean, staff was friendly and the little beach was a surprisingly good snorkeling spot. My only warning is this: If you want to rent a car at the hotel lobby rent-a-car kiosk, you'll want to talk to them 48 hours in advance. We tried to rent a car at about 3:00pm for the next day and the guy looked at us like we were insane. Then we tried to beat the system by booking a car online for pickup at the hotel and that failed too. Having the kiosk there to rent a car is convenient, but be warned, it's not for spur-of-the moment getaways.

Otherwise, we were totally happy with the property and had a great time in Kona.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lairdgrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    1,286
    348
    88
    58
See reviews for
763
1,297
152
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Perfect location, great friendly staff and nice rooms. I can not think of a better place in Kona. Everything one would need is within walking distance. There are many shops and eating places and a decent beach just a short step away from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victorhpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Hotel is great! Centrally located on the water and close to shops in town. We found the staff at the hotel to be extremely friendly and accommodating. We were almost adopted by one of the staff members when we said we had to leave for home. Everything was perfect. Beds and rooms were very comfortable and clean. Getting our check out extended because of late flight out was no problem for them. The bar at the pool offered half price appies after 5:30 and that was perfect! Would highly recommend this to any travellers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is not a resort like Four Seasons or Hilton. However it is a very nice reort-like hotel and is ideally located (at the end of the main shopping street and many good restaurants). We made a reservation directly to secure an ocean front room on a high floor with breakfast for two for 5 nights. Although it was between Thanksgiving and Christmas, the price for this room with a great view of the Pacific Ocean was amazingly low (less than $300/night, about half of what you would pay for Four Seasons Resort in Kona). The room was large and well equipped. Staff was exceedingly nice and helpful. Bed was comfortable and everything was clean. Although this is not a resort, it had three restaurants, various shops, and a nice swimming pool and its own small but nice beach. Breakfast buffet, however, can be improved although you could order any kind of eggs, pancake or waffle to be made by a cook. Relaxing on the terrace looking the bay while sipping a glass of wine or beer after a long day of adventures on the island was fantastic. So if you are the type to go out everyday for some ventures, hiking, horseback riding, diving, fishing, day tours, etc and not just relax around resort pools or beaches, this is a great place for you.

Room Tip: Ocean front and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sensei62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Upon arrival, we had to wait till nearly 4:00 PM to check in (we tried to check in early at 12:00). Unfortunately, this was really poor timing since I was feeling ill. The staff kept assuring me they would let me know when my room was available and by 3:00 (normal check in), my patience was low. Once we checked in, the room itself was very nice and clean. However, it backed up to a large parking lot... eye sore! The hotel grounds are "alright." I was expecting a place to swim in the water, but the beach was REALLY small and crowded. The hotel is nicely situated in town and you can easily walk to restaurants/ shops. We really enjoyed walking to the farmers market.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Zoinks! The staff here are second-to-none. Polite, efficient, friendly. The room was clean, comfortable, and well maintained.

Self-parking at $12.50 a night is reasonable and there are lots of spots to be had. We tried the restaurant just once...food was tasty but, like the whole island, a bit pricey. That's to be expected, of course, when 85% of the food on the island is imported. The service was a touch slow but I'll chalk that up to "island time". We're city folks so it was a good reminder that we just need to r-e-l-a-x!

There was a bit of a whistle though the room doorway that was fixed by opening the deck door just a hair for the night. Otherwise, relatively quiet for such a big hotel with a courtyard that looked onto the beach with a partial ocean view (we were on the east side of the hotel). Lots of extra pillows too for those who like a little more than the usual one or two.

Good location with lots of different places to visit//eat nearby. Would definitely stay here again.

Bonus: We had a late night departure at the hotel so they stored our baggage for the day at no extra cost.

Room Tip: West side gets morning sun! East side gets a free view of the luau! You pick. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photographer_smurf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your gracious review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are so happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay as well as your dining experience at our restaurant. It is always our desire to provide outstanding service to our guests so that they feel welcomed, relaxed and completely cared for. All your feedback is appreciated and we hope that you will return for another visit soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked at the King Kamehameha hotel for our 5 year anniversary not knowing what to expect as neither my wife or myself had ever been to the big island. I was pleasantly surprised, the staff was awesome and the hotel was close to everything (food, shopping, beaches,etc...).
Nicer beaches and better sightseeing is outside the Kona area and worth the time driving. Expect to pay a little more for everything as it is Hawaii. The restaurant attached to the hotel is descent, not a five star but a good three star restaurant.
All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Aloha,
We are thrilled that on your first trip to the Big Island you chose to stay with us to celebrate your special occasion. Congratulations on your 5 year anniversary! Your many wonderful compliments for Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel are greatly appreciated, thank you. We are pleased to learn that you and your wife had a great stay and enjoyed our accommodations in addition to the friendliness of our staff. We hope that on your next trip to the Island you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back for another great stay. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing