We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service, Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Perfect Location”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Perfect Location, walking distance to everything in town. awesome beach, excellent service!

From the moment we arrived, we were greeting a warm Aloha by Kirsten at the front desk. She was very helpful in explaining the area and seemed very willing to discuss the attrations around kona and answer any questions we had. After entering the room she was very responsive followed through on every request we made throughout the week.

The location could not be any closer to everything and with its own little beach with paddle board and kayak rentals there was hardly and reason to venture elsewhere for water activities.

When requesting a late checkout we were deined at first by Lee, but shortly after I requested again through Mina and she was more than happy to extend me? I was a bit of an inconvenience to bring my bags down twice but all was well, I had to good of a time and Mina seemed like she had outstanding customer service skills for me to grumble.

Mahalos King Kam Courtyard!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreys V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    1,319
    365
    96
    63
See reviews for
796
1,338
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel to finish out our Honeymoon and really enjoyed a little final beach time with the beach on site. It was a great place to try paddle boarding, walk the main street with all the shops and also stumble home from the Kona Brewery. The hotel bar was a nice place for a casual drink as well. The banana daquiri was to die for according to my wife.

The room was very clean and nicely put together. We truly enjoyed our stay here. Jackie Rey's was a great restaurant to eat at. Definitely the best meal I had on the big island.

The only downside to this place was the parking was $12/day, but it wasn't that big a deal to us. My wife would also like to point out that "Tropical Frozen Yogurts" was one of the only shops in the world that carries Dole Whip outside of Disney World and the Dole plantation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenlocnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Congratulations on your recent nuptials! Thank you so much for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us as part of your honeymoon and that you enjoyed your experience at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Second stay and will be back. Great restaurants within walking distance, plus hotel dining room (very good). Was upgraded to a full ocean view, but second floor. Still fine, as quiet, but you see a lot of roof on floor 2. Large rooms and great beds. The ONLY problem was that my room smelled. It was coming from the closet. I had housekeeping come back several times, but the spray didn't work AND it smelled as bad as the closet odor. This was a very BAD smell that seeped into the room. My friend's room was fine, so it was just #253 that had this. I should have at least have been offered a can of Fabreze! All else was fine, but check your room on check-in, before you go out for dinner, so you will have a different room option if you run into this.

Room Tip: Ask for a "quiet" room. Check for odors, although most rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alisonstenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for sharing your feedback. We regret that your recent stay was not as you had anticipated and we apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with the closet odor. We will share your comments with our management team so that we may continuously improve the experience for future guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and to exceed all your expectations. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Right by the beach. Convenient for going out to a restaurant or shopping. Had a big parking so great for drivers too. The facility was spacious and staff was friendly. I had a package shipped for me there prior to my stay but they kindly received it for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gonta6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gymea, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this beachfront hotel and I am glad we chose a Oceanfront Room which was on the 4th floor with excellent views. The hotel has a small safe beach and an excellent inground pool. There is also a beach hut which hires out beach necessities including snorkling gear, kayaks and standup paddle boards. It provides free WiFi for those who find a need to hook up to the internet. It is right on the waterfront with many bars, grills and shops close by. The hotel has a restaurant which serves a good breakfast although the buffett is a little pricey. Having said that it is excellent fare and has inside outside seating which looks out onto to the hotel gardens down to the beach. On the Sunday we arrived we went to the Hawaiian Dinner and Show which is held in the hotel grounds by the little harbour and was good value. They serve a good Mango Daiquiri at the Poolside Bar. The staff were always pleasant and helpful topping off a good 3 days on the Big Island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobGymeaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted that you had such a great time and enjoyed the Island Breeze Luau dinner and show. We are pleased to learn that you had a nice time while staying with us and enjoyed your accommodations and amenities in addition to the friendliness of our staff. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I cannot say that the view we had was any good. It was a partial ocean view; which was more of a joke…
But the rooms were super nice for the price we paid.
Excellent staff, even when they were crazy busy.

Security really helped me out after I had an accident on the beach with some urchins...

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have the tennis court as your main view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you have expressed an appreciation for our staff it is definitely disappointing to learn that your accommodations were not as anticipated in terms of the view. We are grateful for your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back again. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My family and I lived in Kailua-Kona in the late 90's. We like to stay in town, since that is where most of our memories are, but we've always bemoaned the lack of first rate accommodations (over the years we've stayed at most of the bigger hotels in town and in Keauhou). During the '90s and '00's Kona-town hotel room inventory was "tired" to say the least.
While the Courtyard is no Kohala-style resort, the recently renovated "King Kam" has undergo a remarkable transformation since our last visit in 2007. Our room, an oceanfront unit on the 3rd floor, was entirely remodeled and a joy to stay in. All of the physical plant items (A/C, fridge, tv) were in good working order, bedding was clean and comfortable, and public areas on the floor were clearly remodeled as well.
The common areas on the lobby level were beautiful. Those familiar with the King Kam know that the common areas in the lobby are vast, especially between the two wings of the hotel. This area has been dedicated to local art, in particular the works of Herb Kane, one of Hawaii's most deservedly beloved artists. The effect is one of an art gallery. There is an electronic "big board" with local information such as weather and news in an area that also features an airline check-in kiosk and a comfortable sitting area with books to read (I spent a half hour enthralled in a book on the history of breakfast cereal!) There is a well-equipped fitness center now and there are yoga classes that seem well attended by hotel guests. The pool has been upgrade to an infinity pool.
Last, but not least, the hotel staff seems to have taken a turn with the conversion to a Marriot property. Our check-in was speedy and courteous and we noticed an urgency among the desk staff that has not existed in the past. The staff member who worked with us, "Lee", was particularly good spirited and helpful. The hotel cleaning and maintenance staff was courteous at every turn; one fellow even held an elevator for me because he spotted me, at some distance, coming down the hall from my room. We dined at the pool bar on both nights of our visit and were impressed with the quality of the service (not to mention the food!).
Simply speaking, we had a great stay at this hotel. Marriot and the current staff deserve a big round of applause for turning this property into a winner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hirunningman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad you had such a lovely time during your return visit to the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We have been receiving a lot of great comments about our hotel renovations; providing guests with many wonderful upgrades to include a 24 hour fitness center as well as a full service spa with a Yoga studio, upgraded infinity pool and a newly added library with a business center equipped with printers.
We take pride in extending to our guests the highest level of service and the best in island hospitality. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and we are glad that our efforts were successful. We have a great property but I think it’s the staff that ensures each guest with a seamless stay from check in to check out. Positive critiques such as yours are an added inspiration for us to continue to reach for the highest level of service standards.
We cannot thank you enough for all your positive feedback and for expressing your impressions with us. Our entire team looks forward to your return stay with us.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing