We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always stay here when visiting Kona on Elks Business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Aiea, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always stay here when visiting Kona on Elks Business”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very nice hotel. Recently the rooms have been redone and are very nice. Hotel is centrally located in Kona so you can walk to most places of interest in Kona. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: For a great view of the Pacific Ocean ask for a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    1,310
    359
    96
    62
See reviews for
781
1,331
156
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our very first time visiting the Big Island, in Kona. We weren't quite sure of where to stay at first when booking our trip through Costco. Further, the 3-star rating from Costco Travel wasn't too appealing at first. But, we decided to go for it and try to stay at this place anyway. To our surprise this hotel is more than what we expected.
The front lobby is very clean and spacious. It's also very well decorated. Very welcoming.
The front desk staff is very courteous and efficient at what they do. We were pleased.
The room we stayed in, Partial Ocean View was excellent. It was clean, spacious, and everything was working well. The bathroom was clean and had a very good selection of amenities.
The fitness center was also great. Equipment was clean and tidy.
Finally, the wi-fi. It's superb! First of all, it's free or included with our stay and more importantly it works, and works efficiently. There are many hotels that I've stayed at that either offers free wi-fi but it doesn't work at all. Or, you pay hefty fee for using wi-fi when you're already paying a hefty room rate. But not this place! I love it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 6th floor. That's the top floor of the building. It seems to be very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derektem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Aloha,
We are thrilled that on your first trip to Hawaii you chose to stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted that you had such a great time and enjoyed your accommodations as well the complimentary Wi-Fi and our 24 hour fitness center. We appreciate your kind comments for our staff and we hope that we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I attended a wedding at the Courtyard and chose this location as our hotel. We made a good choice.The property was recently renovated and the rooms were clean and comfortable and the beds extra comfortable as usual with Courtyard's. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We used the pool and the bar and food service there was excellent. We noticed on evolution going on at the hotel and that was duct cleaning. I appreciate when a facility takes the time to do that to protect the health of staff and guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navybng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased that we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations and a bed that allowed you to get a comfortable night’s rest. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our pool and Billfish Poolside Bar and Grille and also the great service provided by our staff. Your kind review is sincerely appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay here for a week. Hotel is well located, and has recently been renovated and updated. Rooms were clean, well equipped and spacious. There is a lovely little beach in front, nice gym and pool area too. Excellent value, very reasonably priced compared to other places around - although the other places are probably more luxurious or exotic, but this place was perfectly adequate for us. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boenie-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our spacious clean rooms as well as our amenities and our convenient location. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your return. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The King Kam was great. The staff was wonderful, always a smile and going out of their way to help. The hotel was a pleasure, beautiful pictures of Hawaiian history in lobby, grounds were well maintained, pool and restaurants excellent, and location could not be better, we walked easily to neighboring establishments. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and ocean. Watched the outriggers go out each morning. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kitty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Aloha and happy anniversary! Thank you for your review and your compliments. We were pleased to learn that you and your husband enjoyed celebrating your 35th wedding anniversary with us. We are delighted that our location, amenities and accommodations all fully met your expectations. Your kind review is sincerely appreciated and we look forward to your next stay with us. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were told this place got a facelift a few years ago and it shows. From the outside, it's a fairly nondescript pair of rectangular buildings, but once you're on property, from the very crisp landscaping to the cleanliness everywhere to the facilities (pool, sandy beach with ocean toys rental, onsite eateries, ABC store attached) it's really one of the best (if not the best) Courtyard we've ever stayed at and we're rewards members from way back. Staff were professional, courteous and friendly to a person except for a single incident when a housekeeper ignored the 'do not disturb' sign, failed to knock or announce herself and just opened the door right up . . . whoooops, a little embarrassing for her (could have been much worse) and the sole reason a 5-star rating was not given - that sort of thing is hotel procedure 101 and is too fundamental to ignore.

The only other quibble was with Honu's Restaurant getting a little too cute with their entrees at dinnertime - many of the dishes just have too much going on - 4, 5, or 6 different flavors all competing for your attention. The food was good, but a handful of very simple basics done extremely well would be a plus.

Can't beat the location - a short walk to a dozen places to eat, lots of shops, surf, SUP, snorkel lessons and rentals, and if you like people-watching, the cruise ship crowds offload right at the west end of the property and swarm the area looking for something fun to do for 4 hours or so before they're herded back onboard. It used to be only one day a week, but during our visit this time there were 3 different vessels belching out mostly blue-haired tourists.

Next time we're in Kona and not renting a house, the King Kam will be our spot.

Room Tip: West Tower seems to enjoy better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReedTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing such a descriptive review of your stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We truly appreciate that you have shared how much you enjoyed your stay and included so many details about what to expect and what you discovered around Kona town. Please accept our apologies for the incident you encountered during your stay with our housekeeping staff. All guest feedback is taken seriously and we will certainly share yours with our management team. Thank you for alerting us to your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kona. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Considering the location and the quality, we got a very good rate at the King Kamehameha. The hotel lobby actually has some interesting exhibits on Hawaiian history, including a beautiful outrigger and what must be one of the biggest fish ever caught on the island. There's a nice, if small, sand beach, and you can walk easily to Kailuah-Kona's strip of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank one-womans-opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Aloha,
I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our sandy beach and the Hawaiian cultural exhibits. I do agree that we do offer the best value for the best location in Kona. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,819 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Marriott, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing