We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Tiki Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Village Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,204)
Filter reviews
3,204 results
Traveler rating
1,171
1,422
413
116
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,171
1,422
413
116
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabc storewest towersmall beachthe big islandhawaiian historywithin walking distancepartial ocean viewisland breezecoffee shoppaddle boardsshops and restaurantspool barhotel is in a great locationloved this hotelbreakfast buffetocean frontali'i drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,629 - 1,634 of 3,204 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I attended a wedding at the Courtyard and chose this location as our hotel. We made a good choice.The property was recently renovated and the rooms were clean and comfortable and the beds extra comfortable as usual with Courtyard's. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We used the pool and the bar and food service there was excellent. We noticed on evolution going on at the hotel and that was duct cleaning. I appreciate when a facility takes the time to do that to protect the health of staff and guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navybng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased that we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations and a bed that allowed you to get a comfortable night’s rest. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our pool and Billfish Poolside Bar and Grille and also the great service provided by our staff. Your kind review is sincerely appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay here for a week. Hotel is well located, and has recently been renovated and updated. Rooms were clean, well equipped and spacious. There is a lovely little beach in front, nice gym and pool area too. Excellent value, very reasonably priced compared to other places around - although the other places are probably more luxurious or exotic, but this place was perfectly adequate for us. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boenie-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our spacious clean rooms as well as our amenities and our convenient location. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your return. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The King Kam was great. The staff was wonderful, always a smile and going out of their way to help. The hotel was a pleasure, beautiful pictures of Hawaiian history in lobby, grounds were well maintained, pool and restaurants excellent, and location could not be better, we walked easily to neighboring establishments. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and ocean. Watched the outriggers go out each morning. Great view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kitty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Aloha and happy anniversary! Thank you for your review and your compliments. We were pleased to learn that you and your husband enjoyed celebrating your 35th wedding anniversary with us. We are delighted that our location, amenities and accommodations all fully met your expectations. Your kind review is sincerely appreciated and we look forward to your next stay with us. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were told this place got a facelift a few years ago and it shows. From the outside, it's a fairly nondescript pair of rectangular buildings, but once you're on property, from the very crisp landscaping to the cleanliness everywhere to the facilities (pool, sandy beach with ocean toys rental, onsite eateries, ABC store attached) it's really one of the best (if not the best) Courtyard we've ever stayed at and we're rewards members from way back. Staff were professional, courteous and friendly to a person except for a single incident when a housekeeper ignored the 'do not disturb' sign, failed to knock or announce herself and just opened the door right up . . . whoooops, a little embarrassing for her (could have been much worse) and the sole reason a 5-star rating was not given - that sort of thing is hotel procedure 101 and is too fundamental to ignore.

The only other quibble was with Honu's Restaurant getting a little too cute with their entrees at dinnertime - many of the dishes just have too much going on - 4, 5, or 6 different flavors all competing for your attention. The food was good, but a handful of very simple basics done extremely well would be a plus.

Can't beat the location - a short walk to a dozen places to eat, lots of shops, surf, SUP, snorkel lessons and rentals, and if you like people-watching, the cruise ship crowds offload right at the west end of the property and swarm the area looking for something fun to do for 4 hours or so before they're herded back onboard. It used to be only one day a week, but during our visit this time there were 3 different vessels belching out mostly blue-haired tourists.

Next time we're in Kona and not renting a house, the King Kam will be our spot.

Room Tip: West Tower seems to enjoy better views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReedTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing such a descriptive review of your stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We truly appreciate that you have shared how much you enjoyed your stay and included so many details about what to expect and what you discovered around Kona town. Please accept our apologies for the incident you encountered during your stay with our housekeeping staff. All guest feedback is taken seriously and we will certainly share yours with our management team. Thank you for alerting us to your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kona. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Considering the location and the quality, we got a very good rate at the King Kamehameha. The hotel lobby actually has some interesting exhibits on Hawaiian history, including a beautiful outrigger and what must be one of the biggest fish ever caught on the island. There's a nice, if small, sand beach, and you can walk easily to Kailuah-Kona's strip of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank one-womans-opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Aloha,
I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our sandy beach and the Hawaiian cultural exhibits. I do agree that we do offer the best value for the best location in Kona. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews