We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
schaumburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is in a good location for easy walking to restaurants and grocery stores, and has a small semi-private beach. Be careful if opting for ocean view room. We did and had a room overlooking the busy street with only a partial view of the small bay and marina. Save your money and go for a courtyard room. Hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Overall a very nice hotel in a great location, but really Marina front, rather than ocean.

Room Tip: Oean view rooms not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of you stay including our Hotel staff, comfortable rooms, and convenient location. We sincerely regret that you your accommodations were not as you had hoped in terms of the view. We hope you will allow us to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the Island. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    1,286
    348
    88
    58
See reviews for
763
1,297
152
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived to find Sunday at noon to discover it was the day following the Ironman competition. Despite that the hotel was extremely busy, the front desk gave us excellent service. Our room on the 5th floor East wing overlooked a low-level roof, the hotel's other wing and the parking lot on which post-Ironman events were be staged. We then had the experience of hearing the closing ceremony and the following night the volunteer appreciation event (it is unbelievable how many volunteers there were for this race), so like or not, we somewhat attended. The hotel is the only one on the small, only beach in Kona, very centrally located to town and in walking distances to stores and restaurants. The ABC store next to the hotel actually had decent prices for wine, soft drinks etc. The rooms are basic, nothing fancy.

We left to stay one night in Hilo and returned the next day to this hotel. The staff at the front desk recognized us and checked us in with no effort and, perhaps to reward us for our return, this time gave us a front-facing room on the 6th (top) floor,which gave us a pleasant view of the bay and town. The Ironmen had left and this time the town was surrendered to cruise ship travelers, who gave it a completely different feeling. Overall our experience with the hotel, even at this very busy time was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the in the East or West building or one of the pool and beach front views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

There is a car rental counter in the lobby of this hotel. This is the best location! It is just steps from the pier where the cruise ship docks, you book online for fantastic prices, the cars are located ON SITE!!! No shuttle to another location. At the end of the day, you fill up with gas, park the car, mark mileage , date, parking spot number, put the key in the envelop and leave at the front desk. Easiest cruise car rental ever! We had a blast driving to different snorkel spots...cook's cove, two step. Had a fantastic day. Dollar rental car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had the best time at this hotel. It all started with a warm welcome from the front desk ladies and continued onward after that. Its situated on a nice beach with lots of good restaurants around. We easily booked tours to Mauna Kea and Volcano National Park with local tour companies and had a great time. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and I loved the bottom floor of the hotel. It was very much like a museum with all kinds of royal portraits from the Hawaiian Royal Family, artifacts of Hawaiian life, and the story of King Kamehameha.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristinMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. We’re glad to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your room accommodations as well as our Hawaiian cultural museum featuring well-known artist Herb Kane. We appreciate your kind words for our staff and your honest feedback of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Kona. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Room was comfortable with a nice ocean view. Staff was very attentive to our needs and the hotel has one of very few beaches right on the property. Hotel is centrally located to good shopping and attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imsograteful
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our family stayed 17 days in July. My niece and her kids rented a one bedroom, it has 2 bathrooms and 2 balconies the one bedrooms are located in the East tower. The one bedrooms are very spacious with a very large walk in closet. She had a corner unit very close to the pool. We also rented two Ocean front units in the West Tower. I prefer the West tower and wish they had one bedrooms in the West tower. Our rooms were perfect just right for 2 people. Nicholas was very attentive to our family’s needs. Our trip would not have been the same without all of his efforts. The Pool side grill has very cold beer and some nice little snacks. We had an issue with one of the waitresses about eating some outside pizza. I think she is tired of her job and was not very polite. The management was great about listing to our suggestions on the bringing in outside food rule. We go to Kona every year; we have always stayed in the Hale Kona Kai condominiums. We loved the King Kamehameha and our family has decided we will choose King Kam for all of our future trips. Kona Boys are located right on the beach for your rentals. You can even rent an umbrella with chairs that they will set up for you. The dolphins come very close to the entrance of the little cove. We rented a Kayak to get a closer look at the dolphins. Across the street is Quinn’s almost by the Sea, voted best fish and chips on the island. They also have a fantastic garden burger. The ABC store comes in very handy. There is also a coffee shop that substituted our addiction to Starbucks. We have reservations for 11 nights in January. So happy to be going back.

Room Tip: The west tower is away from the street so it is quieter. Higher floors give you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imsograteful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you and your family had a great time at our hotel during your visit and enjoyed the views from your rooms and all the amenities that we offer. At Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel we truly care about our guests and it is our number one priority to create an exceptional experience for them.
We are thankful that you and your family enjoyed your stay well enough to plan on seeing us again January 2014. Our entire team looks forward to your return. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey/Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great hotel if you want to be right in the middle of town. We prefer to walk to dinner, and drive as least as possible on vacations. We walked to dinner, bars, shopping and farmers markets. There's a little beach right in front of the hotel, along with a grassy patch perfect for sunbathing. The hotel is pretty big. We stayed right after Marriott took over and it was in transition. The hotel is definitely older, and even with the renovation, there are signs of wear in the hotel. The worst was an odd smell that I couldn't quite figure out. It wasn't awful, but I have a super-nose and It bothered me. I got over it in a couple days. Never even bothered my husband.

The pool is small, nothing fancy, but was never overcrowded. The hot tub on the other hand was always full. We often had to stalk and wait to get in it. They did have a wheelchair lift to get in and out of the hot tub and pool.

There were 2 restaurants on site. The pool bar was a perfect little cozy space. There were tables around the pool that extended toward the beach for casual dining. The more upscale restaurant had actual dinners. We only ate at the pool bar and was very good. All food comes from the one kitchen. The restaurant has nice outside firepits. Perfect for a late night drink.

There are a ton of conference rooms. TONS of art and artifacts. I was neat to stroll around and look at them. There is a small shopping area connected to the hotel, with an ABC store, coffee shop (cafe), jeweler, Yoga studio.

The gym across from the pool was clean.

The best part of this hotel was the proximity to everything. We did rent a car for a couple days just for travel to Hilo and Wakaloa Village, but didn't really need it in Kona. We walked to dinner and breakfast. Explored that area by foot.

We did have a problem when we checked in. I reserved a wheelchair accessible room with roll in shower. There was a misunderstanding, and the room we reserved wasn't available. The front desk was accommodating and insisted we would receive the room with out needs. My husband is wheelchair bound and requires this. They held our luggage and suggested we go to the pool bar for dinner and drink, which we did. Hours later we received a call that our room was ready. I believe they must have done a lot of moving. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking the ocean. It was fantastic. We had booked the ocean front room, so the suite was an upgrade. The staff were fantastic and nice, even when I was very upset worried about my husband showering all week in a room that wouldn't fit his needs. We've always had such helpful and friendly service at Marriott's, which is why we've stuck with them for years.

Also, you can pick up paddle boarding and other equipment right in front of the hotel. There is also a dock for boat trips.

Room Tip: Ocean front views are fantastic. South/east side has better city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing