We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed a week. Great location for all the activities. Standard Marriott Courtyard except for the fantastic art displays in the lobby also the pool bar and restaurant were great. We did not go to the Lualua but watched it from their balcony with friends. Everything was great at this hotel but it had a funky smell probably from the flood. They kept putting some kind of perfume which was worse than the smell. I always carry a small bottle of febreze which cured the problem in our room. Would stay here again if in this area. Great little beach. An ABC store is in the hotel if you need anything. Stayed open until 11:00 pm great little coffee shop that opens early 5:300 am.

Room Tip: Higher with beach view but I believe all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokedogaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    1,336
    371
    98
    64
See reviews for
812
1,351
160
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed just one night (we thought it unwise to drive any further from the airport at night after long flights--highly recommend this strategy because roads can be dark, winding and steep). Perfect location and room for our needs. Room was as expected for a Courtyard in an older property; neat, comfortable, the usual bathroom amenities. We had no problem with noise, or with excess light through the lanai door. Arrived too late for dinner, but cold drinks and snacks at the poolside bar were perfect (excellent poke and pork sliders). Friendly staff all around. Early rise due to time change, but the coffee shop attached to the building (Menehune) also opened very early--really good coffee, too. So nice to sip coffee and watch the sky lighten into morning at the small beach. Nice start to our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrsAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel for the start of your vacation in Hawaii. We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location, the comfort and the serviced provided by our hotel and staff as well as your dining experience at Billfish Poolside Bar & Grille. Our main lobby has recently undergone a renovation with more sitting areas to plan the day’s events or to enjoy freshly brewed 100% Kona coffee and witness one of nature’s beauty unfold before you on our beachfront. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand haven, mi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for a person traveling alone and/or without a car. The hotel is close to many restaurants and shops. The concierge was extremely helpful. I probably could have booked the same trips on-line for the same price, but she listened carefully to what I was looking for and identified specific trips to meet my needs. All three trips that I planned with her were exactly as advertised.

My room was spacious and very clean. Yes, there is that wind tunnel noise, but it was not difficult to fix and really only noticeable when entering or exiting the room. I didn't have problems with the sun shining into the room and waking me up in the morning, but I was up every morning by 4:30 so not an issue.

There is a small beach in front of the hotel. If you are into people watching, the beach and related activities were very enjoyable. Early each morning, canoe teams could be observed practicing. A wide variety of tourists and locals use the beach. Kayaks and snorkeling equipment can be rented. The Ironman starts next to the pier next to the hotel. With the event taking place later this week, there were many people already many people on the island preparing.

I felt very safe in the hotel and around the property. I would agree with some reviewers that the amenities were not particularly special, but only if the expectation is that this is a resort. It is a very reasonably priced hotel with all of the basics plus more--pool, restaurants, shops, spa, beach and great staff.

This was a combination business and solo trip. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a Kailua-Kona experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieofstandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback and for sharing such a great review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We were so pleased to learn that you had a very nice time while staying with us and enjoyed your accommodations in addition to the helpful staff. Thank you for letting us know how happy you were with your stay and for your recommendation; it would be a true pleasure for us to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the area. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nothing fancy here, just an older property. Clean, but had a pungent "clean" odor about the place. I think it doubles as a wind tunnel- we didn't figure out until the last day that you should lay a towel along the bottom of the doorway to eliminate the howling of wind blowing through the place. No special amenities here, although the pool was very nice, almost felt heated. They charge $12/day for parking, but I don't think they charged us a resort fee. They have a small tidal pool where you can rent kayaks and what not. Very nice location- truthfully, I don't think this island's resorts are modernized like they are on Oahu. Given this, this property was as decent as you can get for the price. It was easy to get in and out of the resort, parking was behind the building, and seemed pretty safe (there is a gate attendant you must present your parking pass when you come and go). Shopping and restaurants were all over this area- driving and walking distance, To save money, we went to the grocery and bought breakfast and snack items- ate out most all other times.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parasols2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here six nights in an ocean front suite. The room was very nice, with a great view and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Although the louvre panel didn't block the light out it had a very comfortable bed. The location was also very good and it has the only place to swim in Kona so if that is important then it is either stay here or don't stay in Kona or get a car to drive to the beach.
We didn't have a car for the first few days and managed to get around by booking people to pick us up or booking trips which left from the Kailua Pier. It would probably be easier staying in Kona with a car.
We booked all our trips through the concierge there which was very helpful although a little slow at times even though it was not peak season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megsy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate to stay at the King Kam hotel for 3 days in September. Staff and hotel facilities were truly outstanding!! Elson Mora, Bellman at the hotel deserves exceptional credit for travel advice, helpfulness, and showing the true Aloha Spirit.
Thank you to the entire staff, and a very special thank you to ELson

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted that we could provide you with accommodations that exceeded your expectations and happy to learn that our bellman provided you with excellent service. Your kind remarks for our hotel and staff is greatly appreciated and I’ll be sure to share your comments with everyone. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you and your husband back again soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We reserved a suite for 2 nights and the place was okay but not very comfortable. The beds were pretty bad. Breakfast was not included, The rollaway bed that we had to pay for was really the pits. More like a hammock! It was clean and it was nice having a small balcony in each room in the suite. The view of the bay is nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alka_dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,864 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing