We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Courtyard in a Great Kona Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superior Courtyard in a Great Kona Location”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

During our recent trip to the Big Island we decided to stay one night in Kona before our scheduled stay in the Waikoloa resort area began. We were going right after the Labor Day weekend and after watching the rates and availability online were comfortable waiting to pick a place until we got there. Had read mostly positive reviews of the King Kam so it was one of two we drove up to and checked out.

As a Marriott Rewards member I know it's pretty hard to go wrong with any Marriott property. Almost guaranteed to get a clean and comfortable room and consistent service. I guess the thing that concerned me before arriving was the Courtyard brand as often times I've found it to be a mid to lower range property on the Marriott scale.

Bottom line is this is the nicest Courtyard I've ever stayed. It was an easy choice after having walked into the Royal Kona and seeing the location difference of the Sheraton. We wanted to be able to walk the Kona shops and restaurants the one night we were there. The King Kam location is perfect for that. Although it seems to be designed more for conference and event stays and less for resort style relaxation I can still see how it would make a great home base to explore the island.

Interior lobby and public areas are new and have a island majestic feel to it. Interesting island royalty paintings and artifacts add to the historical location. A small beach which our ocean front room looked out upon looked to make a great spot for swimming and sand play, although we did not have time to enjoy. The hotel has several shops within it including an ABC Store and a great coffee bar/cafe that opened at 5am.

Our ocean front room had a decent view of the small beach, ocean and island. However we also looked down on the unattractive roof of the bottom floor (conference room or restaurant?). My suggestion would be if the King Kam is your choice for only part of your stay to hold off on the ocean front/view and save it for somewhere else on the island. The room was newly remodeled, large and clean. Beds were a ok. Mattress seemed to sink a little low for my taste. Not sure if it was needing replaced or softer by choice.

Although the property had obviously been remodeled in recent years the exterior (especially the back side by parking lot) and the hallways to the rooms seemed to take lower priority. Not the case with the rooms and lobby, though.

As far as Kona goes...it reminded us of Santa Cruz or Capitola in California. Pretty typical beach town and great if you want some night life and easy access to touristy shops. Outside the "village" area it has everything you need with Target, Wal-Mart, Costco, Safeway and other name brand stores.

If we stay in Kona again we would not hesitate to go back to the King Kam! -Cheers

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LifeasUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel we appreciate and value all guest feedback. We are delighted we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations. Thank you for your comments and hope that we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    1,335
    370
    97
    63
See reviews for
809
1,348
159
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you like being able to walk in a small happening Kona town this is it. Nice pool, bar, restaurant and a beach too. Stayed for a week and the room was clean, well furbished and comfortable. Staff was absolutely top notch as well - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms look directly out to the ocean, others are partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindon, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My sister and I arrived in Kona and easily found the hotel next to the beach with great parking security and settled into our room. The beds were comfortable, the room air conditioned well, cute little balcony looking out into the bay. Loved the original historical paintings done by Kane depicting King Kamehameha's generation and loved seeing the bird-feathered cloak the king wore. We had seen it 50 years ago when Bishop Museum was just a warehouse, not found in the beautiful new Museum and wanted to see it again. We enjoyed Kane's paintings of the annual canoe races held in this bay in the little shop. The next day we went across the street to the restaurant at the top which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner to have a breakfast of eggs and pancakes which were delicious. We saw the heiau (temple replica) out in the bay so walked over there to see what we could see.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank LindonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha,
We were pleased to hear that your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel was such a great experience. It is always nice to read reviews from guests and to learn about what made their visit memorable. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the cultural displays and artwork of renowned artist Herb Kane. Thank you very much for your review; and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in Kona for the second half of our Big Island vacation, the first half being in Hilo. I must say that I am glad I booked with Courtyard King Kamehameha Kona Beach Hotel because it is in the heart of the city centre. It is walking distance from all the shops and restaurants and the snorkeling outfit and other offices of the other activities we booked. It was just very convenient. There is also several other strip malls close by . I have 2 20 something sons who wanted to check out the bar scene. Although there were a few (Humpy's and Huggo's on the Rocks...), they were a bit disappointed how early these bars closed. Hilo was very quiet at night and they were hoping Kona would be more alive. I guess you have to go to Honolulu for real night life! During the day, it is bustling. I guess because the people from the cruise ship adds to the business. But at 10:00 at night, we were strolling to an almost empty downtown.
The hotel is quite old but clean. There is a small beach right in the back which is a great plus because not all hotels in Kona have direct beach access. This one has. We also attended a luao right by the beach area and I liked that we only had to walk over. I booked 2 rooms. One with a king and another with 2 Queens but there was a miscommunication and they did not book the king so we had to change to the 2nd floor instead because I needed both rooms right beside each other. Because of this, our room had no view at all! There is a nice balcony in all the rooms with a table and 2 chairs if you want to sit outside. Out King bedroom was a good size room with a sofa and table and another smaller round table with 2 chairs. That's good coz we can all hang out there and play cards, watch TV and just chat. I like that they leave 3 beach towels in the room so you don't have to bother to keep asking when you need it. There is also 2 bottles of cold water in the fridge for $3.00 a bottle. There is a safe in the room which is convenient. They have a coffee maker also. The bathroom is a good size but it is outdated and the water did not drain well from the tub. Housekeeping did a good job in keeping it clean. I had to call maintenance the first day because the aircon did not cool the room as I wanted it. They came promptly and fixed the problem. My kid's room was cool enough but they also had a draining problem in the tub. It was not so bad though, it was tolerable. Their room with 2 queen beds were also a good size. Our king bed was nice and firm with plenty of nice, fluffy pillows. It was very comfortable and it was quiet, no noise from the hallway or adjacent rooms can be heard. It was a very restful sleep every night!. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a nice gallery in the lobby with portraits of the royal family. There is an office center where you can print your airline tickets. I was not able to try their restaurant although the menu seems good, We always ate out. There is a nice ABC store you can access from the lobby which sells souvenirs, chocolates, munchies, soda, juice, beer, alcohol..etc that is open late ( I think til 10:30 or 11:00 pm), a coffee shop and some other shops ,all accessible from the hotel lobby. There is parking for $12.00 a day. It's okey because it is convenient and it's a huge lot so we never had any problem looking for a spot. There is a small gym and a small pool. I will not hesitate to stay in this hotel again and I will recommend it to friends. We had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel so you can pick a nice room with a view. I booked with expedia and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your vacation, and was able to take advantage of our convenient location and all the services and amenities that we offer. Although we were happy to learn that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay we do however regret that your accommodations were not as you had hoped in terms of the view. Thank you so much for your recommendation; we hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked this hotel for our first few nights in Kona and it has an undeniably superb location. We wanted somewhere we could chill out for a few days and get over our jetlag which it achieved nicely. You don't really need a car if you stay here as you can get around on foot pretty easily - a car would just get you places a bit more quickly!
The hotel has a large shopping mall but many of the shops seemed a bit pointless to be honest and there were a few empty lots. The pool and gym were small in contrast and with such a large hotel it seems like a shame that the space was used in this way. It also seemed as though non-guests could use the pool which meant that it became pretty crowded at the weekend. There is a small public beach directly in front of the hotel which is lovely but not very private if that is what you are after.
The staff were pleasant in general. One server at the pool bar was exceedingly helpful in finding menu choices for me due to allergies but apart from this service was average in general.
The hotel itself was clean and presentable. The decor is nice but not outstanding. They do however have some lovely artwork and history relating to king kamehameha in the lobby area which is a nice touch but feels slightly out of place in a hotel.
Overall it just felt like a place to stay rather than somewhere full of Aloha. It did what we needed it to do and not much more. Its location will always guarantee custom so they don't really have to try to improve in any way. For us it felt average - but that is just our opinion.

Room Tip: Book a sea view if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for 11 nights and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The location is excellent - many restaurants and activities within walking distance. We had a standard room on the top floor and faced into the hotel - from our balcony we could see the beach and the car park and it was very quiet. The room was large and the beds incredibly comfortable. The staff are friendly and efficient, however we found the service at the pool bar quite slow. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to locate yourself within the town of Kailua Kona.

Room Tip: Request a high floor not facing the road if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulipsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have been going to Hawaii, at least yearly, for the last twelve years and have stayed at this property twice. I initially decided to give this property a try over where I usually stay on the Big Island (full-service Marriott that is about 30 minutes away) because I was looking to change things up and to hopefully spend less time in the car. The experience was very different than staying at the other property - both properties gave me a very rewarding experience but different.

The biggest difference is location. This property is very nice with a small beach that is shared with people coming off the cruise ships (there is a very small hotel only chair section but this only has like 10 chairs). The location is at the very beginning of the tourist area of Kona which gives you great walking access to lots of places to shop, eat, and drink/party. This location is also of Hawaiian historical significance that has some of that recreated on the property. If you stay here - the only time you need to get in your car is to go see other sites on the island or to go play golf. Besides that - everything else is easily within walking distance. The pool is rather small (by Hawaii standards) and the chairs are taken up quickly. But the location is great for somebody who wants to be able to walk to everything, have a beach to sit on, and be at a pretty nice hotel. The other Marriott is located in the resort area of Waikoloa which is about 30 to 45 minutes north of Kona. Waikoloa area is more about the resort than tourist feel. It has a golf course along with several high-end restaurants and shops that are at the beginning of the area. The Marriott is the first of many resorts that are located within this area and everything is within walking distance. The hotel itself does not technically have it's own beach but Waikoloa Beach is a short walking distance from the hotel and it is a very nice beach with two fishponds to check out. From an island experience perspective - this is the much better location than Kona but from a pure convenience factor - Kona wins. The shopping and dinning options in Waikoloa are much more limited with most of the places being high-end. This limitation means that on most nights - we are spending at least an hour to an hour and a half in our car driving to/from Kona and hoping to find a parking spot (not usually an issue but still not that easy).

Both properties have done a great job with what they have and as long as you understand the surroundings (i.e. - don't expect to find an isolated spot on the beach in Kona) - you will not be disappointed.

From a photographers perspective (semi-pro photographer) - there are lots of great opportunities at both locations. The sunsets are great at both locations with it being a little easier to setup and operate at Waikoloa than Kona but you can get more creative in Kona. Kona has several historical buildings that are close to the hotel that offer some architectural shots along with a picture perfect area to take great portrait photos that look so good you would think it was a fake backdrop. Waikoloa beach is long and once you get away from the main beach area - you have lots of different things that your creative eye could take advantage of.

Room Tip: Both of my stays have been partial ocean view rooms in the main tower. By partial ocean view they me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xfactor00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing such valuable perspectives on both Marriott properties. We are thrilled you had such a positive experience at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel and delighted that you found our location to be a good central point for exploring the Big Island. We love to receive feedback from our guests and truly enjoyed reading your review about your recent stay. We hope that you will be back soon to explore even more of the island. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,860 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing