We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Mishap, But Overall Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One Mishap, But Overall Good Stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The best thing about the King Kamehameha hotel is the location. Almost all the activities you could ever want to do in Kona (snorkeling, swimming, scuba diving, parasailing, etc.) all depart from right in front of the hotel. The cost is decent for being a resort of its size and the staff was very friendly. The only problem with our stay was the room. The room we were initially in had a broken air conditioner but we only had to wait about an hour for maintenance to come in figure out what was wrong with it. Also, we had to switch rooms the next day because the water in our toilet would not stop flowing after it was flushed and ended up flooding our room. The staff was very apologetic and gave us vouchers for free breakfast from the hotel buffet so we were satisfied with their response to the situation, especially after they moved all of our bags for us to the new room while we were out enjoying the island. I would warmly recommend the King Kamehameha hotel to anyone staying in Kona.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel and your appreciation for our convenient location. We are so glad to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable. I do regret any inconveniences that you experienced with your initial room. I am glad that our staff was able to relocate you to a better room. Thank you so much for your recommendation; we hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    1,335
    369
    97
    63
See reviews for
809
1,347
159
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Room was not ready at check in. A bit disappointing. But all in all a decent stay. Rooms very clean, beds very comfortable. Very good location. Short down drive down the street to shops and many restaurant options. Friendly staff. Would stay again.
Very far from things on the Hilo side of the island. Plan on a three hour drive if you are going to see volcanos national park. The more scenic side seems to be on that side, but less in the way of decent hotels.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view really means partial. Ask for odd numbered room on east tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife & I spent 6 nights here in August. Really relaxing stay, food was excellent, with the restaurant backing onto the garden & beach, what a lovely view! Recommend going to the Luau if your staying here, price was very good compared to others we've been to, & there was plenty of food & drink! Staff were always friendly & helpful, & if you rent a car, the hotel carpark is huge, but they do charge per night!
Would recommend anyone to stay here while in Kona, plus there are numerous good restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach are quieter, but do not recommend a "partial ocean view", as we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaBeach_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Island Breeze luau dinner and show. We love sharing Hawaii’s culture and history with our guests and the luau is a wonderfully entertaining way to learn about the language and culture of the area. Thank you for your recommendations and hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

August 2013 family holiday from the UK with teenagers. Spent a few days on Waikiki beach Oahu (disappointing) and then crossed to Big Island and hired a car and stayed here in Kona.

I was not expecting much, it looked a bit 'motel' like from the exterior and I knew the beach was small, however we were pleasantly surprised, staff were all absolutely superb (many thanks to you all), Hotel was much better inside than it appeared from the exterior, the location is faultless and our non sea view room had an excellent view of the beach from the balcony, was quiet clean etc, my one and only criticism is that rooms have sliding shutters rather than curtains so don't completely black out the room.

The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, car parking is ~$12 a day (guys on the gate were fantastic), but you don't have the disgraceful resort fees of Waikiki. The hotel pool next to the beach was clean, you are supplied beach towels (nice touch) in the room, food by the pool was good and not overpriced. The hotel ground floor also has effectively a museum history of Hawaii complete with hand built outrigger on display, again a refreshing change from Oahu's rampant commercialism. There is an ABC store in the hotel (very cheap wine, snacks and gifts, snorkel kits etc) and a coffee shop which also does paninis etc, very good and very reasonable, both open till late. There are some good eateries just across the road and you can view the Luau which takes place next to the hotel twice a week from the beach, we had gone to a very expensive one (over 1000 "guests") on Oahu and wished we hadn't and had gone to this smaller one instead, it is set in the small historic grounds and when the Luau isn't on you can go in, all very pleasant.

Driving: having never driven abroad before i was dreading a left hand drive car on the right side of the road, and of course all US hire cars are automatics.... however Hawiian's don't speed, don't use the horn and the maximum speed is 55, so it was actually very easy, no big freeways, roads very quiet and mostly Aussies and Japanese who have the same right hand drive issue! we drove to the Volcano park, takes about 2.5 hours each way, but absolutely worth it, Thurston Lava tube is amazing and the glowing volcano at dusk and steam vents all brilliant - eat in the volcano hotel restaurant just inside the park, we nearly didn't as were told it was expensive, it isn't and the restaurant is on the edge of the crater with panaromic windows - unbelievable!

Breakfast at the hotel was excellent (ours was included, US hotels often don't but it is worth it as otherwise can be very expensive, don't forget in the US you are also expected to tip so add 10-20% to breakfast/meals, tours, taxis, petrol if they put the nozzle in the car, everything!), but don't leave your plate unattended as the sparrows/finches will be on it like a shot, small price to play for open air breakfast by the lawns. You can hire paddle boards etc from the Kona Boys hut next to the hotel on the beach and many of the boat tours go from the pier, again next to the hotel, so you cannot fault the location. We were surprised that the beach wasn't crowded, although we did drive 30 minutes up the coast to the large and stunning Hapuna beach ($5 parking), albeit the calm shallow hotel bay is far better for small children and snorkelling (loads of fish!) .

A pair of turtles nibble their way round the dock each morning - well worth going out, and we did see a pod of dolphins one day, also the giant Manta rays are very near by if you want to snorkel with them at night.

all in all, if you are in any doubt, don't waste any more time than you need to in Honolulu, unless you like shopping, and you can do that at home,so go here instead and go up mountains inside volcanoes, walk across lava deserts, through tropical rainforests, and all within a maximum of 3 hours drive!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback, and for the great photos showing off our beautiful property! We are delighted to learn that you and your family had a great time at our hotel during your recent visit to Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel, and we look forward to your next family vacation here. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

....however, who goes to Hawaii to stay in their room? This property is very conveniently located at the Kona pier on the north end of the strip. Honu's, the in house restaurant, is very good (see separate review). The pool is a straightforward near rectangle with lounge chairs all the way around; umbrellas were a little scarce. Poolside service was a little slow, but the menu selection of both food and drinks were very good and affordable compared to what you may see elsewhere. Our room rate was $146, which gave us your typical 2 beds, desk, tv standard setup. Room was clean, however perhaps a little dated with the decorating, and a little musty smelling. Great view of the harbour and King K's old house (hehe) from poolside. Nice beach alternative available if you're not interested in the pool. Hotel staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel is in a great location on Kona. Great staff and clean rooms. I will not suggest partial view rooms because we did not get a good view of the ocean. Friendly staff and the rooms are clean and nice.

Room Tip: Partial view rooms are not a good view of the ocean, you should get full view rooms. The staff was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Super_Mann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I did not stay here but attended a wedding. Have gone to their luau two times before (which were very good) which is the spot where the wedding took place. Although the venue was perfect the food catered by the hotel was awful. We decided it was all left over from the luau the night before. Some meat couldn't be cut much less chewed, the potatoes dry out. It was a very disappointing end to an otherwise nice event,

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha! We appreciate your review and comments. All feedback is taken seriously and we will certainly share yours with our management team. We are truly sorry that your recent experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations but thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,857 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing