We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location & Great Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location - right in the middle of town - and we were not at all disappointed. We enjoyed walking to shops, restaurants, and our snorkel boat - and also had our car available to drive wherever and whenever we wanted. It's fairly large and more impersonal than some, but the staff were friendly and helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant one evening and it was fine. We enjoyed the "museum - like" displays and paintings of the Hawaiian royalty and other cultural items.......very fitting for the location. (Also the triathlon paintings!)

Room Tip: On the advice of others, we chose an ocean front room on a higher floor. We overlooked the water, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you had such a great time and enjoyed our convenient location as well as our cultural museum featuring paintings of the Hawaiian Royalty and cultural displays. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the Big Island. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,593 - 1,599 of 3,072 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Last month my family and I stayed at Courtyard by Marriott during our vacay on the Big Island. We spent 7 nights there. Our rooms were pretty nice and had cute little balcony. Everyday our rooms were restocked with fresh towels, toilet paper, shampoos, conditioners, and bar soaps. I liked that there was a gym available 24/7 because fitness is important to. I also like that they had a beautifully decorated, spacious lobby, wifi stations with a printer available, and charging/work station for me to get work done because YES, I had work to do while on vacay. My favorite part of the hotel was that they had gorgeous art work of the Island's history. I learned alot about the people of the Big Island and how it became a part of Hawaii. Oh, and the hotel also kept their fresh fruit infused water available in the lobby at all hours. Staff was good about refilling it as soon as water was running low. The only reasons that I didn't give this hotel 5 stars is because there was a part of the sink that I noticed could've been cleaned better. Nevertheless, I would totally stay at this hotel again! Nice place, great staff, and the hotel is walking distance to alot of stores and eatery!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jenasi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Aloha and thank you so much for your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us for your family vacation. It was great to hear that you and your family had such a great time during your stay and enjoyed the business center, library, and the cultural artwork. We love sharing Hawaii’s culture and history with our guests and our displays is a wonderful way to lean about the history of the area. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our 24 hour fitness center and complimentary Wi-Fi. We truly appreciate your kind comments and hope that we can welcome you and your family back soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived on 25 August - departed 1 September. During our time at this hotel we were treated very nicely. The hotel room was very nice - overlooked the ocean with a balcony. Food in the Billfish Poolside Grille was limited...but good. Convenient to downtown Kona and while there, there was a national rowing contest. Very enjoyable.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit the Big Island.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean front with balcony and check the rates frequently. Originally booked at $249 per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 899Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here after leaving the Marriott Waikoloa because it just wasn't up to standard. The staff at this Courtyard are really welcoming and very eager to please. They got us transferred over, upgraded and made sure we were comfortable and happy. The hotel is beautiful, and the most upscale Courtyard I have seen. The room was much larger than our room at the Marriott Waikoloa, had WiFi in the room (Waikoloa does not), fantastic views, huge bathroom, right in town - just a great place. The bed was far more comfortable that the Waikoloa, everything was much newer. The only draw back is that the pool is small, but with so much else to do, we never missed it. Thank you, Marriott Courtyard King Kamehameha staff!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Perfect location for our visit in the heart of Kona and right on a small beach. Excellent restaurants located near-by. Beach was beautiful. Service was excellent and accommodating although it took a while to get a 6pm check-out added to our stay. The pool is excellent for families. Internet and use of business centre at no additional cost (unlike some higher priced hotels). Mattresses could have been firmer (likely needs to be replaced) but managed to sleep due to all the activities tiring us out.

Room Tip: Ocean views are most sought after but even street view nice since it offers a view of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

From the friendly greeting at the front desk to the Aloha spirit of the rest of the hotel staff, we felt welcome and at home. Being Marriott Platinum, we probably got a little special treatment, but we were upgraded to an Ocean View suite with two balconies and two bathrooms. One of the most comfortable hotels I have ever stayed in and a staff that will bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. My only suggestions would be to get an exercise bike in the gym and have someone keep the kids from constantly diving into the "no diving" pool.

Room Tip: Go for at least a partial Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xnycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you so much for your review. We could not be more pleased to hear that you recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel was such a great experience. It is always our desire to provide outstanding service to our guests so that they feel welcomed, relaxed and comfortable. All feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope that you will return for another visit soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Even with its fancy sounding name (King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel) this is, deep down, a Courtyard by Marriott. Perhaps I was expecting more. A "resort view" room looks over the parking lot. And beware - parking for guests is $12/night. And I wish big name hotels would start including microwaves and small refrigerators in every room. The budget hotels seem to do better in this regard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,233 reviews
6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,958 reviews
21 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
12.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $198 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing