We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, on the water!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel, on the water!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We only stayed here one night while awaiting check in on a house rental. I expected a rather basic Courtyard hotel, but this is so much different. It is right on the water, you can walk to all the hot spots on Alii Drive and participate in all water activities, no car needed. Room was clean, bed very comfy, staff extremely friendly and helpful. ABC store on the complex to pick up all your necessary items and gifts, very reasonable prices. This is a great hotel for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: If staying awhile ask for a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaspberryMojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your great review and comments on your recent stay with us. Your special comments on the guest service team, the location, the cleanliness and the VALUE mean the world to us and we are happy to continue striving to provide excellence! We are delighted to learn you had a great time at our hotel during your visit to Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel, and we look forward to your next visit. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    1,335
    370
    97
    63
See reviews for
809
1,348
159
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the KK last week, and can't say enough about the job that front desk staff Haidee and Mana did taking care of our every need. They made our stay special. The hotel is was great base for operations for our Big Island vacation. The rooms are not luxurious, but they are clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. This hotel does not "nickel and dime" you to death like some of the other Big Island resorts. There is no "resort fee" or other hidden charges. The only cost in addition to your room charge and tax is a $12 daily parking fee. The rooms are equipped with free Internet, refrigerators and coffee machines. We would not hesitate to stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfpauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. It is our goal to provide all our guests with a seamless stay from check in to check out and create an experience for them that forms fond memories. We are thrilled you had such a positive experience at the Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted that our location, associates, amenities, and accommodations all fully met your needs. Thank you for letting us know how pleased you were with your stay; and it would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, CA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here 7/2-7/6/2013. The hotel property was very nice and we enjoyed the beach (one the few in Kona), even though my daughter an I got tossed onto some lava by a wave outside the cove (purely our fault).

Our room was nice, clean, and we really appreciated the two queen size beds.

The front desk staff were terrific! Haidee was super nice, professional and courteous. Gabriella was, likewise. They always say "Aloha" as you walk by and were quick to take care of anything we asked for. It kind of tells you something about the hotel when I take the time to learn their names to write this review.

The artwork in the lobby was very nice and Kona was fun.

We parked our rental car at the Bougainville center free parking lot to avoid the $12/day parking charge. It was only a few minutes walk to the hotel.

Be sure to stop at the Costco near the airport to pick up some food and drinks to save some $$$.

We attended the Island Breeze Luau which is right on the hotel property. It was fun, but cheesy. Food was very good. The entertainment was OK. Had a better luau in Kauai.

Recommended.

Room Tip: We had a "garden view" room that was really the view of the top of the parking lot and a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jguillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Aloha,
It is great to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time, and found our rooms to be very nice and clean. I’m glad that our location was convenient for you and also very pleased that our staff provided you with excellent service! We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming your family back for more great Hawaiian memories. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I want to thank everyone that made my stay so aweswome. Hadiee at the front desk went above and beyond with her help to make sure everything went smooth for the check in and made sure everything that was send to celebrate Mr.G birthday was placed in the room like it was suppose to be done. Also a big thank you to Patrick from food and beverage for make sure that the amenity and brownies got to the room in time. The room and staff vere vey friendly and helpful. I will make sure and tell my friends about the excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESTER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for your review and your compliments for our outstanding services. We are delighted we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations. We truly appreciate all your kind comments and recommendations. We hope we can welcome you back in near future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked 3 rooms, with my wife and I upgrading to the ocean view. We loved the view, the room was very nice and the mattress one of the best we've had at a hotel. Having an ocean view was great, pour a cup of coffee and watch the sun come up. The location was great for walking around, for us and our kids. The location is also great for day trips around the island. We booked this as a package through Costco. Amazingly, there is a Costco on the island...I wish we'd gone there first thing to stock up on food and adult beverages (the Costco sushi looked AMAZING).

The hotel has a decent Luau (if you've never been to one) and its nice not having to go anywhere afterwards.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fullshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We were so pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. It is nice to hear that you were able to enjoy the ocean views and sunrises from your private balcony. Thank you for your feedback regarding our luau and I agree that we have a fantastic luau, noted to be the best in Kona. We love sharing Hawaii’s culture and history with our guests and the luau is a wonderfully entertaining way to learn about the language and culture of the Island. Thank you for your great comments we look to having you and your family stay with us again. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

In many visits to the islands, the King Kam had a good reputation for 'locals' but was sort of run-down. Walking through the shopping area, it smelled musty and wasn't very clean. The Courtyard renovation has made a HUGE difference. The hotel is clean, has no unpleasant smells, has a very friendly and helpful staff, and very comfortable rooms. We had an oceanfront view and it was great to look out in the evenings and early mornings. The location is great as you can walk everywhere in Kona from here. The parking is well-designed with easy access. We didn't use the hotel-front beach as the snorkeling down the road at Kahalu'u is so good, and we also went to other local beaches. The one issue was that the hotel amenities weren't replaced, and I didn't notice that till needing shampoo. Fortunately, I had a little bit leftover in my travel kit. The amenities are very nice though. The rooms have a mini-fridge, like most hotels in Hawaii. They also have coffeemakers, stocked with Kona blends. Much better to walk downstairs and get real Kona or go to one of many local breakfast spots.

Room Tip: West tower likely to be quieter than East tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Aloha,
It’s great to hear from our guests and learn that our location, associates, amenities and accommodations all fully met their needs. We’re delighted you had such a nice stay. It is truly disappointing to learn that your amenities weren’t replaced and we ask that you accept our most sincere apologies. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and myself stayed here for 13 nights. The room was great clean and quiet. The staff were all friendly and the price was good. The hotel is in a great location, easy walking along the beach to shops and restaurants. There is a hop on hop off bus that stops out front which can take you to departments stores and further along the beach. They have a timetable at the concierge desk. The snorkling at the beach is amazing, hears of fish. There is a ABC store (like 7 /11) in the foyer that sells everything including alcohol. We had breakfast at snorklers across the road excellent. We also caught the bus one day to a beach closer to the Marriott which was great for snorkling. (you can hire on sight) we even saw a turtle in 3 foot of water.. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room which we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne and Alf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback. We are delighted to hear you had a great time at our hotel during your visit to Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel, and we look forward to your next visit. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,860 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing