We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great, but the rooms are small. We paid for the king partial view, with two pieces of luggage in the room there was very little walking room. We only stayed one night prior to checking into a condo. If we had planned to stay a week, I would not have been happy! The bar restaurant is very pricey!! 2 sandwiches and 2 drinks $50. Walk across the street to the pub, better food, better prices!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandiG680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was glad to hear that our location was convenient for you. I was very sorry to hear that our partial ocean view room was small and did not meet your expectations. In regards to the prices at our bar restaurant, food and beverage prices in resort areas do tend to be a little bit higher. Had you stayed another day or two, I think your opinion of the ambience of the restaurant may have changed. We have a great Prime Rib and Seafood buffet every Friday and Saturday evenings and we are also offering a Spring Menu Promotion for the month of April from Sunday- Thursday we serve a 3 course dinner for $29 which includes wonderful ”Farm to Table” cuisine prepared by our well-renown Executive Chef, George Gomes Jr.
Thank you once again for your review, and should you find yourself coming to Kona again, we would appreciate the opportunity to change your mind about our hotel. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,997)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,691 - 1,697 of 2,997 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Booked directly on the Marriot website as being a member of their programme.We got room 261 facing a part of a parking lot and a roof under where they put the rubbish in. We had a terrace but did not use it.We haven't complaint by the management because we got the room we had paid for.So if you want a view you have to pay extra.The hotel is in walking distance from shops and bars. One negative point :there are not enough umbralla's at the pool for shade and I think that there are non hotel guests using the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubadave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Aloha,
We appreciate your feedback and really do our best to take care of our loyal Marriott Rewards members. We do however sincerely regret that your accommodations were not as you had hoped in terms of the view. Regarding your experience with insufficient pool umbrellas, we apologize and we are currently in the process of adding more umbrellas to accommodate our guest needs. Thank you for alerting us to your observations with non-guest using our pool facilities; I will be sharing this concern with our security management team to be addressed immediately.
I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in the future. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for amenities, it is close walking distance to downtown Kona. Quinn’s Almost by the Sea, our favorite restaurant, was directly across the street. Another block further towards town the Fish Hopper had the best clam chowder we have ever tasted. There is a tiny sheltered beach between the hotel and the pier. Our room had a small bathroom, it was very quiet. There is a coffee shop inside the hotel that also served breakfast and lunch sandwiches.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zackandradar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for you. We look forward to having you with us again. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed April 9th thru 12th, Room 384 West Wing

For guests who stay at Marriott properties regularly, the Courtyard brand is usually aimed at the business traveler with modern business amenities...In taking over the management for the King Kamehameha Hotel, Marriott, in my opinion, was stuck with the dilemma of having a property stuck in the middle between the "Marriott Resort" brand and "Courtyard" brand.

This Kailua-Kona property has all the amenities you come to expect of the Courtyard Brand. Only difference, its in a resort type setting. The hotel location is central to everything you plan to do on the westside of the Big Island.

For the standard room that we were in, the furnishings and bedding were contemporary appointed. Bathroom was a little small, but the 42" Flat Screen TV and in-room mini-fridge were nice touches.

Because this location is deep rooted in Hawaiian history, the hotel corridors and lobby is strewn with Hawaiian artifacts and art. This is an oceanfront property, but the beach in front of property is not postcard picturesque like the Kohala Resorts...All in all, I would stay again and/or recommend this property to others...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGerard_S84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Aloha,
We were delighted to read about your recent stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We were glad to hear that our location was convenient for you. Also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy all the amenities of the property. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Big Island. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights while on the Big Island, and this was a great hotel for us. It's not super fancy, but it was very clean and the room felt spacious with a sitting area and lanai. The bathroom was a little small, but not tiny. The bed was really comfortable, and we slept really well here. The hotel service was great (our room was ready before check-in time), and the location was central which we liked. Since it's right in Kona, there are lots of restaurants and shops that are easy to get to. We never went to the little beach right at the hotel or the pool, so I can't comment on those. But it's easy to walk the main touristy drag of Kona from this hotel, which some people might like. It's quite a drive to Hilo, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Mauna Kea, etc. but this was still a good central location if you're not planning on staying in 2 different hotels for your trip (one on the east side, one on the west side). We had long drives, but it was doable. You do have to pay for parking ($12/day for self parking), and at night you had to park pretty far back in the lot. But there were always spaces left. I also felt like we got a good deal on this hotel. If you're looking for something functional, clean, and with a good central location to go exploring, I would recommend this place. If you're looking for a hotel right on a fantastic beach and not planning on leaving your hotel a lot, you probably want something else.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are partial ocean view, but don't expect a whole lot. We could see the ocean f...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingKatie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Aloha,
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Mahalo for taking the time to share your review. I agree that we do offer the best value for the best location in Kona. We look forward to welcoming you back for more great Hawaiian memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location is great. There is great snorkeling off its small beach. Often the Dolphins are out in the bay and one can rent a kayak to go out and see them. The staff and facilities is great also a well as the location

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was glad to hear that our location was convenient for you and that our staff provided you with great service. We look forward to having you with us again in the future. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

King K is located at the beginning of Kona-Kailua's waterfront strip, Alii Drive. Right on the water there is a great little lagoon that you can swim or snorkel in or just spend your day laying on the very clean beach. You are right in the heart of the shopping and dining district with a variety of restaurants to choose from. We had an oceanfront King room which was spacious and clean. Sitting on our 6 th floor balcony provided us with many wonderful mornings and evenings. The staff at King K are very friendly and welcoming as well as efficient and provided us with great service. i would recommend this hotel for both families and couples!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kydler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the views from your oceanfront room. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests feel we are a great value in Kona and that our staff is providing good service. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,891 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $188 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing