We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Gem”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our first stay at this boutique hotel. The location was the best to get around Kona and for walking was a real plus. From the moment we were greeted at the front desk till we checked out we could not have asked for better or more professional service. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and courteous. The maid who took care of making sure our room was spotless to the wait staff in the onsite restaurant were just always projecting that warm Hawaiian aloha spirit. The property is located adjacent to sacred grounds and has a terrific priceless art collection. The history tour which is given on alternate days during the week is a real must for anyone who is interested in knowing more about the Hawaiian heritage. I loved the location. Our room looked out over the beach and the Luau grounds, a fantastic view of the lagoon, ocean and mountains. Many pleasant evenings watching the sunset were enjoyed on our balcony. The value is incredible as we have stayed at much pricer venues and consider this one of the best. You get much more than what you pay for. Not what one would expect in this day and age. The breakfast buffet is so plentiful and the setting with the view is incredible. Needless to say, I look forward to the time I can return to this fabulous gem.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors that are ocean view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesF946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to share your wonderful experience during your first stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We're delighted that you enjoyed the cultural tours and our art exhibits. Thank you for your generous praise for our staff and will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of the team. It is always our pleasure to take care of our guests and help to create a memorable experience for them. I agree that we are the best value for the best location in Kona. Thank you for staying with us and our team looks forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    1,319
    365
    96
    63
See reviews for
796
1,338
157
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My family of four stayed here for 8 nights April 1-8th and were very happy with the pool, beach, rooms, and maid service but dissapointed in how they handled my husband and two daughters getting food poisoning from their pool side restuarant. We ordered the kids hamburger for my 5 and 1 year old to share and luckily they each had only one bite and didn't like it so my husband ate the rest. A few hours later my whole family besides myself are vomiting violently all night. So sorry to the housekeeping that had to clean the sheet and towels. The girls were O.K. the next day but my husband spent the next three days (the rest of our trip) in bed, one of them in the E.R. getting an I.V. and meds. We talked to several people, including the manager of the rest. who just said "oh so sorry." One of the front desk managers said "well maybe it's the flu..." Really. When we checked out we could not believe they were still going to charge us for the meal that ruined the rest of our trip. They called up the head of food services who was apologetic but said this was the first he had heard of it and had we talked to a manager. Yes!! Several times! He took off the food items from the bill but had a bit of a tone like we were overreacting. He should just ask housekeeping about the clean up...it was awful. Or maybe we should send you a copy of our bill from the E.R. Again, huge thanks to the lovely houskeeping staff...so nice and my daughters loved the beach in front and the pool but we were not very happy in how they handled this situation.

Room Tip: Get a room on the one of the top floors and splurge for oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Aloha,
We appreciate you sharing your review of your eight night stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel.

To start with, there is no excuse for a guest to go through what you and your family has gone through. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced and the manner in which certain issues were handled. Thank you for bringing this to our attention; I will be sharing your comments with our management staff to review and reevaluate so that we can improve.

Again we are very sorry that your stay with us was not what is should have been. We hope that you will allow us another try in the future.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Loved the location of this hotel - right on the coast with its own little beach ideal for little kids. Saw a lot of colorful fish right there. Has its own nice swimming pool right on the beach. Free wifi. Decent breakfast buffet - though a little pricey for adults - about $20 for adults and $10 for kids. Kids below 5 eat free in the buffet. I would have given it a five star if only it had room service. Missed eating breakfast in bed on vacation!
Walking distance to good restaurants and many fast food joints.
Has its own concierge who were quite helpful. Has its own Budget car rental on site - though the week we were there it was all sold out! Spa was good. Shopping complex access through the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view room was decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRKS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was glad to hear that our location was convenient for your shopping and beach explorations. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here! The location was ideal, as you can walk to various nearby restaurants, shops, etc. Every staff member we interacted with (even those just simply passing by in the hallways) were very friendly! We stayed in a partial ocean view room, which actually had an excellent view of the ocean! We were impressed and it made us wonder what the full ocean view room would've provided since we already felt like we had practically a full ocean view from our room. Overall the room was very clean, modern, & the amenities were nice. What we liked very much in our room was the wall mounted sliding door which acted like a curtain, that was in front of the sliding doors to go out on the balcony. We came in from the east coast so adjusting to the time difference took a little bit and that door/curtain (for lack of the appropriate term) kept all the sun out, when we needed and wanted it to. So at first it was kind of deceiving when we would wake up, not knowing what time it was if we didn't look at a clock first because no extra light was shining through. Then once you'd open that door/curtain, you'd see the beautiful sun & ocean view! This hotel was in a nice central location to a wide variety of stores, shops, restaurants, etc. within walking distance. Just be aware one thing I did notice as we received our check-out summary was that they charged us $1.00 for each local call made, in which most hotels offer local calls for free so this was a little surprise on the bill. We would absolutely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the Kailua-Kona area!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlbdld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Aloha,
We were very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Our convenient location is a big plus for our valued guests because dining, shopping, and beach activities is just a short walk away. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests feel we are a great value in Kona and that our staff is providing good service. We look forward to having you with us again in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel can not be better...it's within walking distance of all the good restaurants and shops! The hotel itself is just okay...... The rooms are clean. The staff is somewhat friendly...but For a hotel in "paradise" the pool is for lack of better wording BLAH!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel8087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Aloha,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I was glad to hear that our location was convenient for your shopping and restaurant explorations. I am sorry to hear that our pool did not meet your expectations.
Thank you for your review, and I hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were on the Kona side for a wedding and decided to stay at the King Kamehameha Beach hotel. We like the location right in Kona and they did a great job remodeling the place after the tsunami. The only thing we didn't care for on this stay was that we were right next to the elevators and probably not a problem for most stays but we were there during a beer festival so the people getting off were really loud. Thankfully it didn't last into the night and we had a great night sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLVolcano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha,
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to share your review. I hope you would choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Kona. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After spending several days in busy Waikiki, this place was peacful and relaxing. The room was nice sized and well-kept. The staff was helpful and couteous. It is near the start of the Ironman with ocean access and also has a pool and hot tub. Fitness center was also on the groundsa along with a small island museum. Although there is a fee, there is ample parking. Many tourist shops and restaurants nearby. We at at Quinns and were a bit disappointed at the taste of the food.

Room Tip: It appears that this place has been around for a long time and may need some updating but certaily n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schpsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. I was glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. We are fortunate to be in a convenient location for shopping, dining and beach explorations. We're delighted that you enjoyed the cultural museum and fitness center. We look forward to having you with us again in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
27.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Property: Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel welcomes you to the Big Island of Hawaii for a memorable vacation. Located on the historical site where the famed Hawaiian King Kamehameha once lived, our beachfront hotel provides ocean views and direct access to Kailua Pier. We're also a short distance from downtown Kona, Kahaluu Beach Park, Kealakekua Bay, and Kailua Village. Following a day of Big Island sightseeing, settle into our Kona hotel rooms and suites with private lanais, 37" flat-screen TVs, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During your stay, you'll also enjoy our infinity pool, onsite gym and yoga studio, day spa, and white sand beach. Choose from 2 savory restaurants for a delicious meal, complemented with beautiful ocean views! Our hotel also features an Island Breeze Luau to show you even more of Hawaii's vibrant culture! The Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel is here to deliver your ultimate island adventure, where we offer resort amenities without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing